We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend in Malpas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malpas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My weekend in Malpas was really amazing: spacious and cleaned room, delicious food, excellent service. Special thanks goes to the guest manager of this hotel Ms Nuket Tanol, who with her professionalism and kindness seemed to make the stay of the guests in the hotel very pleasurable. I would definitely go again there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elsa556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you kind review for our Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.It was a pleasure to know that our staff was helpfull to you and made your stay enjoyable.
we wish to see you again.
warm regards On behalf of Malpas team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I think the Malpas was excellent value for my money. We stayed in a pearl bungalow and loved it. It was clean and comfortable. Very quiet and relaxing, in fact the whole week was relaxing ! The hotel is in a great location with views of the mountains and sea. It is buffet style for breakfast and dinner. For meat eaters it had a good selection, and meat was freshly cooked for you. For myself and my partner it was a little restrictive as we are both vegetarians BUT this can happen in most places. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection, all of it was eat as much as you like ! The pool was lovely and wasn't over crowded. There was live music every night and it was wonderful to sit on the hotel terrace, relaxing with a drink listening to some live vocals and guitar players watching the shooting stars. The gardens were well kept and clean. The Guest Relations manager, Nuket was more than helpful and was working hard to keep a good standard of service. She was very proactive and was approaching guests and inquiring as to their stay. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We plan to return soon and highly recommend The Malpas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merkabalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review for our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We appreciate your nice words about the room, facilities and the staff. We are very happy because the hotel had covered your expectations.
we hope to see you again.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here (6 of us - over three rooms) in early August, just arriving back in the UK today.
I have travelled many hotels, and have to say this was appauling service and treatment of guests.

We were half board - food was good.
On check in - nothing, I mean nothing, was explained to us about the hotel facilities or the breakfast or dinner arrangements. Just the room key and a bye bye.

We went out to buy some WATER to keep Heathly, as per norm. Once walking through reception, we wer shouted at from behind to stop. As I was drinking my small bottle of water, im told that we are not allowed "Food and drink" from outside, and that this is the hotel rules and we were on camera - TERRIBLE! 40 degrees Celsius, and they still want me to pay ten times the going rate for a bottle of water in the hotel, which was going up to my room with.

For a so called 5 star hotel - we DID NOT expect to be changing our BEDS ourselves!
Three days in, and our sheets still had not been touched. We stripped our beds as a hint, but the hint never got through. We then had to call reception in the early eveining for one of our rooms to be made. This is ridiculous.
Rooms are ok - just not what you would expect from a hotel.
The staff are somewhat ignorant and have no organisation at all!
Finally, keep a constant eye on your room charges, as they seem to had included by "accident" a few mini bar items! (Also, may I point out the contraception methods, included in the mini bar FRIDGE, that come as a pack of three - with one missing. Out of date, and with one missing...and whoever knows who ever else had tampered with these in the room!)

Awful - never to return.
Rubbish service to their customers here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank ASLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank for your review. we have forwarded your feedbacks to the concerned department to improve our services. we have health controll on all the food and beverage so we dont have any out date in our mini bars. we always double check our minibar controll but with your feedback we will be more carefull on this matter. For the saftey and health of our guest we do not allow any food or drinks from outside as any other 5* Hotel .we always make sure that the information is give to our dear guests on arrivals.Thank you for your support .
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a week on august,the hotel is in a great location ,only 8 min into kyrenia,and it had a free shuttle(10 AM TO 4 PM),the hotel is situated between sea and mountain and when u are in the relaxing pool u can see the mountain and enjoy the god's creature...,it was fabulous...after arriving in the morning we went to the restaurant for birilliant breakfast,we were allocated near to pool and there was a lot of seat around it,the pool staff are really very caring and attentive and also polite.the pool was excellent...,it was very very clean and fabulous,relaxing...the restaurant near pool has a delicious pizza especially after swimming I recommend u...and it was not expensive,the main restaurant is HB,the food was really really really delicious, and lovely lovellllly dinner especially the desert ,it likes dinner for weddings...!now I want those desert!.. ;)
I also meet the manager (nuket),she was very nicceeeee.... friendly around the pool and hotel lobby to help with any problems guest may have
we want to come back again and again ....!,MISS U MYTHICAL MALPAS,LIKE CRAZY... :")
malpas is the best

Room Tip: rooms near swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are please that you enjoyed your stay in Northern Cyprus and with us.We appreciate your nice words about our hotel view ,room, facilities and the staff. We are very happy because the hotel had covered your expectations. It was our pleasure serving you.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you need with regards to possible future travel plans.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When I was over in Cyprus this July, my dad, his friends and their baby and myself went over to the North side for a few couple of days. I had been wanting to see the north for a few years so I was really looking forward to it. My dad's friend started to look up 4/5 star hotels in the north and he came across Malpas. From the pictures it looked amazing, very luxurious, and there were not only rooms but they have bungalows and villas too, which suited my dad and me it meant we got our own privacy! Anyway, we all thought this was great so went ahead and booked it. After a longish drive we finally got to the "5 star" Malpas. From the outside entrance, it looked amazing but when you looked a bit closer, it was hoaching (as they say in Scotland)! Outside the bungalows, there were bags of old grass, bushes and rubbish, even the bungalows looked unclean. Anyway, when we got into the "bungalow", to be honest it was more of a room with stairs, it was very basic. I mean there wasn't even a kettle or iron in the room. What 5 star hotel doesn't have a kettle and an iron in the room?! There was on complementary tea or coffee, there were no sheets for the sofa bed (more like some crappy foam things), no hairdryer, only 2 towels for us, the air con didn't work properly, the mini was so over priced and it was full of cheap items (seen a lot of the mini bar items in the local supermarket and they were really cheap), there was enough hair on the floor of the bathroom to make a wig, it was basically an empty shell of a room! There wasn't even a Wifi code for the room! Disappointed with the bungalow, we decided to get ready and go for a visit to Kyrenia. It was lovely, absolutely stunning. Anyway, after our trip there, we went up to the Malpas restauraunt. To my absolute horror, it was a buffet! A buffet in a 5 star hotel, it's ridiculous! If you're paying like £150/200 or more a night for a room, you don't want 200/300 people coughing and sneezing all over your food, it's just gross! And the wine selection was terrible. There were only 2/3 white wines on the list and they were like vinegar. It was just horrible. The food at the buffet was ok but barely edible. After the meal, we decided to call it a night. The next day we spent a few hours in Kyrenia then went to the pool. To be honest, the pool was amazing! It was the only thing that was 5 star about this place. The staff were nice but the cocktails were garbage. They tasted like paint stripper. Our room didn't get cleaned until about 5pm on the second day of our trip! The cleaners cleaned the villas behind us twice and noone was staying in them! We actually had to go to reception and ask to get the cleaners to clean our room! All and all, this hotel was a total joke. The fact they get away with saying it's a 5 star establishment stuns me. I've stayed in better 2/3 star B&Bs and hotels in the UK. Please do not waste your money here, it's just ridiculously rubbish.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank MegoLego125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
the information about our location and services is given on our web site I wish you should have checked before your visit. all feedbacks from our guests are very important as it makes us to improve our services. I will just add that our Malpas Hotel has been awarded for the best wine collection in the country.
Thank you again
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As my first review i would like to say it is the staff that makes a place very special and malpas is very special. My favourite firstly is the waitor who is more than just that who goes by the name sunshine. The food is great and i also personally congratulated the chef who's name i forgot to ask. All in all everyone is amazing and i will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to write your kind review for our hotel.
I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we appericiate your kind words about our staff.
we hope to see you soon.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went t this hotel may bank holiday for the week. When we arrived we where put into the annex of the hotel which hadn't been finished being built. Workers started at 7.30 cutting, hammering and welding and finished about 5. No health and safety and found some of the practises very dangerous thank god we didn't have kids. This wasn't the only place in the hotel where major building works where going on. We complained to our rep to no avail so then went to complain to the hotel guest relations. The result being a sorry from the management and a bottle of wine and some fruit as an apology. We also was told that it wasn't an English 5* hotel yet they charged 5* prices. Was a very expensive hotel to drink in and eat and was in the middle of nowhere (dont use room service) and had to get a taxi to find a decent priced bar.

Having said all that, the rest of the hotel was spotless and staff very pleasant. We where half board and the food was excellent. Swimming pool was large and sauna and steam rooms spotless. Indoor swimming pool was a bit cold but was refreshing after steam and sauna. We didn't enjoy the casino at all, felt like you where being watched all the time and felt intimidated so didn't spend long in there.

Room Tip: ask when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasHotelKyrenia, General Manager at Malpas Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,
We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. we apologies for the uncomfortable situation due to the renovation work in our building.I am sure you will agree with us that we need to renovate again for your comfort and satisfaction. The renovation work was all under the rules of state safety regulations.
we are glad that you enjoyed our services and our staff also fulfilled your expectation.we are only 10 minutes away from the city we have free shuttle services for city center and for our private beach and I hope you enjoyed them. the drinks are according to the standard rates of any 5* hotel but we also have happy hours in on jazz bar so you can enjoy your drinks while your stay with us.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catalkoy
0.9 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
274 reviews
5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
468 reviews
11.2 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
923 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#1 of 14 in Kyrenia
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No: 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range: £50 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing