We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait in line for perfection”
Review of Conditori La Glace

Conditori La Glace
Ranked #3 of 27 Bakeries in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Conditori La Glace is the oldest and probably best confectionary in Denmark. Founded in the middle of old Copenhagen on the 8th of October 1870, it has through six generations delivered joy and quality to Copenhagen and its visitors. It is an experience to visit the beautiful old rooms located in Skoubogade 3. La Glace has a lot to offer, including good taste, traditions, history, as well as quick and qualified service. You can choose to enjoy the confections on location or bring the cakes home with you for coffee. Alternatively, we can deliver to your door. We hope that after seeing what we have to offer you will feel like visiting our confectionary, tasting our products, and making use of our many services. We are looking forward to welcoming you to La Glace.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wait in line for perfection”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The queue is interesting, about a 15 to 20 minute wait. Then you are shown to your table, and given a ticket number. When the number appears overhead, you tell them your order. They accept credit card. There are gluten-free options. I recommend the hot chocolate and old-style coffee. Both are filling. Two refills are given, but you will probably only get through one cup. Free tap water available in the back room. This is a must-see in Copenhagen and was a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MZaidi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    256
    73
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Cakes are wonderful”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided a calorie blow out was necessary on a single occasion in Copenhagen and were told in no uncertain terms that this was the place to fulfil such needs! Arrived at 15.30 and managed to get seated in just a few minutes. A very good choice of cakes and pastries and our choices were delicious. Service was very good and attentive and we thought the cake prices were fair and what (at least) you would expect to pay anywhere else for such quality.
My only criticism (and would have given an excellent rating otherwise) would be that a single cup of tea was more expensive than a cake which seems plain silly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“must have”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

you will pay somewhat more than normal but for guaranteed quality. i did not want to try cakes in several places hoping that at least in one will deliver decent taste along with the calories, so La Glace was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidorovasonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You need to speak Danish to get seated right away”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is famous in Copenhagen so when I found it I was very excited. They offer some gluten free pastries so I couldn't wait however it was very busy. They asked us to wait to be seated and after waiting half an hour we simply walked away. Unfortunately it seemed that those who spoke Danish got seating priority and we were left waiting if though we were there before them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good cakes, nice place yet rather expensive”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Service was very good, Prices are pretty high for what you get. Very good cakes.
Nice atmosphere the decor is very traditional and homy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conditori La Glace also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Conditori La Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing