We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutting edge modern Scandi cuisine at reasonable prices”
Review of Restaurant Cofoco

Restaurant Cofoco
Ranked #68 of 2,983 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £6 - £20
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Description: Our bright basement restaurant in the heart of Vesterbro is where it all began in 2004, and Restaurant Cofoco is still one of a kind in our palette of dining options. Both the food and the decor is full of contrasts; the rustic and the elegant, the simple and the complex. We start with great Danish ingredients and prepare them in the way they shine brightest; in Danish, sometimes Mediterranean, and at other times with inspiration from far corners of the globe. All dishes are served as small plates, allowing you to taste more and possibly share. We tie it all beautifully together with our love for the great meal and gastronomy you can understand.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

In a city where good eating is very expensive this place is a real find. We had the four course menu (the minimum really as all dishes are fairly small but the flavours are really intense). The mussel soup and the elderflower yoghurt dessert stand out in one's memory. Many of the ingredients were locally sourced or "hedgerow" and prepared with great attention to detail. There was beautiful home-made bread and interesting petits fours with the coffee (extra). Wine was a bit pricey but one would expect that really. Excellent value for the quality and as good as Michelin starred restaurants we have eaten in before. Go there!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 360 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Atmosphere was relaxed and cosy. Food was simple, good, fresh and light! The prices are good for what you get and the staff were very nice.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank FannyN966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Ala carto and course menu available but recommend course especially 5 dishes. All fine taste and well balanced with French style. Inside also really nice. Can be used for special day.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank tandm0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This place is so good that my son stopped being an atheist. "This mussel soup is soooo good, it has to have been created by a higher power". We turned up with no reservation but bags of charm, so they did give us a table. The table was long and separated by windows that made you want to knock on them and wave at the people next to you. We spent a good while staring at the menu, trying to decide what to do. The charming server explained everything to us and we decided to skip the set course menu and go rogue and a la carte. My son and I had the Muslingersuppe and the rest of the family had, erm, I've no idea, as they didn't have the mussel soup, so it really doesn't matter. After spending all day hearing about Danish pork, I decided that I should have some, so I went for the Svinebryst (Port Belly), which was exceptional, although the Rib-Eye (rib-eye) did look great too. My daughter declared it the best thing that she'd eaten - ever. We don't normally attack dessert, but plough on we did. My daughter had already ordered the Gammel Knas (Cheese and pear), so we lapped that up. For dessert my son wanted to order the mussel soup, but we managed to talk him down to the Elderflower ice-cream, which put all other desserts on the planet to shame. For drinks I kept sucking up the Rhubarb Cremant, which went with everything. My only complaint about the place is that the men's bathroom wasn't far enough down the candlelit corridor - I feel that they should move it further down, as it seems like a nice walk. May have to change my gender identity just to walk further next time.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We had a three course menu. Only one of the dishes served was interesting, the rest were bland (but not bad). The wine pairing consisted of mostly cheap wines so it was difficult to appreciate the combination of tastes. At the prices charged it was not worth it. When advertised as gourmet one should expect hard criticism.
On the bright side, the staff is very eager to help and always wears a smile! I might go again but I would try to find another option.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 329babist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Cofoco also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Cofoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.