We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a sea view room for our stay and enjoyed the view. We had an easy walk to the city along the sea front. The hotel has all the comforts expected of a hotel of this type staff were helpful and restaurant food was good. Plenty of parking if driving.

Room Tip: Sea views are great if you can get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Beach Hotel Marienlyst
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Checked in on 6th Dec, because the bad flood, they changed our ocean view room to a normal room which face to the land, which we totally understand.
I left my bra in the room, and I called them right after we check out. Their answer was " I am so busy right now, pls call me back a week after." ( such a good manner)
After a week, I called them again, they said they found it and would mail me back.
I live in another city of Denmark. but after a month, I didn't receive anything back.
I called them today again, a female staff said " I don't know who you spoke to last time, but I didn't see your bra here, maybe they already sent it, or maybe the post is lost."
Can you believe people can say this to you? ( so rude)
And they even didn't return the extra money back to us since they changed our room.
They were so nice when we stayed there, but once you left, they really don't care about you at all.
I am so disappointed about their service. Even the hostel is better then this hotel.
I really hope their management could think about how to deal with their bossy, rude and impolite staffs. They need another training.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Saw decent reviews on tripadvisor and expedia and decided to book this place. It has decent price compared to the pricey accomodations in scandanavia; however this is not a 4* place. It is at most 3*. Lobby and pool looks nice, but rooms looks dated and facilities old, wireless is constantly dropping and not reliable. It is close to the city center though and just 5mins away if you have a rental car, also close to the scandlines to cross into Sweden. Beach looks nice althought we couldnt take much advantage of it since we visited in nov, a winter season.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BoxsterLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Me and my whife has been many times on this hotel. Old hotel with history, 20 meter from the Sea,
and a fantastic look to Sweden. Remember to book a room with seaview. You will also have a look
to the castle, Kronborg, just 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Helsingør is a beautiful Old Town.
Hotel Marienlyst has a very good restaurant, bar and casino. Good service.
Kirsten and Peter Soerensen, Denmark. Oktober 24. 2013.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview on 2' floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junior25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Room was clean but a bit shabby with quite dated decor.
The food on the Summer deal was of good quality but there was no choice and Veal was the main course option which may not suit the majority of visitors . Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and very interesting DIY tea bags .
The sea view was lovely but balcony needed some attention .
Overall a good stay though

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Location Excellent,rooms not good specially mattress and please see that you get a beach facing Room corridor of the hotel is like a old ship wrack another big problem is hotel is not having black out curtain so the light enter the room please see that the curtains are proper when you check in or else you will have to wake up really early.

Room Tip: Main Issue is in short is bad mattress bad pillow and old Curtains without black so light comes in t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustufa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is only about a mile from the center of town and is right on the water. You can't beat the view of a full moon over the castle in the evening. There is an indoor pool (very warm water) with glass roof, a casino which I'm told is busy on weekends and an attractive restaurant overlooking the water. The large breakfast room has a great selection of eggs, sausage, bacon, cold meats and cheeses, fruits and breads.
Our room, at the end of the hall, was a very long way from the elevator but was very large. It had 2 single beds, a chair, a desk and wardrobe. All these were mismatched, old and tired. The carpet was stained. There was a small balconey with 2 stained plastic chairs. The bathroom was average with a blow dryer and liquid soap dispensers and moldy tiles in the shower.
The staff is great; very helpful. When we said we had found a room rate online cheaper than the one we were told at check-in they gave us the better rate our second night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helsingoer
0.8 mi away
Konventum
Konventum
#2 of 4 in Helsingoer
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
308 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skandia
Hotel Skandia
#3 of 4 in Helsingoer
79 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gilleleje Badehotel
Gilleleje Badehotel
#1 of 3 in Gilleleje
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sleep2Night
Hotel Sleep2Night
#4 of 4 in Helsingoer
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Marienlyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Marienlyst

Address: Ndr. Strandvej 2, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Helsingoer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helsingoer
Price Range: £130 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Marienlyst 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Hotel Marienlyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienlyst Hotel Helsingør
Beach Hotel Marienlyst Denmark/Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing