We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodge with all you could need”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The decking The lounge and open vista
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The decking
The lounge and open vista
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Lounge
Master Bed
King Size master bed
Ensuite
Master bedroom
Ensuite
Master
Twin room
Twin
Stainless steel BBQ
you can watch the woodpeckers from the master bedroom
Clovelly
Tintagel
Fishing lake
Bude area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Woolsery, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Noor J
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge with all you could need”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This lodge had everything you could possibly need for a weekend away. A fully equipped kitchen, dvds, a sound system and a wii along with a deck and bbq. Our host was great and quick to respond to our queries. A manual was left in the property with tip and advice on where to go locally and further afield. A great location but you do need your car. We definitely hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yvonnepyk...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Inside very nice, outside needs attention”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Inside was very well equipped. Tea, coffee and sugar very welcome. Would have been nice to have milk as it is a long way to the shops. Read visitors book, seems we missed out on cream teas left by owners. Looked for play park, but not there. Golf not available. Beds, towels etc lovely and clean. Curtains smeared with chocolate on inside, need cleaning. The chair covers hiding peeling chairs annoying as they kept coming off when you moved. Decking is lifting, trip hazard. Children slipped on decking when it was wet could do with some anti slip treatment. If these things were attended to the lodge would be excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you and I'm sorry there was no milk provided which we will take up with our caretakers. Unfortunately cream teas are not able to provided by our current caretakers.

The lodge is not advertised with any play park or golf facilities as these were closed by the site management a number of years ago.

The curtains are regularly cleaned and we will get them check, there are some brown wood stain on some of the linings which is most likely what you saw.

The decking is regularly cleaned maintained and oiled, mist recently this spring. Some boards have been replaced which can create the look of "lifting" as they are of different thicknesses. The deck has been treated with anti slip treatments and anti-slip treads are installed on steps and doorways as an additional measure.

As per previous review we do act on comments as well as maintaining the lodge to a very high standard for our mutual benefit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne_tayl...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is an extremely well equipped lodge. Judging by comments in the visitors book, the owners had acted on suggestions from previous guests which meant that the lodge catered for everyones needs. The site is quite remote but once we had visited Bude and Bideford and located the nearest supermarkets this did not cause problems. We arranged for Asda to deliver an internet order at 9.30pm on the night we arrived and I would recommend doing this because of the lack of a site shop. Also note that there are few petrol stations and not many local eating places so plan ahead - be prepared to travel to local towns. There are some lovely places to visit and the Devon Coastal path is stunning. We had to visit the local doctors surgery in Hartland and they were extremely helpful. Would also recommend the "fish and chip" shop in Woolsery which had an extensive menu and the food was of a very high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting, well equipped lodge
Liked least: We had to give the cupboards and drawers a quick wipe down before we used them.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iang5
Wigan, Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet fishing holiday in beautiful Devon”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a last minute holiday booking for a family of 3 (2 adults and 12yr old daughter). The lodge was excellent and quiet. We even saw the golf course being used on several occasions. We were disappointed with how far away the pool was as this was partly why we chose this site. We didn't feel comfortable leaving our daughter there even though she is a competent swimmer, so we ended up not bothering with it or the evening entertainment.
We like to fish and the 2 lakes available to us where really good fishing with extremely healthy fish. We would use the lodge again but maybe with a bigger group. A car is essential as it's fairly isolated. I was a big disappointment to a 12yr old who was desperate to use the hot tub that it was no longer in use due to health and safety, but we understood the reasons why.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the lodge and quiet location
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing