We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copenhagen's Urban Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
New Providence Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Copenhagen's Urban Island”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Copenhagen Island Hotel is located immediately next to the Copenhagen Mall and just minutes away from a number of other hotels in the area. The hotel is two or three minutes away from the Dybbølsbro train station (just past the Copenhagen Central Station). The hotel is beautiful, modern, clean, and very well appointed. The view from our room on the fourth floor was spectacular. The room was quite large compared to other hotels we tried in Copenhagen, and the bathroom certainly added a wow factor. The lovely restaurant serves a hearty breakfast (which was included in our room rate). A magnificent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We would like to thank you for the excellent rating you have given us on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read your review and your impression of our rooms and restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back if you are ever in Copenhagen again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,027
    347
    93
    44
See reviews for
266
922
112
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is nice enough at best but it's really nothing special. Everything is very white and cold and there's absolutely no atmosphere. Upon arrival the receptionist tried to sell us everything under the sun from upgrades to overpriced breakfasts. The location is not very good. You're a healthy 25 min walk from the city center and a 15 minute walk from the nearest restaurants on Vesterbro. Maybe if they provided bikes for the guests, this wouldn't be a problem but since they don't, we found ourselves trekking quite a bit. The room was shabby with black marks on the white walls and when I wanted to take a bath, I had to call front desk to get a plug for the tub. Will definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Skylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your hotel stay. We are not located directly in the inner city of Copenhagen but walking distance to the centre is app.15- 20 min. We have both buses and trains just outside the hotel. Bikes can also be rented, so there are many opportunities to get around quickly. Our hotel is modern and tastefully decorated and normally we get positive feedback on the interior. We also offer our guests to buy an upgrade to our rooms facing the harbour side. This is meant as a service to our guests. Should you encounter any problems when you are here, do feel free to contact the reception, as we would like to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are, however, sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is nice and pretty close to the center (15min walk) and is also close to the train station (2-3min walk) . The rooms were comfortable and with a nice view of the lake outside.
The breakfast served in the morning was nice and the service was quick and efficient. There are bikes available for rentals which are fun as well. All in all , the stay was nice and comfortable.
For a 4star hotel the rates are pretty awesome as well, try out their offers , they are great and worth the money paid. No regrets :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to read your positive comments. We have different campaigns and tempting offers posted on our web site all year around . Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Grab a real Danish experience and stay at this hotel so you use the bikes at the hotel to see the city and even commute to/from work. The neighborhood is not so lively, but it is nice for walks after dinner. Think of like a mini London Canary Wharf just outside of Copenhagen central. Lots of corporations occupy all the very new buildings surrounding the hotel.
I rented a bike for my entire stay, best way to see Copehagen anyway, everybody does it!

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the city. It is close to central on a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlr_USUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on your Copenhagen stay. Our bikes are quite popular and a nice way to see Copenhagen. If you are ever in Copenhagen again, we hope to be able to welcome you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of a vacation pkg. Overall very nice. Room was tiny by us standards. Hotel had free Wi-Fi which worked flawlessly. A buffet breakfast was included and was enormous . My wife is G/F and they were able to provide her meals (even bread)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdieandJerryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on you stay with us. We are happy to order special bread for our guest if they have a food allergy. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time in our hotel.
We re lokking forward to welcoming to again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aulum, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I've never slept better. This could be enough writing from my side, but it's not.

My girlfriend and I stayed at this amazing hotel for one single night because of a concert in Copenhagen. We both loved it. In fact, it's kinda cheap if you think of, what you get; the most luxurious hotel + rooms, clean, and amazing service from the employees.

Amazing experience! Give it a try - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonasMejdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review of your hotel stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time here. You are certainly welcome to stay here again and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Island hotel for a weekend. The hotel was ok. I generally like design hotels, because they are quirky and unique, and the architecture here did not disappoint. The lobby is spacious and the whole thing is built with loads and loads of glass.

We arrived and were immediately offered an upgrade for 25 euros per room per night. The upgrade was to a harbour view toom on the 5th (top) floor. When we got to the room, we noticed a strong sewage smell. It was so bad we requested a room change. Within five minutes someone had come up to the fifth floor to hand us the key to out new room. The smell there was not as pervasive, but it was still there, especially in the bathroom.

As I mentioned before, the hotel is built with lots of glass, which means there is a greenhouse effect, especially noticeable on the top floor. We do not like sleeping with airco on, so we left the door to the French balcony slightly open, not an optimal solution.

The curtains are not enough to keep the very early rays out, so by 6:30 the room was flooded with light. Lovely sunrise, but a bit too early.

The fitness area is ok, and has all the basics. It was being upgraded amd the sauna was out of order, but I was still able to do some light exercise.

It is a bit of a walk to the centre, but nothing too dramatic.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel and did not go to the nearby shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for picking our hotel for your stay in Copenhagen. The rooms on the top floor have the best view overlooking the harbour and if it gets a bit warm, you are welcome to use the air condition in the room. It is important that you contact the reception for a room change if you are not happy with your room. We are always ready to help you. During the next couple of months we are updating and changing some of the machines in the fitness centre. If you are ever back in Copenhagen, you are always welcome here.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,260 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing