We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We have stayed in a number of holiday homes in...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torcross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have stayed in a number of holiday homes in Devon and Cornwall over the years and this is definitely the best.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful cottage. Everything was lovely and clean from the extremely well equipped kitchen; welcoming lounge and wonderfully comfy beds to the stunning bathrooms. A lot of thought has gone into making this beautifully decorated cottage a home from home. We really appreciated the milk and Prosecco waiting for us in the fridge when we arrived; but waking up to the wonderful view of Slapton Ley from the bedroom window every morning, was just the icing on the cake!

(Welch’s of London)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view from the bedroom window
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay. Brilliant facilities superbly laid out and thought through cottage.
Close to beach, pub, many local walks and lots to explore etc. Farm shop up road excellent and far better than driving to Kingsbridge supermarkets.
Salcombe and Dartmouth with in easy reach. Fully recommend to family's or couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fazza0710
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right of Access kept secret.”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this very pleasant cottage for a week in June 2016 and on four occasions, when we came back after being out for the day, a neighbour was in our back garden moving the stones to reveal manhole covers and generally treating the place as his own. There was a blockage somewhere in the sewage pipeline, we did not have a problem in the cottage, but it seems the other cottages did; so it was our cottage that had all the upheaval. We were then unable to use the back garden as one of the other problems was that the key to the patio doors was very stiff and it took a lot of yanking around to get the door to locked again, so we had to walk around the side of the house to get into the back garden, but of course we could not do this as the manhole cover was up and a garden chair was put over it by the neighbour to stop anyone tripping over.

When we came home the on th Tuesday evening, we could not park in the only parking space to the cottage as the drain cleaning man’s van was parked there. We could not sit in the back garden so went for a walk. When we returned, he was still there, so we stayed in the cottage even though it was a lovely evening to have been able to sit in the garden. He eventually left and when my wife went upstairs to get ready to go out to dinner she came back downstairs saying what a terrible stench there was in the bedroom with the en-suite. I eventually tracked it down to the shower and realised that when the man released the blockage it sucked out all the water from the shower trap. The smell took a long time to get rid of.

The following day we rang the agents to complain and they said they would get the owner to ring us, which she did that afternoon from her holiday in Turkey. She said she was very sorry for all our troubles and offered us a refund of £100, which we accepted but later considered was insufficient for all of the problems that we suffered so far.

The next evening we were sitting at the dining room table and became aware of someone moving in the back garden. It was yet another neighbour, who owned number three, and wanted an update on the drain situation. We mentioned this the following morning to a lady, who did not live in the cottages, and was told by her that there was a right of way behind the cottages. This meant that anybody who lived in the other cottages could freely walk through the garden at their will.

The following day, yet again, we were greeted by another neighbour telling us that the back of the house had flooded from a downfall of rain and that another drain cover had been lifted in the back garden to release the flood. This flooding was caused by a blockage in an overflow drain which let water, which drained from the hills above cottages, flow into the Ley across the road. The flood water which must have been six inches deep, got into the cottage and the floor in the washing machine room was covered in red mud. We didn’t bother to clean it up as we were leaving the following morning and felt it was not our responsibility.

I think before they let this cottage out, they should get all the drains sorted, as it seems to be a big problem, and make sure that everyone knows about the access situation.

Quite frankly if we had known all this, we would not have taken the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Read the review
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review, and we’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay as we have previously received only positive feedback from other guests who have stayed at this property.

It was unfortunate that you experienced some bad weather during your holiday, which caused the storm drains of the other cottages in the terrace to become blocked.

As you can imagine, Torcross is a small village and the owner has a good relationship with their neighbours which is important when situations like this arise.
The owners are grateful that their neighbours took the initiative to address the problem and had the foresight to consider that the cottage might be under threat due to the freak weather.

The neighbours were very concerned that guests were staying at the cottage and were worried that the problem could escalate and therefore they needed to enter the garden to access the drains.

Under normal circumstances this would not be normal practice and we’d like to assure you that neighbours do not walk through the rear of the property unless it is an emergency. We understand that the neighbours did contact you prior to entering to let you know of their concerns.

We realise that you felt this was an intrusion, and we hope that the apology we passed on from the property’s owners and the goodwill gesture towards dinner for you and your wife went some way towards putting your holiday back on track.

Regarding the problem you encountered with the lock on the back door, this had become stiff due to the damp weather, and has been rectified.

We hope that your experience on this occasion won’t deter you from booking with us in the future, best wishes, Blue Chip Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing