We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Malpas for a lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for a week, the staff were lovely, extremely helpful and had a sense of humour, our room was spotless and very well equipped. The food was really good, a huge variety to suit all tastes, fresh and appealing, the wine in the restaurant was inexpensive and good. At some point we were asked if we had any complaints, and I asked if the music being played at the poolside could be changed as it was awful and far too loud, (most of the other guests agreed) and within minutes a gentle Turkish music had replaced it, first class service in helping us to relax and enjoy the sun by the pool. The Malpas do need to make sure that they let guests know when it is a 'women only' session in the Turkish bath, we nearly had an embarrassing moment !!You do need to hire a car to get the best from your week here, we took off and visited both West and East as far as the panhandle and Famagusta, the roads are now excellent and hardly any traffic. I would not hesitate to recommend the Malpas and we had a wonderful week.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the building which faced both the mountains and the sea, that is the per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was my first time to this hotel and I'll defiantly go back.
It was always kept spotless and very well maintained. It is a nice modern hotel with a lot of seating area inside and outside. The beach wasn't very good, just concrete and decking. Highly recommend hiring a car if you stay malpas it's about 15 mins drive away from kyrenia, there's no where just outside the hotel were you can walked to. The food is superb!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orient1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have a bungalow 10 mins from the hotel and thought I'd book myself and the wife in for 2 nights of 5 star luxury.
On arrival we checked in and a porter took our case,lovely we thought let the pampering begin as we were led to a mini bus and driven away from the main building to a still under construction block full of scaffold and workman. We were shown to our room and the porter left,sadly the smell in the room didn't a heady mixture of damp,cleaning produces and paint.I opened the patio window onto the balcony to find an unkept garden and what looked like a redundant water feature. We trudged back to reception to complain only to be told that the hotel was full sorry,after further discussions we were offered a bungalow,put back in the minibus and driven passed the first rooms location to a row of bungalows ( with an upstairs go figure that one ). We then return to reception and told the manager we wanted to be in the main hotel with our friends who also booked a 2 night stay, no no no we are full you can't stay in the main hotel, ok I say that's fine can we book out the get a refund please manager walks out the back then walks back and says ok give them the room next to their friends.
The room: nice size room descent bathroom water hot and shower powerful, TV had 1 English Channel but like ever other channel it was like watching a blizzard, a general problem as our friends set was the same, no air conditioning working in the room apparently it's to early in the season as the Turkish guests find it a bit chilly still, it was suggested that we left the balcony door open all night to cool the room.
Staff: Friendly and helpful except management and the dolled up ones on reception ( Sheila was lovely ).
Bar/Food: Bar had ever spirit under the sun however only 3 bottles of Carlsberg that wasn't being restocked until next week. Order 2 meals in the bar and waited 45 mins for what turned out to be below average burgers despite the mouthwatering description on the menu. The restaurant was spacious and the staff attentive The food was buffet style and plentiful but bland and not international.
Pool: Clean plenty of beds,brollies and towels staff again excellent.
Spa: Best bit of the stay nice. Indoor pool area steam,sauna and haman all free to guests, treatments reasonably priced don't get sucked into buying produces after.
Checkout: We checked out smoothly however our friends where held for over an hour trying to get their passport back which was being kept until they cleared their bill as the hotel insisted they hadn't payed dispute being given the voucher and receipt provided by Travel Republic whom we'd both booked through via Trip Advisor several international phone calls at our cost and the situation was resolved admin problem apparently no apology from the hotel.
In summary the hotel is 3 star at best and looking tired staff great, management surly and food disappointing don't be fooled by the glitzy website there are better on the island and cheaper lower starred hotels that beat the Malpas.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank bully66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

my wife and I have just returned from a week at the Malpas and it was wonderful . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the food especially the desserts were amazing. We rented a car for very little cost and toured the area. The cost of the holiday could not be faulted and we will certainly go again. My only repeat only was that there was not coffee/tea making facility in the bedroom

Room Tip: we had a sea view but never got the sun on the balcony but the many comfortable chairs scattered ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geofffromstockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Receptionist Cafer is so rude.they could not find our booking reference and hotel voucher when our friend booked exactly the same time the same amount of money and there was no problem with them no star hotel just put it as that

Room Tip: Where do I start? Check in was a total disaster they could not find our booking reference reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Malpas Hotel & Casino on the recommendation of a close friend and was not disappointed.

My room was lovely, clean and comfortable with a beautiful sea view. loved the shampoo and conditioner, hair dryer, wiews and general feeling of relaxation.
The meals from the open buffet were more than adequate bearing in mind that they are predominantly for the Turkish guests ..olive oil and salad yes, if you love olives definitely.
. The hotel is quiet and peaceful, a good base from which to explore Northern Cyprus.

I recommend the Malpas - Great winter break,
it was a relaxing 5* Experience for Me! - thank you..break from a building site in the UK.
Even a flutter in the Casino was fun.in house. .outside pools too cool to contemplate…coolish inside one,gym,etc.all good…The breakfast vast variety coffee not great alas..good coffee in coffee bar, cakes a bit old, lovely girl looking after one.

Room Tip: all just fine, mountains or ocean…….did a special deal through travel company/winter breaks.. do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank room4improvement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALTINOR, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a five star hotel but not by UK standards maybe so don't expect it to be so. It is, however, excellent.
The reception upon arrival at the airport and transfer to the hotel was simplicity itself with water provided on the bus and food upon arrival at the hotel.
The hotel was clean and tidy, the rooms of good size and comfortable with tv, safe etc and views either over the mountains or the sea. Tea making facilities would have been appreciated but that is an "English" requirement generally not found abroad particularly in non EU countries. The pools, both indoor and out, were not overly hot but during March/April what do you expect. The gym, sauna, steam etc facilities were really good.
A vast array of Turkish style food was provided daily, trying it all a challenge - don't expect fish and chips you are on holiday.
All members of staff from reception, dining, bars, chambermaids, drivers etc were all very helpful, cheerful and spoke good English, can we speak Turkish!
The excursions were well organised and well worth the effort being the best way in which to see and understand the history and culture.
Access to Girne was simple with the hotel shuttle bus or alternatively the local buses, well worth going on if only for the experience, and on from there to other villages if desired.
A very nice place to visit with some fantastic scenery and views, a super place in which to stay. Will we be back? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with a balcony on which to sit and enjoy a fabulous sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALTINOR, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in North Cyprus, as well as in our hotel. We note that you say you will definitely return, and we therefore look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
256 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
448 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
322 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: £53 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing