We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to current standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Hotel is at an ideal location for sea views and very close to the beach. It is literally on the beach. This would probably be just the place to be in the summer.

However, the hotel itself is getting old, and the floors outside the rooms are squeaking and noisy. The room key is a key card, but it had to be recoded twice during the one night stay. The bathroom has a small sink and an even smaller shelf, with no place to put your stuff. The toilet trash bin was not emptied by housekeeping and contained an unpleasant surprise. The 'king' size bed is actually two single beds, next to each other. The television is old and small, with a minimum of channels. There is WiFi, and it is free, although the information book in the room says it is not. All the lamps in the room were taken out of the sockets on arrival, there is probably a logical reason for this but when you arrive when it is dark outside this is not the kind of thing you want to bother with.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was good. Breakfast was well laid out with lots of choice. Lunch was equally well laid out in buffet style.

There is an exercise room and a pool, which we did not have time to try.

Parking is free.

Considering that this is supposed to be 4-star, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAD_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times and for us it is a great location,o the local train stops right at the doorstep when you want to explore the North Zealand coastline up to Hornbaek. There are lots of parking for your car and overall great facilites. However, as most hotels in Scandinavia it lacks that little something. Everything works, but it lacks that extra personal touch that Danes are perfectly capable of delivering but nowadays choose not to.

The rooms are good, spacious but looks to much like it is designed as a local home. A nice home, but a home nonetheless. Food is good with a local flair but again lacks a bit of heart and soul.

It is in a walking distance from downtown and Kronborg Castle and just down from the local forrest, so all in all a fabulous vacation and great base for you to explore North Zealand and the wonderful city of Elsinore. We usually stay here whenever we visit family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed in this hotel during my business trip for 3 nights.
It meets you with bright and typical 4 stars look at reception and in lounge area.

The rooms however are disappointment, and can hardly be rated as a Spanish 3 star:
there is a TV from Bang & Olufsen, and wooden surfaces, but it does not look on place with poor lighting in dark and worn-out room. Bathroom has better light, but equipment is far from working very well. Water pressure seems too low, and/or armature requires service.
Beds also look like they have not been changed since 1999 when the hotel was built.

Food, strangely enough differs a lot when served in a buffet-dinner or as pre-ordered banquet.
Anyways I would not mark it as excellent. Good describes it better.
Breakfast is good and typical for a good 3, or average 4 stars hotel (based on variety of offered food).
Surprisingly, most of the waiters in the restaurant are pensioners. For me it looked a bit strange, but maybe it’s a feature.

Meeting rooms have good service, and equipment works fine, however all meeting rooms on the second flow have terrible smell of chlorine (probably from swimming hall).

Resume: all in all fine and typically overpriced Danish hotel. Good location and nice views.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have visited this hotel annually since 2004. The hotel has a very good location if you want to explore the north Zealand region. Beaches, museums, castles, picturesque villages and amusement parks are all within a short driving distance just as Copenhagen with its large range of activities, shopping and dining. The hotel itself might look like a complex, but offers nice and convenient rooms, a new-renovated lounge area, good dining possibilities, old halls for breakfast and relaxation and a nice pool area with views over the sea. The pool has been very popular with our children and it’s a nice place to spend some time in if the weather does not allow sunbathing on the beaches. We usually try to reserve a room with sea-view. They cost a little more, but it’s nice to be able to sit at the balcony and watch the sunset over the sound. The sea is just a couple of meters away and at night you can fall asleep to the sound of waves that meets the beach.
To sum up, Marienlyst hotel is convenient and has a very good location. It gives reasonable value for money. At the same time it may be worth noting that we feel that the standard and the service gradually have become impaired during the years we have visited the hotel. Some of the rooms are beginning to look worn out and the pool-area could absolutely be improved by some refurbishment. Another example is that the kit with real soap and toiletries has been replaced by soap in a dispenser on the wall.
I still rate the hotel as very good, but they have to keep up with standard and service to avoid losing in ratings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea-wiew on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JL0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in a standard double room for two nights. On the positive side, the hotel's location is outstanding, right on the sea with a view of Helsingor (Elsinore) Castle, home of Hamlet. The full breakfast was excellent.

The furnishings in our sleeping room were tired. They room layout made no sense. There wasn't even a chest of drawers or shelves for folded clothes. Our room had no windows, only a double French door that opened on to a tiny balcony. In our case the balcony was close to a fire escape ladder that someone could have climbed to get into our room. So, if you had security concerns or wanted privacy you couldn't get any fresh air.

The hotel says that every room has either a sea view or a garden view. Our "garden view" was a view over the tar roof above the hotel's porte cochere and the parking lot. There was a small pond further away. I guess that is the garden. If you stay at the Marienlyst I strongly recommend getting a room with a sea view.

The laundry service is not available on weekends. I wish their website mentioned that!Front desk staff were moderately welcoming but not knowledgeable about area sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel from Friday to Sunday - a Minibreak as it is called.
The Minibreak included 2 x breakfast and 2 x dinner (we had a 3-course and a 5-course)
The food can only be decriebed in one way - excellent..
The overall service at this hotel is 5 star.
Maybe the bathroom looked a little tired.....and?? The room was bright, large and clean and the beds very comfy with an outstanding wiev to Sweden.
The pool is very nice and children-friendly.
We'll do this over again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstryhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

In the narrowest part of the Sound, connecting the north and the baltic seas, Helsingor is first of all famous for it's castle (Kronborg) supposed to have been the place where Hamlet was living. Just a mile away from the castle, Marienlyst is a great resort for leisure, but also for business with a large conference center and.. a casino. The view on the Sound and the swedish coast at 4 kilometers distance is very nice. To be recommended !

Room Tip: Indeed, rooms on the seaside have great view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helsingoer
0.8 mi away
Konventum
Konventum
#2 of 4 in Helsingoer
129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
317 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skandia
Hotel Skandia
#4 of 4 in Helsingoer
79 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gilleleje Badehotel
Gilleleje Badehotel
#1 of 3 in Gilleleje
122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sleep2Night
Hotel Sleep2Night
#3 of 4 in Helsingoer
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Marienlyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Marienlyst

Address: Ndr. Strandvej 2, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Helsingoer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
Price Range: £118 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Marienlyst 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Hotel Marienlyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienlyst Hotel Helsingør
Beach Hotel Marienlyst Denmark/Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing