We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we booked this so called 5 star hotel as a complete package with a company called mecury direct
they did their part very well organising the flights and transfers all on time and no hassle.we met their rep in the hotel the 1st day and went through the sales pitch of available tours and car hire
as we had already arranged our own car hire we had no interest. we used a company called pacific rent a car who duly delivered a car to the hotel on time with half a tank of fuel £20 which
was about right and when i extended the initial 3 days to 5 the rate was exactly the same £11 per day great value and service (highly reccomended).
the hotel is a hotel with a large casino attached sits up on a hillside overlooking the sea
it has a large outdoor pool and a gym/pool/turkish bath/sauna and steam room all included
the beach (not visited) is a good half mile downhill. it is a long way back up the hill if you are not young and fit.
the rooms are large with a good firm bed and usual facilities. we were on a full board basis the food is not in any way 5star i would rate it at 3 star tops breakfast and dinner buffet are large plenty of choice but of dubious quality the only exception was the salad which was excellent
all drinks except( tea and coffee at breakfast only) are extra. lunch is a choice of two dishes and three courses in an empty restaurant. if only they cooked turkish grilled meats etc it would be so much better!!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevej007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I don't mean the temperature! We e mailed the hotel ahead of our stay and got no reply (that's usual for them). Staff at check in were miserable, if they are not interested in doing their job there are many people who would jump at it! No meal times or any other information given. We booked a twin room and were given a double but it was a nice room, pool, sea and mountain view. The room has been refurbished but no work has been done in the bathroom. Plenty of toiletries, a hair dryer from Noah's Ark days, clean towels, dirty shower screen. Evening meal..... we were disappointed this time, a boring selection of food was on offer. Plenty of salad (leaves, carrots, dips etc). Main meal, only warm, not nice cuts of meat, fatty, salty and greasy. Close your eyes and choose a dessert, they look good and colourful but all taste the same! You can have, chocolate and coconut, coconut and sponge, sponge and chocolate. You can have a dish of custard looking stuff, topped with coconut, chocolate or even sponge! the staff in the dining room are more polite. Breakfast was very nice, a good selection of every thing and the tables were cleared quickly. It was lovely sat out on the terrace after with a cuppa. The hotel charges 10TL a day for internet even in the reception area, do they not realise this is the 21st century! (go to town, it's free in a lot of the cafes). This hotel is one of the ..... pay your money, have your stay and off you go. Ten minutes before we left some body knocked on the door and asked if we had used the mini bar, we said no. On check out we were asked, did you use the mini bar? we said no, we were told wait a minute and i will ring the cleaner to check. Did they think we were running off with a short bread finger and a bottle of water??

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCat44, Guest Relations Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are very sorry and disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your latest stay with us. All guests should receive a Welcome Letter which includes details about our facilities, shuttle bus times and our restaurant opening times. We apologise that you did not receive such a letter. (Someone from Guest Relations is available daily to help with any questions/queries etc...)

There are two complimentary computers in the Lobby area for the sole use of our guests. These computers are, of course, connected to the Internet and are FREE OF CHARGE! Perhaps because we had moved them to another area, you mistakenly thought they had vanished!

We do hope that your experiences will not put you off visiting our hotel again, as you are valued guests of ours, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location and is beautiful inside. The food however lets it down and in this sense, it is not 5 star quality.
One breakfast time the supposedly soft boiled eggs where completely raw! When making complaints about this and the rest of food being almost always luke warm, we were told we should ask the chef to warm it up.
Would not go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsLindaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCat44, Guest Relations Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are pleased to read that you thought our hotel’s location was lovely and that it was beautiful inside. We are very sorry to read, however, that were not happy with our food. We sincerely apologise for the soft-boiled eggs being under-cooked and that you found our food not hot enough for your liking. As you state in your review, we do offer our guests the chance of increasing the food temperature as we realize that our English guests prefer piping-hot food (whilst our Mediterranean guests are more used to a warm/hot food temperature).

We would like to emphasize that GUEST RELATIONS endeavour to make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible, and are available to ensure that our guests are completely happy during their stay. An English-speaking member of the Guest Relations team is always on hand to help, for example, with arranging special dietary-menus if required, providing local information, contacting reps or dealing with any queries you may have during your stay. Our aim is to ensure that your stay with us lives up to your expectations at all times.

We hope that your experience has not put you off visiting North Cyprus again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel excellent staff friendly, towels changed everyday. Could not fault accommodation. Food fairly good, but repetive but plenty of choice. Courtesy bus 11am to girne(kyrenia) from main road good bus service to famagusta. Very hilly and quite a steep hill to main road plus 30 mins plus into main town. One really needs a car for this hotel and not for anyone with walking disabilities or very elderly. No evening entertainment apart from casino. Cheap to eat out , but very primitive and did not find so pretty compared to other places visited. Would not return to area but no faults with hotel or facilities

Room Tip: Bedrooms overlooking mountains at front of hotel more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had three lovely weeks at the Hotel from 22nd January to 12th February 2014. Staff are helpful,friendly and very polite and everyone feels very comfortable.Our room was also comfortable and kept very clean. There is a good choice of food in a buffet style. Some food can be less than hot as the food is kept at an appropriate temperature but they are happy to heat up any food for you if you prefer. After 3 weeks I must admit that some of the dishes were less than exciting but nevertheless there was always something we could enjoy. The position of the Hotel was great for us as we hired a car and we could get anywhere we wanted but it is about 5 miles from the harbour and town. There is a daily shuttle bus into town and taxis are not expensive. There is a lovely indoor pool for the winter but it is a bit too cold for this time of year.There is a small gym, hairdresser, and you can enjoy the steam room,sauna and Turkish baths.All very nice. There is some building work at the moment as they add some rooms in the annex and a few onto the main Hotel. However, none of it caused any noise or problems for us. We would certainly go back again.We have briefly visited in the summer as well and there is a lovely outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and a balcony but if you do not have a sea view you will have a lovely mountain vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This account is based on a true stay at this establishment over a period of 10 nights
Food was boring monotonous and no effort made to serve hot food ever. All lukewarm and dangerous to health. As Dr's it raised many eyebrows to health and safety.
Management were at best as good as a chocolate teapot nobody wanting to take any responsibility and no compassion shown whatsoever when things went missing either!
The casino may be 5 star but the room had no tea making facilities even and the fridge wasn't even cool for the drinks!
We have stayed in all hotels on business and this hotel is best classified as 3 star.
Would also like to state miles away from anything or any basic shops even. Out on a limb really with limited facilities they offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Starlight224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Malpas Hotel for our honey moon.
We loved the room, pools, casino, especially restaurant and the food was great.
All hotel people are kind and willing to help you.
The only disadvantage is the hotel is a bit far away from sea, but they have frequent shuttles to the shore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehmet Emin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
5 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#7 of 31 in Kyrenia
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
276 reviews
5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 31 in Kyrenia
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jasmine Court Hotel & Casino
9.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 31 in Kyrenia
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing