We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather nicely refurbished classic hotel with terrible showers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rather nicely refurbished classic hotel with terrible showers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If this hotel were in any other place in the world, I would rate as below average, but if you are traveling in Denmark, you must lower your expectations when it comes to anything related to service. I say this after living in Copenhagen for 3 years and traveling here quite a lot. This hotel isn't bad: in fact I would say it is almost above average for downtown Copenhagen. I would have given it 4 stars except that the showers were so absolutely terrible (even for Denmark)

The rooms are about average size for downtown Copenhagen (that means quite small) and the location is very good. It has good quality organic linens, a nice restaurant/bar and the people who work there are pretty friendly and cool. The building is also quite old, yet recently refurbished--with exposed beams and rather lovely wooden floors--very Scandinavian.
The bathrooms are also recently refurbished....but this is where someone had made a serious misjudgment. In attempting to be a "green" hotel, they have installed extreme low-flow shower heads which, in addition to delivering too little water to properly bathe, feel like 20 pinheads going into your back. In order to rinse the shampoo from my head, I had to hold the shower head directly over my hair and wait about 15 seconds for the suds to start to flow.

When you wake up on a cold Nordic morning, you want to take a nice hot shower....but no such luck here. The shower heads are so extremely low-flow that you freeze the entire time. Absolutely terrible. Because of this, I would not want to stay again, but unfortunately, there are not a lot of hotels in the downtown, so I may be forced to--and there are way worse hotels.

Wifi was also not great--in my room on the top level (5th floor), the signal barely worked. I have also stayed on the first floor for a night one week prior, and the room was bigger and wifi was fine. Both rooms were very loud in the early hours of the morning with the window open...but again, this is life in Copenhagen on a main street.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    205
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
57
224
26
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights arriving from 13 Aug. It is in a great location a short 10 minute stroll from the Metro Station down Bredgade road which is diagonally opposite the metro station exit. Our hotel room was not small but was long and a little narrow but this did not concern us at all. The hotel does not have air conditioning in the rooms and the weather was warm which meant that we slept under a sheet only and even then it was uncomfortably warm. The room had an overhead fan but it was a little to noisy to have on when your trying to sleep. I would describe this as a boutique hotel with some quirky features but it is a lovely hotel. There is a spa and roof top bar on the roof of the hotel which has great views. We both thought the hotel was really very nice and the staff always very polite and helpful. There is a park opposite the hotel which is lovely for an evening walk and which you can walk through to the harbour area where the Little Mermaid is situated. If you walk from the Metro to the hotel you will pass Nyhaven with the multi coloured properties lining the harbour. Nyhaven is a great place to walk around, have a drink and/or meal. Apart from the Metro to and from the Airport, we walked everywhere and did not feel unsafe at all. We both liked the hotel very much and would definitely stay again but airconditioning would have made our stay perfect. We loved Copenhagan its people.

Room Tip: Some visitors have said the hotel is noisy as it is on a main road. Our hotel room overlooked the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Nice location, very near from the city center
Gentle staff
Very nice lobby and bar
Overall nice and romantic decoration

But
Very small room and bathroom on noisy road and so warm! no aircon but design and non efficient fan.. We had thus difficulty to sleep correctly.
Shower very hard to use (we were like lashed by water!)
Organic driven but towels and bed sheets changed every day..
Quite expensive breakfast

At the end, nice atmosphere and hotel but the doubt remains on the ratio quality vs price: it lacks something to make it a great hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marine_romain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just spent a week at Babette (room 416) and had a mixed experience. The highlights are that the hotel is well-kept, in a convenient location and has comfortable beds. Despite the construction we were not disturbed during sleeping hours. Wifi is generally good and having a Mac in the room was a nice touch. If you've read other reviews you know the negatives: no drawers, poor lighting, warm rooms (ask for a fan or two), useless rooftop spa, expensive so-so breakfast (go to Emmery's around the corner), no indication of how to call front desk (dial 9), no kleenex or additional soap (have to move liquid soap back and forth from leaky shower to sink), etc. While the front desk staff are courteous they aren't knowledgeable about Copenhagen or tourist information. There's not help with luggage and no security when it comes to leaving bags (you're given a key to the storage room where anything could disappear). Be sure to check your bill -- we had 1 breakfast but had been billed for 7 for days we weren't even at the hotel but this was quickly corrected. Also, there's a 3% surcharge for using Amex. The offset is to join online the Guldsmeden club and request the 5% cash refund option. Babette isn't terrible -- we actually liked our small suite and thought it was decent value for Copenhagen. But with better staff training, more attention to how guests actually use their room and ala carte options for breakfast at a lower price this could be an excellent hotel. - Rob & Jeanne

Room Tip: High room away from construction -- 4th floor is a good choice since ceilings are normal height. Avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bankerstrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can't help leaving this hotel with the feeling that it just met our expectations but not more. The rooms are clean, and the design is very beautiful and with care for the detail, no doubt. Location is awesome and thus the hotel is well positioned for a romantic getaway and weekend trip.

However, this care of the detail for design made me feel, that the care of detail in function and maintenance is missing. This is somewhat contradicting the superb first impression and disappointing after all.

Here are some examples of why I think this way: the vintage shower-head in our room dispensed very little water; the shower is modern and level to the ground floor and looks very nice, but the bathroom's floor is wet after showering; the bathroom door is contorted and does not close; the fifth floor is right underneath the roof and has very low ceiling; as a conclusion it gets very warm and stuffy in the summer and the room on the fifth floor offered no air-conditioning; every additional service came at an extra price, even slightly more expensive than neighboring services (e.g. the bike rentals); the breakfast option is too pricy, if you don't want a weekend buffet every day.

After all the hotel is meeting expectations for a two-three day's trip. It was more a stay with friends as in a hotel, as the staff is very nice and friendly. But I felt that overall some things are missing to make it a great hotel, where you leave and are eager to come back soon.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms are right underneath the roof. Low ceiling are a hassle for people 1.80m and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BvB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel design is quirky and they use organic products, which are 2 things we look for in a hotel. However, another thing I look for is a decent night's sleep, which you won't get if you're in a room facing the busy traffic junction. We arrived late and checked in, then realised we had a room right above the traffic on the 2nd floor - I went down to reception to ask if we could change rooms, but they were full. I was then told 'But it's not noisy during the night' - yes, but it starts getting noisy from about 6-7am, so bad luck if you arrive at midnight like we did, or you want to have a long night out. Luckily I could make use of the organic cotton wool to make some ear plugs, which helped.
The other problem was the shower, or rather trickle - very little pressure and the water temperature kept veering between very hot and very cold. The lady on reception did imply it was unusual for that to happen, so hopefully that issue will be fixed soon.
My final gripe would be that, although they bill themselves as organic etc, staff still kept trying to change our towels, despite the fact we'd asked for no housekeeping during our stay. We even had someone knocking on the door despite the Do Not Disturb sign hanging up!

Overall, the hotel is in quite a good location, close to the Little Mermaid and the Amelianborg Palace, the decor is good, with lovely rugs and lots of paintings, the lounge area is nice for a night-cap, and the staff are friendly. It's a 10-minute walk to Osterport train station for the airport or main station. We didn't have breakfast there as we only wanted something small and it was quite expensive, but I imagine that you could fill yourself up for most of the day with the buffet. I would give the hotel a better rating if they did something about the soundproofing in the rooms.

Room Tip: At the top of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Babette. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is very stylish and our room, although not very large, was well-appointed. We appreciated the hotel's effort to be eco-friendly. It was great to finally see a fan in a hotel room in Scandinavia! However, we didn't need it because it was pleasant to keep the windows open and allow the breezes to cool the room. It was a fairly quiet room, although there was a bit of construction on the street, but it didn't bother us during our stay. The hotel is right next to a park, and our room's window looked out on the park. Our only complaint is no free breakfast, which was standard at the other comparable hotels we stayed at during our trip to Scandinavia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Bredgade 78, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Østerbros , Østerbros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please welcome the latest addition to the Guldsmeden Hotels family: Babette Guldsmeden – a modern-day flower-child has settled in the Queen´s backyard…Luxurious simplicity, happy hostmanship, an unpretentious atmosphere and uncompromising sustainability are our guiding stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing