We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for young travelers”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had a layover on the way to the US in Copenhagen, and decided to stay at a hostel overnight. This place was great and centrally located. I chose to stay in a bunk-bed situation with a shared bathroom. Definitely very clean, cleaner than any dorms I have ever been in my life. Spring for the breakfast, you won't leave disappointed. If you don't mind noise from the neighboring bars at night or you're a deep sleeper, you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazoom1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    478
    149
    72
    51
See reviews for
76
151
389
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

CPH Downtown has so many good qualities - great location, friendly staff, fun atmosphere, safe & clean. The bike hire was a bonus & their bar/reception/chill out area is a great way to spend a lazy few hours. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess070714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Location was wonderful, walking distance to everything and close to metro and things to do. Clean and comfortable. However, we booked two nights and they made us change rooms after the first night- so we had to check out the room by 10, go downstairs and leave our luggage in storage and then check back in after 2. Very annoying. Especially as our first room was much nicer than he second one. Wifi was fine in the first room but nonexistent in the second. 1st room looked out on to the street and was just noisy with people but the second room had just a view of a wall and very very noisy trash area. They gave us free breakfast for the trouble but would rather have not had to move and repack and unpack.

Room Tip: Overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hostel is a great choice for young travelers who are looking to meet new people while travelling. The staff are warm and friendly. The bar downstairs is quite nice too. Free dinner every evening lets you mingle and socialize with other guests at the hostel. I had a great time here, the location was great and just round the corner was the shopping area. One of the best experiences I have ever had travelling.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Steps away from Town Hall Square (Copenhagen's center)? Check. Awesome bar with cheap drinks? Check. Affordable, yet clean and tidy accommodation? Check.

This place is the real deal when it comes to hostels in Copenhagen. Not only are all the fellow travellers friendly, but the rooms are well-lit and clean and the downstairs area has a very cool and hip vibe. The hostel is in a fantastic location that opens up into a small plaza area with a fountain where you will find hostel residents hanging out until the early hours of the morning.

To top it off, the staff are amazing and willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have a great stay and experience. (Shout out to Emma - who's awesome!)

Bottom line: this is the best hostel experience in Copenhagen and is very affordable for what is known as a very expensive city. I will definitely be back the next time I visit CPH.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay and know people form around the world.
Staff funny and an perfect hostel atmosphere.
Clean rooms and perfect localization in the center of Copenhagen.
Nice relation quality/price.
I'll return certainly

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PCtrip21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The lure of the free food is an amazing draw to travelers like me. With Copenhagen being an amazing place but overpriced when it comes to food. Chances are you'll miss out on the free dinner to large groups of working adults and us younger,poor travellers will go hungry (as alternatively you'll be paying upwards of €8 on pizza. Out of any of our budgets. Contrasing to the older people )

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Property: Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Address: Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen 1467, Denmark (Formerly Danhostel CopenHagen Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Copenhagen Downtown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the international city atmosphere at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel. Come join us at our social and vital hostel, we offer shared dinner that you can buy at the reception, free Yoga classes and a welcoming environment to meet people from all over the world! Copenhagen Downtown is only a 10 minute walk from Central Station, the Tivoli Gardens and the city center. A cozy atmosphere, living art and a vibrant cultural life make Copenhagen Downtown unique. It is a hotspot for different nationalities, expressions and life stories where performing artists as well as Copenhageners and visitors from all over the world come together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danhostel Copenhagen Downtown Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing