We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IDYLLIC”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torcross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip76...
1 review
“Very Disappointing Holiday Experience.”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

There is only one opportunity to make a good first impression.
On arrival the property was not heated. There was a smell and visible signs of damp in areas of the living room. The internal temperature was 11 degrees and whilst we were able to turn up the Nest thermostat it took two hours to reach 17 degrees and we were able to remove our coats.
Using the central heating or woodburner we could maintain a comfortable temperature downstairs but could not eradicate the draughts from around the front door.
Very disappointing as the cottage is nicely situated with uninterrupted views of Slapton Ley and the countryside beyond. Has a well fitted kitchen/breakfast area with quality appliances. A top spec widescreen smart tv and the real bonus of a high end Bluetooth enabled audio system with integrated ceiling speakers which were excellent for Spotify.
The master bedroom was not "sumptuous". It would have been nice to have had a coffee in bed and watch breakfast tv but despite the central heating being on it was impossible to heat the room beyond 17 degrees due to the window draughts. The badly fitting slats on the venetian blind failed to provide insulation or keep out daylight. Worse still was the black mould at the side of and behind the wardrobe.
On our early return home we shared a few observations, with supporting photographs, with Blue Chip Holidays who market the property as 5* Platinum. We did not make any request for compensation.
The owners were initially dismissive of our remarks but eventually took them on board and made a goodwill offer of a long weekend free of charge. Blue Chip Holidays also made an offer of a 5% loyalty discount on future bookings with them. However, based on our overall holiday experience we have no wish to return to the property and will not be booking with Blue Chip Holidays again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some areas of your stay. It’s very important to us that our guests enjoy the high standards they expect from our properties, and we have looked into this. We note that these issues were not mentioned to the owner or property manager during your stay. If they had been informed they could have offered assistance.

The owner has commented as follows:
“We were quite perplexed and most sorry to hear of our guests findings as they were quite contrary to our own, previous and following guests’ experiences. Regretfully our guests stay did coincide with one of the coldest and windiest spells on record (The Beast from the East) and we can only conclude that the shortcomings they commented upon were perhaps related to this unfortunate and extreme climate. We are truly sad to hear that they would not like to return to our cottage and no longer wish to holiday with Blue Chip Holidays”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IDYLLIC”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning cottage that is specced out to a very high standard - the area is perfect, peaceful and a genuine 'get away from the crowds' kind of place.

The local amenities are fab, the beach is 100m away and if you walk for around 20 mins down the beach (not a trial by any means) you come to an amazing pub called The Cricket Inn that serves the most stunning fish dishes.

Cannot recommend the area or the cottage enough

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
601charle...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish cottage with amazing views in great location”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Beautiful cottage. Stylishly furnished in fabulous location with views over to Slapton Ley and a stone’s throw from the beach.

The cottage has a real feeling of luxury, tastefully furnished with every need catered for. Amazing kitchen...cottage has a bright, airy, coastal feel.

Great places to eat less than 2 minutes walk away.

Within easy reach of Salcombe, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge etc

Can’t wait to return...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture32...
1 review
“Wonderful New Year's Stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A beautifully located cottage, stylishly furnished with everything you need for a pleasurable stay. It was very relaxing to chill out in this cosy cottage and celebrate the New Year. Would love to come back in the Spring/Summer months and make use of the wonderful views and BBQ. Thank you for the making our New Year's break simply perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from an amazing time at the waterfront. All members of the family, including teenagers had a great time. The cottage and the location are outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinS291...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

"The property is well equipped and very comfortable. Its situation looking out on the Ley a very large lake and a few metres from the beach is excellent. The bird life on the lake was a joy to see, swans, ducks, geese and a heron just a couple of metres away.
A shop, post office, pub, café and restaurant are also within a few metres

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location and accommodation - perfect”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A truly spectacular cottage in a wonderful location. The cottage is extremely well furnished and the owners were extremely helpful. We had a fantastic holiday and are keen to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing