We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design spot, excellent breakfast”
Review of Hotel SP34

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel SP34
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great design spot, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were rather torn about our choice of hotel for Copenhagen, as we wanted something pretty central and trendy, and some of the reviews for this place were pretty mixed which made the decision tricky. But overall, we left very happy in the end.

Key plus points:

+ The breakfast in particular, which is all organic and locally sourced, was outstanding - one of the best we've had in any hotel. Worth choosing this option when you book.
+ Nice location, pretty easy to reach a range of places, and circa 800m walk from a metro stop that takes you direct to the airport.
+ Nice design touches, both through the main lobby area, restaurants, and rooms. Plus some ad hoc events; we had a band give a short concert in the lobby one night.
+ Others have had other experiences, but we found the staff largely very helpful.

- Sleep quality was a little mixed, as our room was next to a fairly noisy road, so we were torn between opening the windows (for a cooler sleep) and blocking out the noise. We opted for less noise, but light sleepers will likely struggle, so worth asking for a room away from the road, if possible.

Room Tip: Try ask for a room away from the road; there's anyway no view, but you may have a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    332
    157
    62
    39
See reviews for
104
427
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have never written a review, but this hotel has treated me so poorly that I decided to open an account and write my first review.

The day before my booking, I called to confirm my room, that I paid for in advance, and the hotel confirmed that everything was fine. I arrived late at night to learn that the hotel overbooked and sold my pre-paid room. They were extremely rude. Did not offer to return my payment but instead offered to take a room at another hotel. I agreed as it was late and I didnt want to loose my payment.
But when I saw where they sent me, I wanted to cry. I was sent to a hotel next to a train station, extremely dirty. Random people entering and leaving the hotel and hanging out in the lobby.

Just beware that prepayment doesnt guarantee a hotel room at SP34.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaWallace1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Södra Sverige
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights, as chance would have it during a record breaking heat wave. In summary this is a great hotel through and through. Our experience, though, was greatly marred by the hotel's complete lack of forced ventilation, let alone any type of air conditioning.

The hotel seems newly renovated in a consistent and carefully thought out theme. We chose the standard double room which I found slightly small. There are several options on room sizes though, without going all the way to suites etc. There is a restaurant and a bar associated with the hotel, both seem very nice and in accordance with the rest of the hotel. Service is swift, friendly and knowledgeable.

The breakfast was a high point with serious fresh bread, fruits, juices etc. Very good, don't miss!

Unfortunately, due to the heat it was simply impossible to sleep even when keeping the windows wide open. When the outside air got cooler in the wee hours things got slightly better. Right as I drifted off the clock turned 5 am and all the clubs in the city closed. This meant waking up again due to mindless waffling and guitar playing (sic!) by the sumer night revelers ambling home down the street outside...

The windows are thoroughly sound proofed and staying here during other seasons than high summer should be a treat!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hakol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A great place to stay ....so we keep coming back. Mai in particular in the front desk is amazing nothing is too much trouble. They organised breakfasts when we left early . Really friendly regardless of our nocturnal habits. The staff are what make this hotel. Its well located, the rooms are decent by Danish standards and the lobby is a social place to hang out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked the hotel under a Mystery Deal and were slightly apprehensive by the little amount of information and photos on the website but hoped for the best. We were not disappointed!

The hotel is located on a corner of a street close to Copenhagen center, Tivoli, Meat packing district and is surrounded by bars and restaurants. In fact, it has access to 2 bars / restaurants through the hotel.

We were amazed by the unique design of the hotel and its modern feel. Our room was small but beautiful. There was a problem with the room that we identified on the second day and were moved without any problem. Our second room was on the top level and was big, bright and beautiful with attic style windows. Very clean, modern and stylish. The staff were very helpful, polite and approachable. They even helped us choosing and organizing a Michelin starred restaurant.

Had a great stay and would highly recommend to anyone going to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are brighter and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Pros; Hotel has quite modern styling, in a good location for exploring beautiful Copenhagen, friendly staff, and has a couple of nice bars in the hotel.

Cons; room was much too small, too expensive considering standard of room, food in the bars were mainly burgers, breakfast very expensive and breakfast was basic continental so best to have breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Design at its best. Furnished with love and care which makes a harmonic impression as a result. Not only conveniently located to explore copenhagen's city but also in a nice, tranquil area. Very friendly and helpful staff. In my view one of the best hotel I ever stayed and definitely a place to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
80 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SP34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SP34

Property: Hotel SP34
Address: Skt. Peders Straede 34, Copenhagen 1453, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SP34 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SP34 is a new 4+ boutique hotel situated in Copenhagen's old Latin Quarter. The hotel is positioned 100 meters from the Town Hall Square and the pedestrian street Stroget but nevertheless it is placed in its own natural environs with a great neighborhood; a bohemian area with high ceilings, cool restaurants, vintage shops, churches, bars and a university milieu. We hope that you agree with us and we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel SP34. FACTS: 118 rooms 2 a la carte restaurants 4 bars Rooftop terrace A daily wine hour between 5 and 6 PM Free WiFi Conference facilities including a private cinema Valet parking Neighbor with the City Hall Square, Tivoli and Stroget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, HRS, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SP34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing