We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were only here for one day and night, before the start of a Baltic cruise. We had never been to Copenhagen, and liked this hotel and loved the city!
The hotel is conveniently located, near the Kastellet (fort and park), and a short walk from the Little Mermaid statue.
We ended up eating mostly at the hotel, since we really enjoyed the food, and also loved the ambience of the restaurant and the décor, as well as the service.
We were in a "mini suite" room and found it to be a little small...mostly due to the strange layout, with a big entrance way and closet area (which was actually quite useful since it enabled us to store our luggage out of the way), and a half wall separating the bed from the sitting area, which chopped up the room too much and made it feel crowded.
However, we had a balcony, and a nice view over the roof tops and to the dome of the church, so that was great.
I was worried about the fact that the hotel had no air conditioning...it was quite warm and sunny when we were there, however, leaving the windows open over night to let in the cool air and closing over the curtains during the day with the fan on kept the room comfortable.
I would still love to know how to turn off the heated floor tiles in the bathroom though! The answer I got when I asked was "good question!" :)
I also loved the linens and towels, and especially the bath products....I ended up buying a couple of the dragon fly face cloths and the shower gel body wash to bring home because it smelled so good!
One minor negative was that the hotel exterior was being painted, so that was a little inconvenient sometimes trying to go in and out of the hotel with all the scaffolding etc, and it also meant that the hotel smelled of paint. But that should be done soon, and it will improve the hotel look. Also, I'm not sure if it was the "recycled" aspect of some of the components, but I found that the room didn't seem to be quite as clean as I would have hoped....the stone tub and sink seemed stained, as did the pipes/taps, but maybe that is because they were old and recycled? The shower head also didn't work too well.....light water pressure and sprays in all directions!
Overall, we really enjoyed our time here, though, and would likely stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was quiet, and had a nice view, and the balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing stay in Copenhagen. I had no idea that it was such a beautiful city, with so much to see and do. The Babette and its staff hugely contributed to our enjoyment and sense of really being on holiday, rather than just experiencing a city break. Our room was lovely; I'm not sure that the pictures on the website do it justice. Our bathroom had the choice of a bath and shower and the complementary organic toiletries were gorgeous. We decided to pay for breakfast and were delighted that we made this decision; it was excellent and the staff even ordered in gluten free bread for my husband. I tried some too: the best that I've ever tasted, as was the rye bread, which sadly my husband was unable to try. We ate supper at the hotel too and it was equally delicious and all organic..
I've read some reviews that refer to the casualness of the staff; yes, some do appear casual in their dress but that in no way reflects on their professionalism and genuine desire to help. We went to the Louisiana Modern Art Museum after talking to one member of staff; we never would have done so without her advice and had the most amazing day. I've stayed at plenty of hotels where the staff may look extremely smart but have very little interest in their guests;I know which alternative I prefer!
There is construction work going on outside the hotel at the moment and therefore it is a little noisy at the front but you can hardly blame the hotel for this: it is out of their control. We had a front bedroom and I did notice the noise but I expected this- it is a city location after all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice little hotel within walking distance of the harbour area. Has been recently upgraded and it has a nice unique feel to it.

Everything is organic in this restaurant. From the soap you use for washing up to the food you eat. Helpful staff and comfortable rooms. The restaurant is quite nice as well for dinner and breakfast. Wifi could habe been a bit better but overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Babette. Upon entering the room, we were greeted by a wave of hot air and paint fumes. We tried opening the windows and were confronted with contruction work, drilling, and scafoldings. This was an unpleasant surprise considering i'd ask about the noise before going to the room, and the reception had specifically said it was all ok. Basically, our room was not ususable during the day time. We were also woken up at 6:15am by the *loudest* trash truck ever. We woke up tired.

Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced, and not that good. Someone comes around the tables, not to ask whether you might need a spoon (there are no spoons), but to take your room number, so they can bill you.

The hotel says it's ecofriendly but has the biggest deepest (and dirtiest) bath tubs i have ever seen in my life (we had to rince several times before using becomes there were so many hairs floating around, and we had to wait over 30 mins for the tub to empty itself because the drainage was faulty)

The management felt very amateurish, it didn't seem like anyone had really any training in hospitality. Staff wear tracksuits and shorts.

Overall, nice hotel for 1 night only. Very happy to leave.

Room Tip: Do not trust what the receptionist will tell you. Check for yourself and request a change if need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We reached Babette early so stored our baggage and walked around a bit as it's well located within walking distance of some of the city's attractions. When we came back the room wasn't ready so waited till past noon, but Karolina was on the ball, kept checking with us if we needed anything, and giving us coffee etc. she went beyond the call of her duty to help us and make us feel welcome. We were checking with her about our next stop in Berlin, and she called the hotel where we had booked and found out details. Exemplary service!
The room we had was big and clean with a view of the dome. Since the room is on a mezzanine type floor (from fifth floor it's a flight of stairs down) the wifi tended to drop off now and then. The bathroom was clean if on the smallish side a bit.
The location was just the right distance from the centre. You can walk to little mermaid and there is a park close by. The queen lives a few minutes from here. Now, it's better not to walk from the station. We took a taxi from the airport as we didn't want to go looking around after a really long flight, but when we walked back to the station we found that it was a long walk, not 15 minutes as the site days, definitely not with baggage. Your best bet is to take a train to the central station from the airport and take a taxi from there. Or you can take a local train from the central, get off at ostreoport, and walk to the hotel which is ten minutes away (with your back to the station, turn left and walk down). Or you an take bus 1A but it's could be a bit of a pain.
Copenhagen is very, very, very expensive and not very tourist friendly in the sense the signs are small and tucked away. They are in English but the pronunciation is very different from what the words suggest, for instance the hotel is on bredgade, which is called brelgul. Go figure. If you are a vegetarian, there are not many good eating places close by but you can walk to the city centre for a good bunch of restaurants, especially kompagniestrade. There is a nice Thai place near the hotel. We had soup at the hotel twice which was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for a short weekend trip and thought hotel was very interesting. The front desk is sort of like a small command center where check-in, check-out, concierge services, and seating for their in-house restaurant and bar is coordinated. The personnel at the front desk are friendly and seem to be able to handle anything in an informal way, sort of like you are living in a home and talking to a friend. The rooms and bathrooms are relatively small but the bedding is very welcoming and I thought was the best part of the room. It might get tight in these small rooms if staying for a longer time but for a couple nights I think it would be perfect. Overall what I enjoyed the most was the bike rental at the hotel which made it fun to go see the mermaid by bike which was along a very safe route in the opposite direction of all of the traffic and city center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnc1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had just one night stopover before taking Baltic Cruise. Hotel was perfectly situated not far from the centre and on way to cruise terminal. Staff efficient and friendly and room perfect. Would stay here again on trip to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmacKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,651 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
351 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Bredgade 78, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Østerbros , Østerbros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £113 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please welcome the latest addition to the Guldsmeden Hotels family: Babette Guldsmeden – a modern-day flower-child has settled in the Queen´s backyard…Luxurious simplicity, happy hostmanship, an unpretentious atmosphere and uncompromising sustainability are our guiding stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing