We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Escape and Relax”
other travellers have booked this property
Our heated pool reaches temperatures of 30 degrees in the summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our heated pool reaches temperatures of 30 degrees in the summer
La Grange has been in our family for almost twenty-five years A secluded location in private grounds among a hamlet of twelve other properties
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Our heated pool reaches temperatures of 30 degrees in the summer
La Grange has been in our family for almost twenty-five years
A secluded location in private grounds among a hamlet of twelve other properties
Equipped with everything you'll need to cater on holiday
Equipped with everything you'll need to cater on holiday
Perfect for keeping you warm during spring or autumn breaks
Seats up to eight people comfortably
Seats up to eight people comfortably
Our snug is perfect for a good read, plenty of DVDs; or access to Netflix
The spacious downstairs double bedroom
The spacious downstairs double bedroom
The generous upstairs king size double
One of the upstairs twin bedrooms
The second upstairs twin bedroom
Original beam work featured throughout
The modern downstairs wet room complete with overhead shower
The modern upstairs bathroom complete with overhead shower
Our private heated swimming pool; perfect for any season
Swim whilst enjoying views of our enclosed orchard
Find peaches and walnuts during late summer and early autumn
A spring time view of the pool, decking and outside dining area
The Cobra, our swimming pool water feature
Enjoy a cooling aperol spritz by the pool
Or enjoy fantastic sunsets from the decking
Or enjoy fantastic sunsets from the decking
Our pool is lit at night for an after-hours dip
Enjoy outdoor living to the full
A free-to-use tennis court is five minutes away
View of our pretty hamlet during sundown
The perfect scenery for cycling or walking
Sunflowers surround La Grange during summer months
Dramatic landscape during the hay baling season
Explore our local village, Lizant, with bar and artisan  bakery
Explore the delights of our local market town, Civray
Explore the delights of our local market town, Civray
Explore the delights of our local market town, Civray
Nanteuil-en-Vallee; one of many picturesque villages within easy reach
Charroux; one of many picturesque villages within easy reach
Ruffec; one of many picturesque villages within easy reach
Verteuil-sur-Charente; one of many picturesque villages within easy reach
Valley of the Monkeys, within a 20 minute drive
Futuroscope, within an hour's drive
Aerial view of the hamlet and surrounding countryside
A warm welcome is awaiting you at La Grange; Book your stay now...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Civray, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Escape and Relax”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We visited La Grange during the half term break in October. Looking forward to a relaxing holiday we where not disappointed! La Grange is set amongst the beautiful French country side, great roads for cycling and beautiful towns to visit. A car is a must with the nearest shop being 5 min drive away and supermarket 20 min away. There is plenty to do in the near by towns with ample wine tasting, Cognac tasting experiences, not to mention some fantastic restaurants and cafes.

The owners have kindly put together an information booklet for guest, offering advice on local takeaways, restaurants and attractions.

A roaring log burner makes this barn cozy and warm and the heated pool is ideal for a relaxing swim.

A must for anyone wanting to get away from the daily stress of life (although wifi is available!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Large Log Fire for the Winter Nights
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iantimmy1...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The drive to La Grange sets the scene with rolling countryside and beautiful villages.

The area is incredibly quiet but with a boulangerie down the road, you can get fresh bread and pastries daily. Many towns and villages surround civray with a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes. The local market also offers some delicious food and stalls while there are also supermarkets and shops within 10 minutes drive.

The house itself is warm and a lovely mixture of traditional and modern. The stove keeps the house warm during the colder nights and for the hotter days there is a beautiful swimming pool. The house could easily sleep 8 with several more at a push. With several bathrooms you won't be fighting over showers.

For total relaxation, La Grange is definitely worth a visit. Thanks Mike and Mu for a lovely stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house, picturesque location, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I spent a week at La Grange with my boyfriend at the end of September, amazingly the weather in France was still lovely and hot (lucky French!)

From start to finish the entire break was fantastic, the house is wonderfully presented, clean and has all the mod cons you would have at home (washing machine, fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, TVs & DVD player, Wi-Fi) despite it's rural location.

We flew into Limoges airport where we picked up the rented car to drive to La Grange. Mike's directions are spot on, we found the house with no trouble at all. Mike also provides a 'handbook' for the house full of hints and tips for the local area and further afield, I'd thoroughly recommend taking his advice and venturing out to Cognac, La Rochelle, and Angouleme.

We ordered a hamper, which was waiting for us on arrival and full of delicious local produce - good value and worth paying for. The pool is gorgeous and was much needed in the heat.

All in all, the week went far too quickly for my liking. I will definitely be going back, perhaps with some friends next time since the house sleeps up to 8 people. I'd recommend this place for couples, families, or groups of friends, you'll have a great time!

Top tip - book any restaurants as soon as you get there and make a point of checking opening times for various places you might want to visit - we found one or two spots closed due to low season. Wasn't a big issue though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful clean house, gorgeous pool (needed in the hot weather!)
Liked least: Its the French countryside - so expect a few creepy crawlies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decked pool area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing