We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiger prawn no good”
Review of Restaurant Viva

Restaurant Viva
Ranked #386 of 2,377 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$110 - US$530
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Christianshavn
Description: Good no-nonsense food in a beautiful and relaxed setting.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiger prawn no good”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We went to the Viva restaurant and ordered a shellfish plate. Unfortunatly, tiger prawn had an ammoniac taste which basically means they are no good.

When we told the waitress, she told us that it could happen sometime. She took back our plate and brought a new one. AGAIN in the same plate we faced the same THE ISSUE! Then we had to insist not to pay this item in our meal.

You can get sick for 2 days with such thing. I hope it is not going to happen to us.

Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make your special day more special”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Restaurant Viva is the unique dinning on an old ship docked in the harbor that is stylishly propped up to be a fabulous restaurant. This restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor sitting, which well-managed by the staff and both spaces serve fast and quality service by the staff. This place is an ideal place for romantic dinner as it offers personal as well as quality time to spend together. Viva is the place that offers romantic ambience for the couples and this place is brightened up with lights. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and I am glad by the service they provide us. I am obliged by their special treatment and grateful to them as they made our evening special and memorable. However, whatever the occasion or there is no occasion, visit this place and enjoy the delicious food and service at this amazing boat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High quality food, wine & staff, & a great view.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great dinner out for our group. Delicious food, a quality (& value) wine selection, "modern" sized portions, but we left satisfied and not over stuffed. The bread was so awesome one of us couldn't leave without the recipe (which they gave us).
Perfect attention from the waitress (the goldilocks treatment: not too much, not too little, just right).
Location has a view across the water to the city. It's on a boat, so some small rocking from side to side, but after a couple of minutes we didn't notice it any more.
I would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“On the water -and the prices make us seasick!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I were curious about this little restaurant that used to be a boat. We came in one evening and shared a few tasty dishes. The service was good though a little distracted even though we were the only guests at the time).

We had already discovered that prices were high in Copenhagen but were shocked to see our bill. Four glasses of aquavit (two each) cost more than the food. In retrospect, we should have asked the price before we ordered our drinks but we never expected to pay twice what other Copenhagen restaurants charged.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The restaurant had been recommended and it was everything we hoped it would be. Wonderful view on the upper deck of this floating restaurant with a wonderful fish special and great wine. A most enjoyable evening in a most enjoyable city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Viva also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing