We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House of Souls

House of Souls
Ranked #687 of 2,310 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I went last night and what a wonderful place it is. Great service, excellent food and nice and cozy atmosphere. We will definitely be coming back. The jerk chicken was the best chicken I have ever had in a restaurant. Spicy, savory, moist, tender, and wonderfully accompanied by the mango salsa. I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Real Caribbean Food Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Starting from a warm welcome you really feel something special is in the air in this place. Sure, the place does not look like 5* fancy restaurant but there is the soul. This place is highly recommended for lovers of spiced food lovers but not only meaning hot hot. The restaurant cooks are able to do magic with whole array of Caribbean style spices. My seafood Jamblaya was the best ever. We did not have high hopes for the dessert but these guys can do delicious dessert as well. The combination of hot and cold, sweet and salt just amazes. Keep on the good work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Charming restaurant, not the best interiour or fancy details, but very tasty and well presented food. Service was discret but never fare away, smiling and really conserned of our well beeing. Recommended !

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtravelalotaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will come back to Copenhagen just to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were in Copenhagen for new years eveand decided on impulse to go here for our dinner. The menu was custom made for the evening and it was amazing! It had a pure taste of soul and caribbean. Great wines for the different courses as well, and had no expectations to that, but it was spot on. The service was splendid, but a clumsy at the end, probably because of the packed restaurant, but it was at no concerne. Everyone should go here when in Copenhagen.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grottegrevling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a table online for Sunday evening. When we arrived, we found out to be the only ones there.
Food was excellent (tuna, beef) and service was very friendly. We weren't rushed at any point, even though their must have thought about getting to go home once we leave.
I most certainly will go there again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Souls also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to House of Souls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing