We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Social buzz, loud and happening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Social buzz, loud and happening”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

True to the name, this hostel IS incredibly well-located. Right outside the door are all the main downtown attractions, not to mention metro stops (well-connected to airport), the long pedestrian street and TONS of cute cafes, bakeries and restaurants.

However, be aware that this is a very social, party hostel and WILL be loud on Friday and Saturday night (if not more). If you are looking for this, perfect! If you are a solo traveler wanting to meet others, this might be a good place to come -- there are free dinners every night (but you have to get there early to snag a seat) followed by a buzzing pub scene. There are big cushions out front and all sorts of tables and seating areas, so if you want to meet people, you can do it. The place is well decorated and has won all sorts of hostel prizes.

On the other hand, this is probably not the hostel to book if you want some tranquility or quiet. Even at midnight (on a Friday night, granted), we had to push our way through to reception and yell to be heard. Even up in the rooms you could hear the sound from below.

The large dorm rooms were nothing to write home about -- bunkbeds were creaky and there wasn't much floor-space for bags, but these are all things that I usually take with a grain of salt as a part of the hostel experience...

Overall I would recommend this hostel, but just brace yourself for some noise and embrace the socializing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheninr0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    478
    150
    72
    51
See reviews for
76
152
389
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Got lost getting there from the train station, when arrived, the atmosphere was great.
Rooms here ok, staff where friendly and the wifi connection was ok too.
Came there in the winter so it was pretty cold at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caramal_glo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Staying at a hostel with kids is always a gamble, this time we hit a jackpot. Clean room, safe atmosphere, über-helpful staff.
Though, one can probably take the most out of the stay when travelling alone/with adults as the bar and the lads in the reception area are the perfect place fo making new friends. Do recommend, will return :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I started out a month-long solo trip to Europe with this hostel, and none of my other hostels got better than this one! The way the staff has activities set up and dinners included in the price followed by a happy hour was absolutely ideal for meeting other travelers. Each night I met tons of new friends at dinner and then had such a great time at happy hour, it was even hard to leave the hostel for another bar! One night even a bunch of Copenhagen locals came to the bar (because that's how much fun their happy hours are). Even I wanted to meet other people and have fun things to do every day, this was without a doubt the best hostel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hostel for three nights in January in a 4 bed dorm. The room was small and we barely had enough space to put our luggage. There are only 3 toilettes for the entire floor and the showers were freezing-no heating there(?).However, the staff is really friendly and the hostel has its own bar which is nice and cozy. The location is great with a lot of bars and restaurants around. As Copenhagen is in general an extremely expensive city I guess this hostel is a good choice if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliz518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in a four bed private dorm for three nights, our room was a little small but very clean and certainly adequate for our requirements. The bunk beds were comfortable and there were plenty of plug sockets.

The hostel breakfast is excellent value for money, 65 DKK doesn't go far in Copenhagen so we didn't bother trying to find an alternative place to eat in the morning. On the one occasion that we did venture out before 9 o'clock there wasn't really much open anyway, I definitely recommend paying for the buffet.

The layout of the bar area makes for a great atmosphere, especially during happy hour. The weather was very warm during our stay so the staff opened all the large doors at the front of the building, this allowed everybody to enjoy the sunshine and kept the place nice and airy as well. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful, on arrival they let us know about the daily walking tours and apparently you can even rent an iPad for free.

The bathrooms were generally clean and the water pressure in the showers is very good, my only criticism is that there didn't seem to be quite enough for the number of rooms on each floor.

Aside from taking the train across to Sweden, the excellent location of the hostel meant that we didn't need to use public transport as everything is within comfortable walking distance. The central station is only five or ten minutes away on foot, with Tivoli between the two.

Overall I would definitely stay at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel again and thoroughly recommend it to anybody wishing experience what is a wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistairheeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is one of the best hostels that I have used throughout Europe. The location is excellent in downtown Copenhagen, with many things in walking distance. They offer free wi-fi, walking tours, free dinner nightly (limited seating), bike rental and more. The lounge/bar area is excellently set up and very conducive to meeting your fellow travelers should you wish to do so. The staff are all extremely friendly and a sheer pleasure to talk to and deal with. I would be happy to stay here again on my next visit to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Property: Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Address: Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen 1467, Denmark (Formerly Danhostel CopenHagen Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Copenhagen Downtown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the international city atmosphere at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel. Come join us at our social and vital hostel, we offer shared dinner that you can buy at the reception, free Yoga classes and a welcoming environment to meet people from all over the world! Copenhagen Downtown is only a 10 minute walk from Central Station, the Tivoli Gardens and the city center. A cozy atmosphere, living art and a vibrant cultural life make Copenhagen Downtown unique. It is a hotspot for different nationalities, expressions and life stories where performing artists as well as Copenhageners and visitors from all over the world come together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danhostel Copenhagen Downtown Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing