We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel on the outskirts of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel on the outskirts of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night while visiting friends in the city. The Hotel is clean and well appointed located right on the main canal. We took the cheap option and booked a room with a city view rather than a waterside room. Room wasn't exactly spacious but was perfectly fine for a short stay. Room had free wifi. Breakfast buffet was great, with a decent range of hot and cold food, served in a nice waterside restaurant. The hotel is located right next door to a brand new shopping mall and a couple of mins walk to an S-train stop which is one stop from central station/Tivoli gardens (trains every 5 mins until late). Woud stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for all your positive comments and thank you for recommending our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. You are always welcome to stay here again – next time, maybe in a room with harbour view!
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    1,002
    337
    92
    41
See reviews for
262
892
110
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is easy to reach being near the train line and only one stop from the city. The hotel is fresh and modern and located next to a shopping centre with plenty of restaurants which was convenient because we thought the hotel restaurant expensive. The breakfast was included in the rate and was a very good buffet. Our room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view of the water. The blinds did not offer enough block out which was a problem since we were there in the long summer days. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view are best although you do get some outside noises which are not obtrusive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemaree26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very, very much for giving us 5 points! Thank you for all the lovely and wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back!
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, the rooms are chic, very comfortable and well designed. It's definitely worth paying the nominal extra amount for a superior room with harbour view and breakfast. The view was wonderful, the harbour is very modern but we had views out to the city buildings over the harbour too. The cheaper rooms on the front look out onto a busy road and rail station and that's not pretty. The buffet breakfast is superb and does provide hot as well as cold breakfast food. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant giving us advice on how to get to places and what to see, they even have English adapters at the desk if you have forgotten yours and they have hotel umbrellas which you can borrow should it rain. It is a little further out than we would have liked and it was a pain having to schlepp over the bridge and up and down two lots of steep stairs every time we went anywhere but that's our only criticism. Drinks are expensive in the hotel ( water, coke, as well as wine etc) but there is a mall right next door with a fab supermarket which opens late. Overall a brilliant hotel, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahloul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our rooms with harbour view. Thank you for noticing and mentioning our staff in your review.
We hope to see you here again at your next visit to Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Newer hotel, good staff, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast restaurant. My suitcase was lost at the airport and a front desk person let me use his charger for my IPhone. Fresh coffee available at front desk at 5 am - before restaurant was open was fantastic.

Room Tip: All of us had good rooms - it was just one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Scuba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are glad we made your stay a happy one. Thank you for pointing out the service of the staff.
We hope to see you at the next visit in Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor (UK)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Normally I would write a review after my stay but this hotel is so wonderful I can't wait. The staff are very helpful and the place is so clean. We have a waterfront room that looks over the river. If you ever visit Copenhagen then this is the hotel that you must stay in. It's a 5min walk from Central Station where you can get a direct train to and from the airport.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. Thank you for mentioning our staff and for giving us the highest score on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Attractive newish hotel with modernist styling set in good location by harbour. A little outside the centre, but 15-20 minute walk to Tivoli gardens and central train station. Next to Fisketorvet shopping mall which has some buffet style eateries and a cinema, plus a train station stop. Buffet breakfast a good standard - only criticism is crowding at breakfast time if you go at peak time. Reception staff sunny and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side overlook the harbour so have a better view. On the North overlook a main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileCrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate your positive comments on your hotel stay. We have extended our opening hours at breakfast to try to avoid to many guests at the same time..
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for a short stay in Copenhagen and was ideal for what we wanted. A good hotel with a decent breakfast at a reasonable rate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although this hotel is a little out of the city centre its a nice walk, about 15min along the water into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTraveller768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Copenhagen and thank you very much for your positive review.
You hope to see you here again at your next stay in Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing