We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disrespectful service”
Review of Spicey Kitchen

Spicey Kitchen
Ranked #1,251 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Christianshavn
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“disrespectful service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Unfortunately, I couldn't try the food of this restaurant. But I can say a lot about the service, which I experimented badly. We had a table booked for 4 people at 6;30 pm, and we arrived 15 mins late. I know that it was our fault, but the two managers reacted in a totally disrespectful way, they were almost insulting us, telling us that they couldn't give us our table, but without giving us any explanation (they apparently had no other reservation for this table, it was just a matter of principle I guess). Anyway, this is not the way people should treat their clients or any human being!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great low price Indian Restaurant!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Went to this restaurant just out of the main city / shopping area but still in a busy part of town with an Ex-pat friend who has been going here for several years. Owner / staff all very friendly (afghanis I understand) and spoke good English. I went for a special of Lamb Vindaloo , cooked to perfection, very tasty and tender (didn't blow my head off), my friend had the Lamb with Spinach , which was also very well cooked as well. The restaurant is small and cosey and this creates a nice vibe. Draft and bottled beers / wines are available. For a special occasion, you might want to upgrade on the decor, but for a routine night out for a well cooked meal at a reasonable price, I'm not sure it can be beaten. Will revisit when back in CPH

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Warm food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I enjoyed a simple plate of dall here and I can promise you I'll be coming back to test the rest of the menu. By the looks of what was served at the surrounding tables, it will not disapoint. The atmosphere of the place is really unique. I can definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, low price”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Serving a full meal for around 100 Danish kroner in a good location seems impossible, but somehow they do it in this tiny restaurant in Christianshavn. OK, it isn't gourmet eating. The offerings are your garden variety Indian restaurant; but they include the rice and chappatis that often are a "side dish" at other places. Atmosphere is cozy and friendly, a necessity in such a tiny place. One of the servers gave us a better table when the opportunity arose. We also had a little chat with the proprietor, who made us feel right at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely service”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We visited with friends - and its small but they got 7 of us in, asking a couple who had just sat down if they'd be kind enough to move (which they were kind enough to do). It is informal and has a nice feel about it - we were made welcome and enjoyed our food. The samosas were deliciously spicy and chunky and the main courses a mixture of fairly standard curries, or in one or two cases above the norm. The prices were very good value - and particularly against Copenhagen's standards. Indeed this was the best price/value we had throughout our stay. Would recommend - we considered going back but decided to be more adventurous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mddicks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicey Kitchen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Spicey Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing