We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Properly the best experience in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant AOC

Restaurant AOC
Ranked #112 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Properly the best experience in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

AOC is nothing short of an amazing experience. From the highly professional, yet friendly and fun service to the beautiful surroundings to the wine and food AOC did not miss a single beat.

We had the 10 courses dinner and added a shared cheese platter, and every new serving was an experience in itself. The Wine menu that came with the food was exquisite and enhanced the whole experience.

Personal favorites were the homemade cheese with different cabbages and the langoustine served on pine as well as the cauliflower appetizer. Add to that the Danish produced champagne and the "natural Bourgogne" and this was pure pleasure.

AOC may just be the best food one can have in Copenhagen

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MPejter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    48
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is an amazing restaurant. The food (modern Danish) is inventive and unlike anything I've ever eaten. The textures and flavours were incredible. We had the 7 course tasting menu, but before this started we had several amazing appetisers. The service is outstanding, the decor is subtle and sophisticated and the atmosphere just right. Surely it can't be long before Restaurant aoc gets a second Michelin star? It's certainly up there with the best restaurants I've ever eaten in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food and science, an unforgetable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Copenhagen Chic restaurant in the basement of an old palace. Asking our waiter if the restaurant has a theme, he replied, "sensory kitchen". In the 1950's some scientists thought the future of food would be in a pill. AOC gives us a glimpse of what that future is beginning to look like. The chef is pushing the limits, but we enjoyed our "sensory experience". Burned Bread as a starter was a surprise and probably the low point, but amazingly the taste buds appreciated the various flavors of smoke. The frozen shavings of halibut presented the fish in a way I've never tasted before, yet each bite was filled with flavor. I think this is how I would describe all 7 courses: each bite, filled with flavor. We ordered the wine pairing (I heartily recommend this, but do the half portion) - which beautifully completed each course. Our sommelier was a great source of info and enthusiasm. Each chosen wine was absolutely amazing with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent personnel, perfect service!
The food experiments are a success.
The sommelier very kind.
The wine is expensive.
The cheese plate was the only negative experience.

Helpful?
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“part of the Danish new wave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Noma has really got Copenhagen on to the international dining map, and there are many aspiring Nomas springing up. This is one.
I would give 4 1/2 stars if possible, as it's not quite there yet- opened recently and still finding its way. A true gastronomic experience with plenty of local ingredients- not all matching yet and perhaps a touch too much smoke (although I prefer the smoke to too much foam!) Wines perfectly matched.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant AOC also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant AOC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing