We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our wedding farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar is-Saqwi

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
swimming pool six seater hot tub room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
swimming pool
six seater hot tub room
main bedroom with air condition
main bedroom en suite
swimming pool with waterfall
kitchen and dining room
large bedroom with four single beds and air condition
double bedroom with air condition
en suite shower
internal courtyard
internal courtyard at night
internal terrace
shaded pathway in garden
the semi-detached farmhouse at night
garden
BBQ area
rock garden
drive-in at night
panoramic view from terrace
terrace and swimming pool at night
view from BBQ area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Munxar, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
anni3p
Mosta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our wedding farmhouse”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Couldn't have found a better place to celebrate our marriage...perfect place, perfect setting. Massimo was extremely helpful which players great part in our choice. Would definitely recommend it even just for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything-the terraced outdoors area is perfect for fun and relaxation and the indoor jacuzzi is a big plus
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't believe a word you have read in the positive reviews to date....Dar is-Saqwi is better than that.”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Dar is-Saqwi in Munxar, Goxo is by far the best house we have ever stayed in on our travels in the med. And Massimo is by far the nicest host we have ever met.

The farmhouse is beautiful - full of original charm, matched by all the mod cons you could wish for. It was also spotlessly clean. And I mean spotless. Built around a central courtyard, all the (ensuite) bedrooms and public areas have been stunningly renovated by Massimo and his father. We were spoilt for choice to which bedrooms we would all chose, and for spaces to sit and enjoy the space - both inside and outside where there are several terraces to choose from to either enjoy the sun, relax in the shade, or enjoy a glass of local wine (or 2 or 3 or 4).

I suspect the congregation at my mother in law's church will have their heads turned listening to her boost about the house, its facilities and the views.

If you can pull yourself away from this little castle with its pool and jacuzzi, Gozo is just class. In October the sea is like a bath. A few minutes from the house are the Sanap Cliffs, which are simply stunning and a great place to watch the sun setting. The tiny resort town of Xlendi is a few minutes away where you have a great choice of restaurants to choose from. The historical capital, Rabat/Victoria, is also a few minutes away (and provides a lovely backdrop to the sun terraces at the back of the house). But then on Gozo nowhere is very far away!

Our host Massimo met us on arrival and provided a tour of the house. Clearly proud of his handiwork, and rightly so. He sorted out a wifi issue for us - caused by a marvelous storm which took place on our first night which we viewed from the comfy lounge - and once we had got this sorted, he left us to our devices as any host should. A true gent, who owns a true palace, on a true paradise island. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything. What is not to like?!
Liked least: Not being able to visit the cove of Xi Xini because Brad and Angelina were filming there! But hardly the fault of our accommodation and host!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, wonderful host, fabulous house!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You will not be disappointed if you stay here! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Gozo and the house most of all. Great pool, great hot tub, great location - shop nearby sells almost anything you could want. We have stayed on Gozo three times now and this is the best farmhouse we have rented. We travelled as a family of 6 (parents, grandparents plus a little one year old) and everyone enjoyed it. Massimo was a wonderful host, all our needs were catered for - and there were quite a few with the baby coming along!

We would definitely recommend this property, it enabled us to relax and unwind completely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiatkinso...
ottery st mary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Farmhouse”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

All of our dealings with Massimo and his family were top-rate; instructions were clear and we were met with friendly faces, a welcome food and drink package and clear directions regarding the use of all facilities.
The house is terrific: the pool is big and crystal-clear, there are countless places to relax outside, the kitchen has everything you need and the jacuzzi was wonderful.
There is a well-stocked little supermarket 5 minutes walk from the property and it is close enough to the lovely resort of Xlendi to be able to enjoy a drink with your evening meal and walk back.
Gozo itself is much prettier and quieter than Malta, and there are some great spots for swimming and diving.
The only negatives were beyond the owner's influence. The street in which the house is situated is obviously undergoing gentrification and we had building sites next door and opposite. This was a shame, especially as Gozitans tend to start work very early (7 am on one occasion!). Also, the whole party suffered badly from mosquito bites, despite liberal applications of Jungle Juice. I guess this was down to the time of year, but it was an iritating nuisance.
I hope this doesn't put anyone off, however, as this is a lovely property and the owner a delight to deal with. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and outside space.
Liked least: Building-work close to the property.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrjos
Pieta
2 reviews
“truly this is a place where you can relax and enjoy all there is inside and outside, most peaceful.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Most recommended, the farmhouse is immaculately clean, very welcoming with all the necessary amenities for a holiday in Gozo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peace, pool and terraces
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wchaud
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gozo”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were very impressed by the accommodation when we arrived every thing was spotlessly clean and all in good working order. It's really big and is a very comfortable stay for extended family's. the view is excellent. The pool is ideal and there a lot of inflatable toys for kids. The barb-b-q area is brilliant in the evenings with a sink , prep area and seating, make it a lovely social entertainment area and a nice sunset to finish off with.

Although of course it's self catering there where plenty of essentials provided food bar b stuff cleaning stuff to get you going.

The owner massimo was at all times straightforward friendly and helpfully.

Once we had found our way to munxar we called him to get specific directions to the property. He came out on scooter found us and we followed him in. He then helped us in with our luggage and gave us the heads up on every thing we needed to know. Great guy you can trust him.

Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and vista
Liked least: Maltese TV
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GODSTONE
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: With 10 of us (3 generations) there was room to spread about
Liked least: The barking dog
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing