We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay @ Copenhagen Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is nice and pretty close to the center (15min walk) and is also close to the train station (2-3min walk) . The rooms were comfortable and with a nice view of the lake outside.
The breakfast served in the morning was nice and the service was quick and efficient. There are bikes available for rentals which are fun as well. All in all , the stay was nice and comfortable.
For a 4star hotel the rates are pretty awesome as well, try out their offers , they are great and worth the money paid. No regrets :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to read your positive comments. We have different campaigns and tempting offers posted on our web site all year around . Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

Grab a real Danish experience and stay at this hotel so you use the bikes at the hotel to see the city and even commute to/from work. The neighborhood is not so lively, but it is nice for walks after dinner. Think of like a mini London Canary Wharf just outside of Copenhagen central. Lots of corporations occupy all the very new buildings surrounding the hotel.
I rented a bike for my entire stay, best way to see Copehagen anyway, everybody does it!

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the city. It is close to central on a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlr_USUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on your Copenhagen stay. Our bikes are quite popular and a nice way to see Copenhagen. If you are ever in Copenhagen again, we hope to be able to welcome you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of a vacation pkg. Overall very nice. Room was tiny by us standards. Hotel had free Wi-Fi which worked flawlessly. A buffet breakfast was included and was enormous . My wife is G/F and they were able to provide her meals (even bread)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdieandJerryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on you stay with us. We are happy to order special bread for our guest if they have a food allergy. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time in our hotel.
We re lokking forward to welcoming to again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I've never slept better. This could be enough writing from my side, but it's not.

My girlfriend and I stayed at this amazing hotel for one single night because of a concert in Copenhagen. We both loved it. In fact, it's kinda cheap if you think of, what you get; the most luxurious hotel + rooms, clean, and amazing service from the employees.

Amazing experience! Give it a try - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasMejdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review of your hotel stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time here. You are certainly welcome to stay here again and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Island hotel for a weekend. The hotel was ok. I generally like design hotels, because they are quirky and unique, and the architecture here did not disappoint. The lobby is spacious and the whole thing is built with loads and loads of glass.

We arrived and were immediately offered an upgrade for 25 euros per room per night. The upgrade was to a harbour view toom on the 5th (top) floor. When we got to the room, we noticed a strong sewage smell. It was so bad we requested a room change. Within five minutes someone had come up to the fifth floor to hand us the key to out new room. The smell there was not as pervasive, but it was still there, especially in the bathroom.

As I mentioned before, the hotel is built with lots of glass, which means there is a greenhouse effect, especially noticeable on the top floor. We do not like sleeping with airco on, so we left the door to the French balcony slightly open, not an optimal solution.

The curtains are not enough to keep the very early rays out, so by 6:30 the room was flooded with light. Lovely sunrise, but a bit too early.

The fitness area is ok, and has all the basics. It was being upgraded amd the sauna was out of order, but I was still able to do some light exercise.

It is a bit of a walk to the centre, but nothing too dramatic.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel and did not go to the nearby shopping centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for picking our hotel for your stay in Copenhagen. The rooms on the top floor have the best view overlooking the harbour and if it gets a bit warm, you are welcome to use the air condition in the room. It is important that you contact the reception for a room change if you are not happy with your room. We are always ready to help you. During the next couple of months we are updating and changing some of the machines in the fitness centre. If you are ever back in Copenhagen, you are always welcome here.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights recently. It is a very nice, stylish, modern hotel, quite recently built (2006?). Staff at check in were polite and friendly. Our room was a standard double, it was well furnished, nice lighting, fittings, etc. but a little small (eg. small closet, no draws in the desk, a squeeze for two larger suitcases. The bathroom was also well-appointed, but our showerhead was leaking a little. Copenhagen hotels are expensive, so Copenhagen Island is reasonable value for money in comparison to some.
Location was reasonably good - near the habour and the sea - and is next to a large mall. We didnt eat at the restuarant as it was a bit pricey (375DKK for a 3 course dinner and 150DKK for breakfast). One point is that there isnt a proper separate bar or lounge area, although there is plush seating near reception.
One niggle was that if you're a late riser, housekeeping staff dont come back to make up your room - we only had our room tidied 3 times during the whole stay - not ideal. Also, it would be nice if tea and coffee facilities were as standard in the rooms, we had to ask for a kettle, and didnt get any cups (actually, dont all 4 star hotels need to provide this?).
But all-in-all we had a pleasant stay and enjoyed ourselves, the location was quiet and the station for the s-tog trains to the centre (only a couple of stops away) are a only few hundred meters away, but over a rather unsightly bridge and railway line.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easy-roller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

We are very happy to read your comments on your stay at our hotel. You can always buy an upgrade to a superior room for only DKK 200.00 extra per night if you would like a bigger room with a harbour view. Our standard rooms are a little smaller and have city view. .
We are happy to bring a kettle to your room, but it is only a standard item in our executive rooms and junior suites.
As for cleaning of the rooms while you stay here, our housekeeping staff are trained to respect the do not disturb sign and if the sign is still on the door in the afternoon, they will put fresh towels etc. outside your door.
On our web page we offer deals with or without breakfast. You are also welcome to call us directly if we have the chance of welcoming you back.
Once again thank you for the valuable feedback
Anne Louise Poulsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I wasn't happy with price/quality of rooms @ glostrup park hotel so looked to other location when I stay in CPH. Copenhagen Island hotel is of a group of hotels and you feel that. Extra charge during dinner. A little arrogant. Swedish lobster on menu is nothing more than a scrimp looking like a lobster... Other fish was raw. During breakfast the real coffee was charged extra. I would give quality of bed 3/10, rooms are nice, clean.

I will search further for our people to stay when they are at our HQ in glostrup.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank AWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at our hotel. We are a part of the Arp-Hansen Hotel Group and Copenhagen Island Hotel was built in 2006. We are glad to hear that you chose our hotel and liked our rooms. but on the other hand we are very sorry to hear that the quality of the food was not satisfactory. We hope that you spoke to the waiter on duty about your food. It is correct that we charge extra for café latte etc. If you are ever in Copenhagen again, you are most welcome to try our hotel again, as we would like to welcome you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,282 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,108 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £101 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copenhagen Island, a modern and stylish hotel with 326 rooms, is located in the pulsating neighbourhood Vesterbro. It lies right on the waterfront, offering excellent views of either Copenhagen’s harbour or across the city’s roofs and towers. The entire area around the hotel is buzzing with life and especially Islands Brygge and Kødbyen are well worth a visit when you’re staying in Copenhagen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing