We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Helsingoer B&B and Inns
Perth australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stopped for lunch after visiting the castle and found friendly staff giving good service and good food. They were happy to recommend a very good beer. Not a gourmet experience but certainly worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micheal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    43
    29
    19
    7
See reviews for
11
53
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Restaurant offers very good local based dishes, the service is excellent and the outdoor balcony are is lovely with a very nice atmosphere . A must visit for this Town. I have be to several local this is the best by a long way. In addition the wine list is also a good complement to the menu.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Madam Sprunck is centrally located near the harbour and railway station in Helsingør. Nightlife is right outside. The hotel part is average, but the rooms are clean and ok. Breakfast was ok, slightly below medium compared to Danish standards. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. Excellent food and nice service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Nice and central for the old town, Kronborg Castle, ferries to Sweden and railway station.

Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Breakfast and evening meal we had in restaurant were good and plentiful. Our room (on second floor) was plenty big enough with a small shower room. Perfectly adequate though. Nice comfortable beds with mattress toppers.

Hairdryers are available on request from reception. In line with many other Danish hotels, there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which is the only complaint we could possibly have. Reception only open for a short period during the day so if you want someone to fawn over you every time you pass, you might miss that facility. Bar staff were perfectly happy to help out when reception was closed though.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter if you sleep with windows open. the lift is tucked away in a corner - f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realfoodfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

After visiting the castle, we stopped here to eat lunch. We walked in to the bar and, after several staff walked right past us without even looking at us, we asked at the bar if we could sit anywhere, to which the bartender said yes. We sat at a table and again, several staff members passed us by without looking at us. We got up and helped ourselves to menus from the bar, then sat back down. Two groups then sat at the tables on either side of us. They were immediately approached by staff, given menus and silverware. We tried to stop the staff members as they passed our table but were ignored. After about 15 minutes of this, we just left. Saying the service was horrible would be a compliment. We went to the train station and ended up eating somewhere else, but I'm sure there has to be someplace better than this in Helsingor!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helsingoer hotels

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Madam Sprunck is essentially a bed & breakfast. It uses a self-check-in system but as staff were around they helped with the booking-in process. We were given room 102 on the first floor overlooking Bramstræde. This was a pleasant enough room, furnished adequately for a B&B. It's a small room but the bed & bedding were fine, there was adequate storage & it was clean & tidy. The bathroom is a wet room with a shower, loo & basin. It's functional but small so everything gets wet when showering. Also, because the bathroom is directly opposite the windows which don't have any blinds or net curtains, it's entirely possible for the residents in the opposite apartments to see your bathroom activities. We resorted to keeping the curtains closed while showering & getting changed which is not ideal. The room has no air conditioning which meant we were using the windows for ventilation which is fine as long as you can put up with the noise. While we were there, the street noise from bars & clubs didn't subside until 04:00 which didn't make for a good night's sleep. Friends who were in other rooms at the back of the building had no such disturbance. So, the basic rule is get a room high up & preferably at the back if you want to get an uninterrupted night's sleep. The included breakfast was fine & was of continental variety plus cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages & juice. All perfectly edible but the service area was a little cramped. The only other gripe was that the next booking in that room must have required a third bed so a folded-up camp bed had appeared in the room when we returned from our evening out. I really don't think this is acceptable. At least wait until the previous occupants have checked out before moving beds around!! Overall a good place to stay for two or three nights as the location & staff are fine but be prudent about which room you stay in if you don't want to be overlooked or have your sleep disturbed.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capesthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The rooms a small, but nice. The beads are soft (too soft for my test). Rooms towards the yard are quieter. We had a room facing the street and did not sleep at all - when the loud music and drunk people stopped making noise the cleaning machines started :( . There is no fan or aircon (some days in Denmark can actually be quite warm) and we were therefore forced to have a window open. Its not a cheap hotel, but location in the old part of town is nice and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the yard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Densus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helsingoer
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Skandia
Hotel Skandia
#3 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Konventum
Konventum
#2 of 4 in Helsingoer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sleep2Night
Hotel Sleep2Night
#4 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Brinkly
Hotel Villa Brinkly
#2 of 2 in Snekkersten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bramstraede 5, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Hamlet Helsingor)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Helsingoer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Helsingoer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Helsingør’s city centre, Hotel & Restaurant Madam Sprunck is 15 minutes’ walk from Kronoberg Castle. It offers a French-inspired restaurant and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Each room has a writing desk and cable TV. Less than 5 minutes’ walk away is Helsingør Train Station and the ferry terminals, providing easy access to both Copenhagen and Sweden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant Denmark/Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing