We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tivoli visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
Ranked #96 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tivoli visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The family visited Copenhagen for a three day vacation in the city. At arrival it was also very crowded on the street outside the hotel and there were no free spot for the car outside the hotel entrance. The bicycle lane between the entrance and the (occupied) parking spots combined with heavy rusch hour traffic forced the car into an awkward position when we were waiting for a free spot. There were no personel from the hotel outside to help in sorting out the mess, we just had to wait and eventually break some traffic rules to be able to park and unload the baggage.

The receptionist informed us that we got two rooms next to eachother, but even if the roomnumbers were were next to eachothers, the rooms were not. One could expect that the receptionist should know the hotel better.

The general impression of the hotel is that if has barely been renovated since mid 1900. Old elevators, old carpets in the corrodors and hotel rooms. The rooms were decent but not more. Both teenagers in the family got allergic reactions, hay fever, in the hotel, most likely due to the old carpets. The toilets were small and there were no separate shower part, rather a curtain opposite the sink. It was a bit interesting that the showerdrain was under the sink so the whole floor in the toilet was wet after every shower. There was also no threshold under the door effectively soaking the carpet in one of the rooms as the drain was blocked.

Furthermore the pillows in the beds were flat and uncomfortable. We all had to order extra pillows. The room were also poorly sound insulated, and we heard loud noise from neighbour room late in the night.

The breakfast buffet was nothing else than a catastrophy. Cold, premade pancakes, massacrated melons, empty bins for hot food, old strawberries. The bacon was terrible. All in all the food was tasteless and of low quality.

The thing we valued most on the hotel was the entertainment system. The TV sets was quite big and modern with a large variety of channels.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are newly renovated rooms in other parts of the hotel. I think one definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    197
    257
    174
    99
See reviews for
155
227
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

First hotel room was exactly what i expected from the description and reviews. It was a very good value for what as far as a room that is clean and quiet that includes breakfast and the location is great!!! They dont have wash cloths(like most european hotels) so if u are from north america and are used to these comforts just bring your own. Foo is very expensive in most of those countries in that area (baltic region) so do try to get a hearty breakfast in as the hotel offersa great selection with a well replenished buffet till 10 on weekdays amd 1030 on weekends. We stayed before a holland america cruise and then again for a few days after. Really its worth every penny. The only negitive thing is the women at the front desk are misserable!!!! Rude!!!! And very unorginized!!!! Our first night we were checked in the girl who helped us had a training tag on so even thought she was rotten i thought maybe she was just overwelmed with the new job. But no thats just how the women that work there are as i came to found out during our stays there. When we returned from our cruise we tried to check in but all rooms are not availible untill 3pm so at 2 we decided to sit in the lobby and wait for the hour, as i sat on the couch my eyes dosed in and out and the lady behind the desk yelled across the room for me to wake up that there is no closing your eyes in the lobby even if ur room isnt ready and your exauated with nowhere to go.... Then at 230 she offered to give us a room early (which was nice) i filled out all of the paper work(which wasnt much because i booked and pre paid through expedia) but non the less we got a room and were super happy. That was untill we tried to get calls im to our room and nobody could reach u and the girl at the front told us she had put many calls through but we didnt answer when i told her no calls came through she said simply "weird phones must not be working" when i asked her id some one could look at fixing that as we had 2 more days there and people would be calling she replied "no its a weekend nobody works on things on the weekend". Ok.... We worked around this. Bu it wasnt unti checkout we figured out the root of this.... We gave a different lad our room keys and when she asked our room we said 321 and she said no thats not it.... Well this discussion went on too long as she insistes that we didnot come fom that room(the one i had signed papers on and had been in for 3 days with no problems but the phone). Well when i got fed up of arguing i said. Was leaving a i had a train to catch to be on time for my flight.... I had enough i knew i wasnt go to be leaving a wonderful trip happy if i had to deal with her any more so we walked out.... 2 blocks down the road she ran up to us and screamed for us to come back and demanded we did not pay and that we owed money. When i said yes we prepaid through expedia and if we came back we could be late for our flight check in she demanded we return And made a scene in the middle of the sidewalk.... So we returned to find out there was a clerical error and we were filed into a different room and the man in our room whom we didnt know was not to be leaving yet. Pffffft this would explain why our phone didnt work they didnt have us registered to the right room.... Long story short we left but not without feeling crappy and embarrased.
So over all i think its a good value hotel but they really nees to work on hospitality and adminiatration at the front desk thats the only down fall this hotel!!! Stay here just dont expect a smile or someone to be nice or helpfull at the desk and your stay will be great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dngVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in a family room. We travelled with two small children (3 and 5) and we only had one goal with our stay; to spend a nice day at the Tivoli before continuing our vacation to Billund, Legoland. As the hotel is a three star hotel we did not have that high expectations. However, it exceeded expecations on many levels since the family room was spacious and had two separate bedrooms. This was perfect for a family with small children. Another bonus was the fact that we could actually see Tivoli from our window. The breakfast was nice, no complaints here and the staff was friendly. This is, however, a quite old hotel and even if it had been renewed it is a bit worn so do not expect five star luxury. The rooms have no air conditioning and during our first day it was cloudy so it was ok. On our second day the sun was shining and I can imagine that the rooms get quite hot in the summer. If you are sensitive to noise, then a room facing the inner courtyard would be preferrable. To summerize - a standard hotel with spacious family rooms that meet the requirements for a few days in Copenhagen.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Forsstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is in downtown Copenhagen, about 500 meters from the shops and bars. The bathroom had mildew but this is very common in Scandinavia. The internet connection was cumbersome and didn't work for me. The receptionists were very kind, helpful and well trained.
This is a very "standard" hotel, don't expect anything special there.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy streets, try to get a room in the back, I would sacrifice the view of a noisy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0CKR0ACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed two nights before and after our Baltic cruise.
Found the staff and the manager very professional.
perfect location for visiting main attractions.
first night had a room on the street side an it was a bit noisy with traffic.
requested a room on the court yard side after our cruise and it was totally quiet.
breakfast was excellent much better than we anticipated.
would recommend this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: request a room on the court yard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigguy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in Copenhagen before our Baltic cruise, and I booked the Richmond through hotelsdenmark.com. It was much more reasonable than others in the centre of the city, and turned out to be very pleasant and comfortable. The room was a junior suite, for the price of a standard room, with dazzling white duvets and a large terrace. It was very quiet, on a courtyard.

Too bad that the weather was cold and windy, but we walked all over the historic city centre (one block to the City Hall, 2 to Tivoli, about 10 to the Royal Palace..).
The breakfast was vast and wonderful, and included in the price. We were annoyed at another hotel, on the return, where a more ordinary breakfast cost $25.00 each.
We will go back to the Richmond.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunnen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Don't go to this place. An example. If you call front desk to get fresh towels because housekeeping forgot to supply them, they ask you to come down in the reception yourself! They "do not have staff for any service unfortunately". I would not be surprised if the one day ask you to clean your room yourself too.

So stay away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouritsenbrunnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#70 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#76 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#65 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#53 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel

Property: ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
Address: Vester Farimagsgade 33, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing