We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IT'S MASSIVE !!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Woolsery, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
torquay21...
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“IT'S MASSIVE !!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

17 of us stayed over the August bank holiday and there was still room for more !!
Kitchen is fully equipped with double ovens, microwave, dishwasher ( take tablets just in case ) all your pots & pans that you will ever need.
Like my title says and one of our party said ' IT'S MASSIVE ' inside ,space for football, tennis , volleyball, bikes , table tennis ,pool and most of that was going on at same time.
The big screen and sound system turned the barn from party night one night to cinema night another.
Derek was very very helpful making sure that we had the best time that we could have had.
Age range in party 4-42 and all loved it so much that we will be booking up again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks for the great comments, "M".

Look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMB08
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Glamping experience 😊”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just spent August bank holiday at lane Barton. Our large group of friends go glamping on a yearly basis, we were really struggling to find anywhere that accommodated all 17 of us and that had no problems with the noise levels!!
The converted cow shed was absolutely perfect for us. Nothing was too much trouble for Derek. Looking forward to booking up again soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks M.
Great to know you had a good time.
I'll be contacting to you soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherwi...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for groups”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Little late with the review... But a group of 12 of us stayed in the barn for a weekend in May. We are aged 18-25 and just wanted a group holiday. This place was perfect for our partying habits! The pods made great places to get our heads down and all the extras such as the surround sound were very good! On the first night we all got a taxi to Barnstaple to go out and when we got back we carried on the party in the barn! There is lots of room to do this. The facilities for preparing food and drinks are also excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Derek was also very kind and friendly! We hope to come back some time soon :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Many thanks Heather
You know you're welcome here anytime
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC-WezzyB
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“All we could ask for”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Derek's place has everything we needed for a group to have fun - and Derek is a great smiley bloke. Comfy beds, hot showers and a shared area with loads of fun. Bideford and Barnstaple not too far as a group, so really explored North Devon with the Barn as a base.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend - and I do!

Just working out the next excuse to go there :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought that went into making the venue fit for anything
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Traveled all the way from Leicester for a friends leaving party. Had the most amazing weekend ever. The place has everything you need for a good time, the only time we left the place was for a nice little walk down the beach which is only a 10 Minuit's drive down the road. It did get a bit chilly in the bar at night but nothing a few drinks and some running around didn't sort. Our group are already trying to find an excuse to book again. If you want a party with a difference this is the place. Many thanks for an amazing weekend, look forward to seeing you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How unique the place is.
Liked least: A little cold.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Look forward to seeing you all again too!
Jamie & co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diggerd84
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Location, Amazing Facilities, we did not want to leave”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I don't usually write reviews but following our weekend at Lane Barton I felt I had to share.
12 of us visited for a friends stag do and I can honestly say Derek had thought of everything to give us a fantastic weekend. The sleeping pods are perfect, clean with new showers and toilets. There are games, sports and activities that could keep you going weeks let alone a weekend. We hired in bubble football, which was great fun and would recommend for any group.
The bar, cooking facilities, lounge and decking all give great options.

We are looking forward to creating an excuse to book again.

Thanks Derek and Ang for creating such a great space.

Cheers

Rhys

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Many thanks for the kind review, look forward to seeing you again soon..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munki113
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Totally different, totally awesome!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

So a large group of 30 something friends and I booked for the barn for a New Year's Eve party with a difference. Something a break from the norm. And boy did it deliver on that front!

To begin with, the photos really don't do the place justice. It's huge. Essentially it's a massive converted cow shed, with 5 static tee-pee style pods, a fully functioning kitchen, lounge and dining room plus the biggest astroturf leisure area you're ever likely to see indoors!

Now, don't book this expecting a hotel. It's not a hotel. It's more akin to posh camping, or glamping, in my opinion and is all the better for it. Do not be deceived however as the sleeping pods are one of the many highlights. They each sleep four, with two proper single beds and two futon style beds in each. They also have a private toilet and shower in each pod too. These are all brand new and finished to a way higher standard than any of our group were expecting! Plus they have really cool coloured ambient lighting which was a really nice touch. Proper bedding, and you can expect a proper nights sleep.

The kitchen is also great, and very well stocked with everything you could want. The dining area adjacent would comfortably seat 20-30 if required and also houses a sound system and TV. There is another TV in the lounge / snug which also has a giant stack of beanbags on which you can all chill out.

The main area is simply superb. All sorts of games are provided; from pool and table tennis to jenga, badminton, boules and even a massive projector television. You won't be bored staying here! We stayed 3 nights and didn't leave once!

The service offered by Derek was also second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. One word of warning was that as this was originally a barn the main area gets cold (although it was December when we went!) so layer up. That said, the kitchen, dining area, snug and pods were all toasty so it wasn't a problem for us.

I'd thoroughly recommend this to for any large group event such as a stag or hen, or for several families wanted a group trip away. It's totally different to anything you've ever seen before, and all the better for it. Keep up the good work Derek, you total legend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge space, the cosy sleeping pods
Liked least: Nothing, it was awesome!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Cheers Guys
Nothing would ever be too much trouble for a group like you.
Many thanks for the awesome feedback
Look forward to seeing you again Soooooon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing