We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ascot Apartments
Ranked #62 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Room was of a reasonable size,apartment was clean. Bathroom facilities outdated.

Kitchen was very basic no oven or toaster, no dish washing liquid or dishcloth. Laundry was located in another building : one washing machine available.

Apartment located near the main shopping street, close to a supermarket and public transport.

Would I stay here again... No. Room was not like the Pictures on the Internet.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wowadventuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    164
    75
    43
    33
See reviews for
160
73
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights 14th-16th December. Booked an apartment for four adults. Copenhagen is an expensive city especially before Christmas with the Christmas market offering. Booking this apartment made it £200 cheaper for us than booking in an equivalent hotel with two rooms. There are two single beds pushed together to make a double and in the lounge there is a sofa bed which me and my younger sister shared.
The sofa bed was just a standard double and quite hard. The linen supplied for the sofa bed was a mattress protector, sheet, pillows and a duvet which unfortunately wasn't wide enough for two people so I got another.
We didn't try the breakfast here. The reception team were very helpful, polite & courteous. I emailed them before our trip as I was concerned about some of the reviews on TripAdvisor relating to the noise of the night club below. After reading reviews I asked not to be in building 69 where the nightclub was below.
They acknowledged my request of one of the other apartment blocks, and I asked to be high up as possible so we could sleep well. When I asked for extra towels this was done straight away. It seems some of the apartments are newer than others, ours seemed new in terms of the furniture and kitchenette/hob& crockery.

It is not the biggest apartment but it is hard to find apartments in Copenhagen that have as good as location as here and is suitable if you just want somewhere to sleep and not to bothered about luxuries.
Apartments are right next to Tivoli gardens where the Christmas markets are. Not far to walk to get to Stroget street. About 40 min walk to Nyhavn Harbor, 10 minutes further to palaces.
You don't really think about the walk as there are lots of points of interest along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for building 65 or 67 and a high floor, as building 69 has the nightclub underneath and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zamboni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

These apartments are well located in walking distance to many attractions, parks and the historical centre. However, its definitely not 4 stars. The kitchenette had an odd assortment of chipped crockery but not enough cups for the three of us. Basin and bath didn't drain properly and the lift didn't work.The breakfast was OK but supplies dwindled and weren't replaced. It was really expensive for what it offered - in who's dream is this 4 stars? I stayed at the Angsar (a hotel room and not an apartment) and found this to be much better in terms of value, cleanliness, maintenance, breakfasts were excellent and service. The view from the apartment was into an interior parking area and industrial bins.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed last week as I had heard there is more space if you try an apartment hotel in Copenhagen. Anyone who travels a lot in this areas will know its expensive and a lot of the central places are very small. So this has bedroom with 2x small single beds, a huge living area, a kitchen with equipment, bathroom, separate wc, and closet for ironing... a lot of space for the money. Shame I only stayed the one night, but it was clean and reasonably priced. You need to exit the hotel and walk 20 meters to get the separate entrance. Didn't have time to try breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as its on the road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was sure I had booked an apartment on Olotel but it turned out to be a hotel room ..... Whether my incompetence or Olotel 'lack of clarity' or Ascot dodgy naming convention ('Ascot Apartments' offer non-apartments, that's for sure ..... hence this review on the 'Apartments' label, not the 'Hotel') I don't know - but that's the first and last time I use Olotel. Will stick to tried and tested competitors in future with whom I have have never had this problem.

That apart, the hotel room I booked at Ascot Apartments was OK. (Well, it didn't have the fridge or microwave I was expecting from Olotel's website, but that was no big deal really). Smallish double, a little hanging space and medium sized clothes drawers, TV, wet bathroom but good shower curtain kept the water mostly away from the rest of the floor. Loud nightclub nextdoor (still going strong at 2 am on a Friday even for our 4th floor room. We're good sleepers so again, no big deal).

Location excellent - 5 minutes walk from main station and Tivoli.

Clean.

Would I come here again ? Yes, but my preference would be to try somewhere else in the neighbourhood first. Value for money a little above average for Scandinavia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Bad hotel in a good location close to Strøget and other attractions. Apartment was spacious but decor old and depressing. Pictures on the internet did not have anything to do with the current state of our room. Kitchen was small and dirty. The furniture in the room were dated. There was a bed smell in the bathroom throughout our stay. Good location seems to be the only advantage of this hotel. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dagajaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Apartments are 2 mins walk from the train station (Train seems to be quickest and cheapest way to central Copenhagen from the airport), right in the centre of Copenhagen and around the corner from Tivoli. Very close to a 'corner shop' selling basics like bread, milk, juice, toothbrush etc. Also very close to a number of restaurants, bars, cafes and the main shopping street, Stroget.
The entrance to the apartments was a few doors down from the hotel reception and was accessible with your room key card. We worked out that some of us managed to deactivate our cards by putting them next to our mobile phones in handbags! No problem though, reception were very efficient at reactivaing them.
Apartemnts had 1 double bedroom with an ensuite bathroom - bath with shower over (this was also the main bathroom so you had to step into the bedroom from the living area to get into the bathroom. Not a problem for us as we were a group of female friends), a living area with 2 separate, very comfortable sofa beds, a dining table, coffee table, a small kitchen and a separate toilet with small washbasin in the hallway. The apartments have an iron, ironing board, hairdryer, kettle, towels, bedding, shower and handwash gel, washing up liquid, free wifi. We paid a small amount extra for breakfast which was a buffet in the resataurant just off reception. Fantastic choice of continental breakfast items - cereal, fruit, breads, crackers, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee, pancakes, eggs, sausages, pate etc. Well worth the money! Breakfast was served 7.30 - 10.30am on the weekend. Checkout was at 11am, quick and easy with luggage storage in a room just off reception if needed. Overall a great apartment for a group of friends or a family.

Room Tip: 8 girls stayed in apartments 913 and 915 (4 in each). Neither had a great view but we weren't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#61 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#63 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#50 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Apartments

Property: Ascot Apartments
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ascot Apartments Copenhagen
Ascot Apartments Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing