We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Management Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel SP34

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel SP34
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Management Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is a fun place to stay. While my room was very small, it was bright and sunny, and the space was efficient. The bathroom was large and had a good shower. The lobby is a bright, pleasant, modern space with good music and a welcome wine hour. The staff is the friendliest and most helpful of most any place I have stayed. The hotel is undergoing construction, so cross it off your list if you plan to sleep late -- can't be done. This hotel has two excellent restaurants with attentive service and interesting menus.

Room Tip: If the room is on the inner courtyard, it will be noisy until construction is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    315
    150
    59
    39
See reviews for
99
410
41
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at SP34 with a tour group. To say that the group had varied experiences is an understatement. If I were to rate on my own, I would just give 2 stars, but knowing the experience of some others, the fact that the establishment is doing more modernization, and that the desk personnel were eager to please, I would give them the benefit of doubt. The hotel has apparently gone through numerous upgrades already, but supposedly is going to do more. The result now is bad for a tour group because the rooms vary in quality fairly widely.

There are 3 elevators going to 3 sections of the hotel. We were unlucky enough to be assigned a room using elevator C. It is very old, (has an outer door that needs to be opened and closed aside from the usual elevator doors. It is scarcely big enough for 2 adults with luggage. The elevator to the B section is modern and much bigger. I was not on the A elevator. Our room itself was very small. It's best feature was a decent view. We had a small shower. Our friends in the B section had a much larger room that included a shower and tub. We heard about other variations from others in our group. If you give it a try, ask for Room 215.

The hotel is trying hard. They have a free wine hour at about 5 every day. It is a reasonably short walk to the main shopping areas, the Nyhavn area and the Tivoli.

Room Tip: Ask for room 215. Not much of a view but good relatively good amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's not luxurious, rather comfortable and more than adequate.
Staff are very helpful. A tip have breakfast here.
Rooms are fine. Select one that does not face the road.
Take your own face cloth.
Not far from central station and shopping area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

check in really great,efficient and quick - provided with personalised mini bar selections ( included in rate for room) nice size room 414 on the top floor - great to also have table and chairs ( good if you want to eat/work etc) safe and coffee/tea making facilities, bathrobes, nice bathroom with great products for hair etc...everything you could need really. i loved the design of the hotel and the room.
hotel terrace lovely for afternoon coffee ( price v reasonable) and great for dinner - we shared a double burger from the cocks & cows restaurant downstairs. there is also a tapas restaurant next door which we didn't try. the supermarket over the road also provided everything else needed.
I also enjoyed the reading room on the ground floor with the various design/hotel books whilst drinking the Glass of wine comp the hotel at happy hour - nice touch!!
great walking proximity to central Copenhagen shopping and sights such as the mermaid and palace.
Copenhagen seemed surprisingly very very busy day and night.

Room Tip: pay for a good room and pre advise hotel of your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of a trip round Denmark.
We had read the reviews about noise so asked to be put in a quiet room.
We were put in a room at the rear of the hotel on the 3rd floor. As we walked down the corridor we realised one side had not been plastered. It is rather clever because it looks like it has been deliberately but I don't think it has - it has just not been finished.
The room looked out on to the rear of the hotel. There was builder's scaffolding right up to roof level outside our window and 2 skips full of bottles at the ground.
We sought assurances that we would not be disturbed by noise and were told that the builders did not start until 9am. Not so they were there by just after 7.30 when the fire alarm went off and the building was rather half-heartedly evacuated - real issues with health and safety here esp as the only way out was through the builders working area. No-one checked to see if everyone was out and I met a man on the way back who told me he had been in the shower and had not realised the fire alarm was for this building! Staff offered no apology for having to stand in street in pyjamas. Rather they seemed to regard it as a bit of a joke.
Returned to room hoping for some sleep to find builders using electronic equipment on scaffolding right outside room - so close they could not help but peer in. Asked reception twice to ask them to stop. Nothing really happened.
Told builders would knock off at 12 noon on Friday. Not clear who the two chaps were outside the window using electronic equipment at 7pm that evening then when I tried to get some sleep.
No builders over weekend but pretty constant (every 5 mins or so) early evening noise of bottles being dumped in skips by staff.
Breakfast is in a room which is not finished either. Again, it is noisy from builder's work and you if in an alcove you can see light from above because the ceiling is not finished.
No gym yet as not been built. Staff indicated one nearby but you have to pay for that. No suggestion hotel would pay.
Also, on a security issue, after the fire alarm, I asked for another card to get into the room as I had left mine in the room. I couldn't remember the room number and gave the wrong number and my name. Staff did not check and gave me a card to the wrong room full of someone's else stuff! Not great.
Staff generally all smiles but actually not really very helpful. Then again it must be quite demoralising working in what claims to be a luxurious hotel when you are surrounded by building works.

Room Tip: The staff told us the rooms at the rear were the quietest. That said if you want to sleep at all jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Really helpful staff who were proud of the refurbishment of the hotel.
They knew their wines and were comfortable making sound recommendations.
The hotel was very clean and quality of the breakfast was excellent.
We recognized that work was still going on but that was minor and did not distract from enjoying our stay.We had an older room overlooking the main road so were unable to open the windows on what was a very hot May week. Air con would have been helpful.
Some good local cafes,great location for everything in Central Copenhagen and a 10 min walk to the station.

Room Tip: A room in the new area of the hotel is quieter than the old, which overlooks the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBunston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

New hotel so amenities listed such as fitness not open. Rooftop terrace (actually on the first floor in the back of the hotel) also not yet done and construction noise during the day. No temp control in room. Short walk to Tivoli garden and main shopping street. Near a nice park and canals for a jog.
Higher reviews b/c we had a European breakfast included with fresh warm croissants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMRNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#30 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SP34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SP34

Property: Hotel SP34
Address: Skt. Peders Straede 34, Copenhagen 1453, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SP34 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SP34 is a new 4+ boutique hotel situated in Copenhagen's old Latin Quarter. The hotel is positioned 100 meters from the Town Hall Square and the pedestrian street Stroget but nevertheless it is placed in its own natural environs with a great neighborhood; a bohemian area with high ceilings, cool restaurants, vintage shops, churches, bars and a university milieu. We hope that you agree with us and we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel SP34. FACTS: 118 rooms 2 a la carte restaurants 4 bars Rooftop terrace A daily wine hour between 5 and 6 PM Free WiFi Conference facilities including a private cinema Valet parking Neighbor with the City Hall Square, Tivoli and Stroget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SP34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing