We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a leisure holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent a week at Acapulco Resort in mid-March.

The staff was professional and polite, and we got along with English very well. We stayed at one of the deluxe bungalows, which we found spacious, clean and confortable with a big bathroom.

As we were there during winter season, most hotel services were not in use. But we had a good time playing video games and shooting pool during the evenings :) The only minus was that the outdoors pol area was under construction and out of use, which we didn't know in advance, and actually chose the hotel partly because of the good pool.

The breakfasts and dinners included in our half-board were amazing. The buffets had plenty to choose from, and we overate :)

I fully recommend the hotel, but if I were to come back, it'd be when all the services are in use.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KatjaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. It was very interesting to read and to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Acapulco. We are not able to open the pool outside during the low season until the weather improves and we also have to do any maintenance at this time of year. We have yesterday opened the outdoor pool for swimming and
hopefully next week the beach bar may be able to open as the weather has improved greatly.
I hope that you will visit us in the high season when all our facilities are open as I am sure you will enjoy the hotel in high season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay here in the Pine Court - fab room with great views of the mountains and sea.The food was good and well presented and varied.We felt our rep was not as informative as he could have been - although very nice . If you go to Nicosia do take your passport if you want to visit the south side - which is literally 20 paces across the border. The beaches were in need of some serious cleaning. We had an early flight home and were told breakfast would be available upon going to reception we were advised that we should have ordered it!! Apart from the moans we had a relaxing time with great weather

Room Tip: 2656 was on the 6th Floor - very quite and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that your room and the food were to your liking. I am disappointed to hear that there was confusion over the breakfast on departure and I will see what the problem was as usually if we have many early morning check outs the restaurant is open and if not a pack up breakfast can be obtained from the lobby bar.
The beach is cleaned every morning in high season but in winter it is not as often as the tides are very different and most beaches in North Cyprus suffer at this time of year. I will though discuss this with our beach manager and see if anything can be done on a more regular basis in the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were in Cyprus for one of my best friend's wedding. All of her family and friends were at this Hotel. The Food is good. The Hotel is large. The sea is very nice. The casino is entertaining :)
We stayed at villas but they were very very old. İf you go this Hotel you should stay at the New building.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank AysenurErdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

It is nice to hear that you attended a wedding at the Acapulco and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the Villa will be taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in this resort 1 week all-inclusive with my partner and enjoyed this holiday a lot. We felt like 7 nights were not enough. Accommodation was very good, quiet nights, proper beds, everything like in 5* hotel.Food also very good. Variety of healthy fresh food, hardly any fish, but always wide choice from which to choose. Animation program excellent with many exercise lessons including joga for beginners, aqua aerobic, aerobic. There is also small gym. Provided beauty services like massage, turkish bath are at hight price. There is not much outside this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Veroniqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

It was such a pleasure to read your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Acapulco. The animation team tried may new activities this year and as you say this added to the enjoyment of your holiday. We hope that we will see you again at the Acapulco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is quite large. Nice beach that could be cleaner. Rooms were cleaned every day, though their condition (we lived in bungalows) was not worth five stars. Internet free for 10 minutes a day. Strange hotel policy on bringing water or other drinks into rooms was difficult to bring on as we were with kids. Overall we had nice stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, kids used hotels covered pool a lot. Restaurant staff made me smile being unable to decide if they have sweet white wine, but compensated that with helping a lot with my active 2 year boy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. The tide in the winter season means that the sea covers most of the beach at certain times, for this reason it is not as easy to control as in the summer time when the beach extends further out to sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Everything in this hotel makes you happy
The hotel has a very large garden.
The hotel pool is very big and water is clean ,You can also use a slide
Rooms in the new building is much better than the old building.So keep this in mind when booking this article
The variety of food in this hotel is not good But food quality is good
The hotel is 15 minutes from the city by bus

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building is much better than the old building.So keep this in mind when booking thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AliBasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We are always looking at ways to improve our service and so your comments are appreciated. We hope to see you back at the Acapulco some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you book this hotel you should be aware of some restrictions:
- there is no direct way to North Cyprus (since it was occupied by Turkey in the 70s which has not been accepted by the EU). This means you have got to go there via Turkey (Istanbul or Antalya) or Cyprus (Larnaca).
- the hotel is quite isolated. The next city (Girne/Kyreneia) is about 8 km away from here (However, there are shuttles going to Girne every hour from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.). You cannot do a walk outside as the hotel is surrounded by military areas.
- the bungalows are quite narrow and dark. There is no terrace and they do not have a look at the sea.
- in the off-season (midst of October) many services are cancelled, i.e. there is no childcare and no evening events in the amphi theatre anymore.
- usually you only get half-board here. However, you can upgrade to half board plus for 15 Euro/p.P. per day. That means you have got launch and all drinks at breakfast, launch and dinner. But if you decide to upgrade you have got to keep it for the rest of your stay.
- though you have got a quite safe bay here it can be that it will be perhibited to swim (In October 13 four days of our one week stay we could not swim in the sea).

Lot of negative points. So why should you book this hotel:
- First of all, it is located very beautiful: mountain chains behind and a 500 m sandy beach in front.
- the buildings are older but in a good condition
- the service is very good - especially at the reception and the restaurant
- there is a great variety on food
- the beach is long, sandy and clean with enough sun beds - though there are many Germans ,-)
- best of all: there is a big pool and three slides, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and much more. However there is almost no animation.
- you can get to the next city (Girne/Kyreneia) quite easy since there is a shuttle going from the hotel almost every hour (until 7 p.m.). There you will find a great harbour, an old Venetian castle, pubs, bars etc.
- If you want to discover Northern Cyprus this no problem because near to the main bus station you will find dolmus stations going to the island's capital Levkosa/Nikosia - the last parted city in Europe (Do not forget your documents to get into the Greece part). And - even more interesting dolmuses to Magosa/Famagusta - a city enclosed by big Venetian walls with ruins of lot of churches and monasteries. Nearby you will find the ruins of ancient Salamis.
- If you would make trips on your own you could visit the castle of St. Hilarion or the abbey of Bellapais which are both near to Girne. Or you could decide to discover the non touristic part of North Cyprus - the Karpaz peninsula with its medieval castles (Buffavento, Kantara), churches (St. Andreas) or the (almost) lonely beaches (Golden Beach). Hiring a car costs about 30 Euro per day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Stollentroll23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozerozbilen, Director of Sales at Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your interesting review, your comments are of help to us to us. We did experience a few nights of bad weather whilst you were here which unfortunately does affect the sea conditions. It would be nice if you could come back in the high season when there are many outside activities centered around the ampitheatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 31 in Kyrenia
480 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
1,178 reviews
6 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#8 of 31 in Kyrenia
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Jasmine Court Hotel & Casino
10.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
12.2 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA

Address: Catalkoy Kyrenia Mersin 10, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: £54 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 789
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Resort And Convention & Spa
Acapulco Resort & Convention & Spa Hotel Catalkoy
Acapulco Hotel Convention
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing