We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a short break in Copenhagen”
Review of Hotel SP34

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel SP34
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location for a short break in Copenhagen”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This recently refurbished hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of many of Copenhagen's "sights". Work was on-going during our stay, but it was not intrusive and we were not disturbed by it. We paid approximately £200 for two nights for a "Standard Double" (including lovely organic breakfast) through Hotels.com, so a really great deal, although I suspect we were given an "Economy Double" - the room (220) was bijou and was smaller than others on the same floor, but it was clean, modern and quiet so we were happy. Yes, there are clearly a few teething problems, but all in all a positive experience.

Room Tip: Room 220 faces a rear courtyard and other buildings to which works are currently being undertaken, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    326
    151
    61
    39
See reviews for
102
419
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived at this hotel they told us that the company through which we made the booking made a mistake and overbooked their hotel. Unfortunately they don't have a room for us and they organized another hotel for us for the first of two nights. Normally they would have put us in a 4* hotel, but due to many congresses in town there was absolutely no available room in any of them. They sent us to a 3* hotel of the same chain as SP34. Great location near Copenhagen Central Station, still the worst hotel I have ever sayed in. That place needs major renovations which I think will e done soon.

The next morning we went back to SP34 and after a nice welcome back our room was ready for us.

The room was beautiful. Nice bed, big window, very nice bathroom. Staff was friendly, they kept calm all the time eventhough we were not the only guests who had to be sent to another hotel. The next morning we got a nice complimentary breakfast (one of the best I ever had with very fresh food).

A little minus: the first floor rooms are quite loud, there is a construction site in front of the hotel. Since we had to get up rather early that was no problem for us, but sleeping in is probably easier on the 4th floor.

We had many troubles the first day and night, but that was more than made up for the second day and night thanks to a great team, especially the manager. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simonvnbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We join the chorus of other TA reviewers - Hotel SP34 has potential that hasn't been realized just yet and only time will tell if the hotel operators will really reach their goal. This was our first trip to Copenhagen and we stayed in rooms 502, 504 at Hotel SP34 from May 22 - 27. The hotel has been remodeled from the old Hotel Fox to newly opened and redesigned Hotel SP34. While the hotel opened on April 17 - we arrived just in time for the grand opening party on May 22. The lobby was hoping with people, drink and live music. A nice welcome to Copenhagen and we pretended that it was all for us. That is, until a false-alarm fire alert just after midnight that rallied all of the hotel guest and opening party revilers to the streets.

Hotel SP34 is still struggling with training all of its employees with consistent procedures needed to ensure guest satisfaction. I noticed this from the front desk staff to maids who struggled with knowing procedures as well as providing daily service (towels, soap, coffee). The staff did a very good job in responding to specific requests. So - guests, speak up if you need something.

Hotel SP34 decor is modern and attractive. Some of the public spaces furnishing had been rushed for the grand opening and needed a touch up. Overall, I liked the concept and decor. The conference center and fitness room are not open yet. The rooftop deck is really an inner patio off the second floor so don't expect sweeping city views.

Our rooms (502, 504) were in one of the older buildings which make up the hotel. The small elevator is near the Cocks & Cows restaurant, a good hamburger joint. Our 5th floor rooms reminded me of an attic space with sloped ceilings and small dormer-style windows overlooking Vester Voldgade street. While day light runs long this time of year, the rooms needed better interior lighting. If you are tall, keep clear of these rooms or pack a helmet.

Our rooms were a mix of old construction/fixtures from the Hotel Fox days and new furnishings. This was especially true in the bathrooms which showed some wear on the fixtures and tile work. Our rooms were equipped tub/shower combinations. The rooms had a safe (although not bolted), toiletries, hair dryer, flat screen TV, Ironing equipment. Strangely, one room didn't have a telephone, one required your room key to run the electricity and neither had an alarm clock. The double bed and linens were comfortable and a small table worked perfectly for setting up our computer to use the free wifi. Oddly, the water kettle had to be placed on the floor to reach an electric outlet. Also, we opted to buy some instant coffee to keep up with our daily requirements.

Outdoor temperatures were very warm during our stay and without air conditioning our westerly facing windows heated up our guest rooms even more. So - watch the weather forecast and select your hotel carefully if you want/need air conditioning. Hotel SP34 doesn't have a/c.

Overall I agree that Hotel SP34 has potential. If management listens to customer feedback, the hotel has an opportunity to reach its potential as one of the best finds in Copenhagen. In the meantime - travelers be prepared for some glitches during your stay and pack that 'roll with it' attitude.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwgcontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Staff had great attitude and we had a really great time there!
A very good option and for danish prices its a great deal. The rooms are medium to small sized but are very nicely decorated and have all you need and a little more. Its also very well located.

Helpful?
Thank José V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would echo what people say about the location. This used to be Hotel Fox where i had stayed before.It is in a great spot close to bars restaurants etc. across the road is one of Copenhagen's many parks and is a great place to unwind. From the outset my experience was a little off as the couple who were checking in at the next desk were offered the welcoming wine hour from 5-6 and told it was no problem if they went to their room to drop off their bags first, whilst I was told at the same moment it was too late as it was 6.02 and I couldn't have one! I did get a glass the next two nights. My room (203) was termed a small double but even so it was tiny. There was not enough space for me to feel comfortable. There was a table in the corner which was overhanging the bed. The only way to get to the half meter gap on the far side of the bed was to limbo around the table and bed in order to open/close curtains etc. I also echo the need for air co . My choice was stark, boil in the room or open the window and endure traffic noise from the nearby, busy roads as well as the noise from the pavement tables of the hotel's burger bar. Bathroom sink was too small, the shelf space to put things was behind you over the tiolet , the shower was fine. Wardrobe was open one and very small Twice the cleaner. Left her. Card in my room. I have no idea if it was a room pass key but it worried me. I also found the toiletries and the coffee cream were not replenished, nor were my towels on the last night. Good points were the tv , the tea and coffee making facilitiesand the large safe. The decor was drab and depressing and the lighting was poor. It might look good in a magazine but totally impractical for guest use. Alas next time I will stay elsewhere. If you stay here choose your room with care

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the SP34 during a leisure stay to Copenhagen. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel for the following reasons:

- easily accessible from the airport
- great location within the city centre. Alle the important sites are within walking distance
- very friendly staff
- free and speedy wifi
- great organic breakfast
- nice rooms with an elegant nordic design Twist

Next time visiting Copenhagen I will certainly choose this place again .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 329. Fairly large, very quietly located to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_HAM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel sits on the corner of Sankt Peders Straede and Vester Voldgade and is in a perfect location for exploring central Copenhagen, as it's just a few minutes' walk from most of the city's attractions, bars and restaurants. It is perfectly situated for travel to and from the airport by the 5A bus, with bus stops next to/across the road from the hotel. The Netto supermarket just across the road is very handy too.

SP34 is a very modern hotel and has an impressive bar/lobby area; there is also a free glass of wine every day for hotel guests between 5.00 and 6.00pm. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful which ensured a smooth check-in and check-out process.

However, the décor in our room failed to impress. You could call it Danish minimalism but for me it was just plain drab. Grey curtains, grey walls, and the poorest lighting I've ever come across in a hotel. It's just a good job that there's lots of daylight at the moment - imagine coming here in the winter months, you'd need to bring your own lamp! Hotel designers need to bear in mind that many female guests appreciate decent lighting to do their hair and make-up, and somewhere to sit in close proximity to an electric socket where we can plug our hair straighteners in! I know this may seem a shallow point to some, but these factors make or break the hotel experience. On the plus side, there is a free safe in the room and a large-screen HD television with a good variety of Nordic and international channels. The beds are also very good, with memory foam mattresses/mattress toppers.

The biggest problem with SP34 is that there is no air conditioning, which during the recent hot spell required the windows to be open at all times; and this also meant that you could not escape the construction noise. For this reason I have to mark the hotel down and would conclude that it is overpriced in its present form. At the moment it's a bit too much style over substance. Air conditioning, better lighting, more electric sockets and more wardrobe space would all improve the hotel and make it a real force to be reckoned with. Hopefully the management of the hotel will give some consideration to adding these features.

It's very clear that Hotel SP34 has grand ideas and aspirations. However it's still early days and It's just a pity that they didn't wait until all the renovation work in and around the hotel was completed before they officially opened the doors to their paying guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SP34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SP34

Property: Hotel SP34
Address: Skt. Peders Straede 34, Copenhagen 1453, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SP34 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SP34 is a new 4+ boutique hotel situated in Copenhagen's old Latin Quarter. The hotel is positioned 100 meters from the Town Hall Square and the pedestrian street Stroget but nevertheless it is placed in its own natural environs with a great neighborhood; a bohemian area with high ceilings, cool restaurants, vintage shops, churches, bars and a university milieu. We hope that you agree with us and we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel SP34. FACTS: 118 rooms 2 a la carte restaurants 4 bars Rooftop terrace A daily wine hour between 5 and 6 PM Free WiFi Conference facilities including a private cinema Valet parking Neighbor with the City Hall Square, Tivoli and Stroget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel SP34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing