We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I look forward to returning to ThirtySevenGozo.”
Review of Thirtyseven Gozo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munxar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thirtyseven Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Munxar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I look forward to returning to ThirtySevenGozo.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

ThirtySeven Gozo was a beautiful guest house which was the ideal escape from reality. Don't go expecting a normal hotel - go expecting the feeling that you are being hosted by people in their own home, as it is clear that they only want you to be comfortable and happy in their much loved retreat.

Our week was nothing but perfect, our stay was made all the more wonderful by the generosity and sincere gestures made by the owners.

Breakfast was simple but delicious, the grounds well kept and beautiful to simply do nothing in, and the intimate evening meals were cooked to perfection.

We explored the local area by foot or by taxi (the local service used by the guest house were a delight to chat to, and again had plenty to suggest and recommend). The nearby port of Xlendi offered great sunsets and plenty of wonderful places to dine. We were lucky to visit San Lawrenz during one of their festivities - so lovely to see authentic celebrations in such an unspoilt village.

There is plenty to do on the island of Gozo, and I would suggest you ask Patti, the runner of ThirtySeven, for any suggestions and hints - she certainly knows best, and her recommendations were spot on whether dining out, taking a stroll, or finding the best beach to visit.

If you're looking for a unique stay, and are happy to trust the hosts - you can't go wrong with this lucky find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThirtySevenHotel, Owner at Thirtyseven Gozo, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
A delayed thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the we always hope our visitors feel when they stay with us. Hope to see you soon again. All the best and have a nice summer! Sunny Smiles from Thirtyseven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    1
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent a week on the lovely, unspoiled island of Gozo which we would thoroughly recommend if you seek peace, quiet and lovely countryside.

The holiday experience was boosted by our choice of hotel. We stayed in the exemplary boutique hotel Thirty Seven which is in the village of Munxar ideally situated between the main town (if you can call it that) Victoria and the delightful little beach resort Xlendi.

The hotel proprietors, Giuseppe and Patti, made us feel extremely welcome and very helpful with tips and advice about the island. They've taken so much care with the decor and layout of the old farmhouse which they've converted into a hotel with just ten rooms. Where they've built new wings they've done it with care and a huge amount of taste. We stayed in the Barambura room which is an old grain store and it's decorated with some interested paintings and Indian pottery. It's delightful. There's a nice pool area to relax in and it's wonderfully peaceful with just the church bells and the birds creating any noise.

We did a day's diving which was OK, but having dived a lot in Asia there's not a huge amount to see underwater although the topography is quite interesting. But we were impressed with the dive operation which was St Andrews Divers Cove in Xlendi. If you are not a fan of shore diving then the sport in Gozo is not for you.

Our days were spent getting around the island on the excellent and cheap bus service - just 6 euros for a weekly pass - and taking excellent coastal walks. We walked from Victoria to the Salt Pans near Marsalforn via a stunning little cove, Wied il gasri, where you can take a refreshing dip and snorkel if that's your thing,

Another great walk was along the coastal path from Xlendi which takes you all the way to Mgarr where the Malta ferries come in. You don't see a soul so you really feel like you've got the island to yourself. We stopped at a lovely little beach place called Mgarr ix Ximi where there is a fantastic little restaurant.

Other recommended places are the Gjantiga temples and San Blas which is the best beach on the island but be warned access to it is only via a virtually vertical road!

Do yourself a favour and book Thirty Seven, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite looks amazing, Next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThirtySevenHotel, Owner at Thirtyseven Gozo, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
A delayed thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you fell in love with Gozo the way we have. We hope to see you soon again. All the best and have a nice summer! Sunny Smiles from Thirtyseven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

"Wow", and then broad smiles at each other. That was the first reaction we had when we stepped into Thirtyseven, where we were booked in for 3 nights from 23 May to 26 May. Moments like this would continue to fill our days at this lovely property.

It wasn't just the stunningly beautiful room (we booked the Shanghai Suite), the comfortable sun loungers by the pool, the enviably fashionable furniture or the delicious breakfast that greeted us each morning. There was no doubt that those continued to impress us each day, but the biggest pull at Thirtyseven was really the lovely hosts who made us feel like family throughout our stay.

Patti and Giuseppe have obviously put a lot of love and attention into every detail at Thirtyseven - we found ourselves lusting after just about everything, from the unique furniture pieces in our room right down to the cutlery we were using at breakfast.

Their enthusiasm and warmth in introducing Gozo and its attractions to us was infectious and throughout all our travels, we have never met hosts like them who went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of and had the rest of our trip (even beyond Gozo) in order.

I strongly recommend this place to anyone looking for an experience. Fair warning though - you may find it hard to leave the place to do any real sightseeing. And quite honestly, staying in isn't bad at all - Thirtyseven remains one of our fondest "sights" and a definitive memory of our trip to Malta and Gozo.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Shanghai Suite - it's lovely with rooftop sunbeds and an absolutely charming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprintsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThirtySevenHotel, Manager at Thirtyseven Gozo, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
A delayed thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you fell in love with Gozo the way we have. We hope to see you soon again. All the best and have a nice summer! Sunny Smiles from Thirtyseven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip to Malta I decided to spend the first few nights on Gozo. Thirtyseven was a perfect landing spot to begin my journey. Full of charm and simple luxury, Thirtyseven is driven by the spirit of Patti and Guiseppe, the lovely Italian hosts. Munxar is a quiet village but within a short walk or drive to hiking trails along sensational sea cliffs, the large town of Victoria with the unmissable Citadel, and gorgeous sandy Mediterranean beaches. Eat as much pasta and seafood as you can handle, and don't forget to try the Maltese wine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThirtySevenHotel, Manager at Thirtyseven Gozo, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
Dear Michael,
A delayed thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you fell in love with Gozo the way we have. We hope to see you soon again. All the best and have a nice summer! Sunny Smiles from Thirtyseven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an amazing week at Thirty Seven. This is a beautiful little hotel, intimate feel, warm personal service provided by Patti and Giuseppe and their staff. Attention was given to every detail to make our stay perfect. The Garden Suite was lovely, it was great relaxing in the garden at the end of the day with a bottle of wine. Patti and Giuseppe arranged a day on a yacht cruising around Gozo and Camino with a delicious lunch. Patti cooked a wonderful dinner our first night there. We had door to door service from Malta to Thirty Seven. Our visit could not have been better, it was magical. I could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent all too brief a time in April 2014 enjoying the generous welcome and elegant surroundings offered by Patti and Giuseppe. The Garden Suite was well appointed yet cozy. Its private garden was a peaceful haven for a morning coffee or evening aperitif. Highlights of our stay included a home-cooked dinner prepared by Patti, featuring ingredients fresh from her garden that enhanced the meal's classic Mediterranean flavours and elegant presentation Patti and Giuseppe's love of Gozo was evident throughout our stay and their suggestions never disappointed. Five star service without pretension from hosts who seem genuinely happy to share their home with you.

We would also like to thank Patti for taking the trouble to send on forgotten items without delay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original wing and loved its traditional Gozo style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce19662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thirtyseven was the perfect venue for me as it provided peace, comfort, warmth, attractive surroundings, pool, characterful and helpful but not intrusive hosts and security. I was met on arrival at Malta airport by a smiling face and warm welcome and driven to Thirtyseven via the Malta/Gozo ferry. As no food was available on site that evening Patti & Giuseppe booked a superb local, waterfront restaurant and taxi for a weary, bewildered traveller.
My room (Barambura) was comfortable with everything I needed, plus bottles of water, postcards of Thirtyseven, contact numbers for both hosts and jelly bear sweets! There were fluffy towels, lots of space, a big leather chair and foot stool, small terrace with canopy, fan, air conditioning and both the room and quirky en suite were spotlessly clean.
Having read several reviews before going, I knew just where to go for breakfast, which was a delicious, unhurried affair out in the open air with fresh orange juice and fruit, choice of tea or coffee and a selection of cereals, breads, preserves, cakes, biscuits etc. I was privileged to sample Patti's cooking for 3 evening meals, each of which was simply scrumptious and accompanied by pre-dinner nibbles, perfectly selected wine and a wonderfully eclectic and soothing choice of background music.
At meal times I met lovely guests from Italy, France, Germany, Holland and England but during the day it was rare to share the pools or terraces with anyone else.
I hired a car for a couple of days and met many interesting characters, visited some beautiful bays, historic sites and a great craft village. When the car broke down was it stressful? Absolutely not! A quick phone-call to the hire company and help was on its way, meanwhile I got to look out over a stunning bay and escape into one of the 5 books I read during my stay.
You can walk around the village and beyond to the cliffs above Xlendi, there are a couple of local shops for any essentials you may need, the local church is worth a visit and yes those really are cows and geese in a neighbour's back garden!
So did I enjoy it and would I go back? Wholeheartedly yes! Thirtyseven delivered everything I was looking for and I am so glad that Patti & Giuseppe opened what was their private holiday retreat into a haven others can share. Improvements - perhaps a more comprehensive guide in the rooms covering how to book and where to take meals, the cost of food/drinks/extras, a torch and a little information on the surrounding area, walks and local attractions. However, there is a fine balance to be trod here between entering and enjoying the hospitality of a private home and running a commercial enterprise.
I had contemplated spending my last night on Malta but the opportunity to stay put was far too enticing, and when Patti got up to see me off and provided me with juice, tea and biscuits prior to my 5am departure with lovely driver Sonia, it was the perfect end to a wonderfully memorable break. Thank you Patti, Giuseppe, Helga, Margaret and all at Thirtyseven.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are lovely, so just a question of choice re which floor you want to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThirtySevenHotel, Owner at Thirtyseven Gozo, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
Dear J E,

A delayed thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you fell in love with Gozo the way we have. We hope to see you soon again. All the best and have a nice summer! Sunny Smiles from Thirtyseven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munxar
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
815 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
0.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thirtyseven Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thirtyseven Gozo

Property: Thirtyseven Gozo
Address: 37 Munxar Road, Munxar, Island of Gozo MXR 1103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Munxar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Munxar
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gozo, the island of Calypso, an idyllic sanctuary of land in the middle of a sapphire colored sea. We have and continued to aim to create an atmosphere within the Thirtyseven Hotel walls that matches the nature of the land. Behind our walls stand an oasis of gardens, a relaxing breeze from the ocean, and each room suite is designed differently and is as boutique as can be. Regardless if you are into design, good food, going to the beach, let us enchant you in what Thirtyseven Hotel is all about. Thirtyseven Hotel is located in the village of Munxar, a ten minute walk from the bay of Xlendi, Sanap Cliffs and Victoria the capital of Gozo. It is also a 15 min drive from the harbour terminal Mgarr. We don't like the idea of relaxation and luxury being mutually exclusive at Thirtyseven Hotel. We believe there is a place for both in the same setting. There can be luxury without grandiose overtures and there can be relaxation without skimping on design. At Thirtyseven Hotel, we look to combine the best of both of these things, to satisfy both needs simultaneously, to please the search for both of these qualities - be it yoga, massages, trips to coves or beaches. Let us help and organize in your search, your exploration to find the best of both of these worlds. Luxe and Lax. Thirtyseven Hotel is filled to the brim with possibilities of different ways of detaching and detoxing from the hustle of day to day life. From scuba diving to bungee jumping to painting or pottery or to yachting. Let us know what will help you find the right experience and we will be thrilled to help you. For questions or bookings please email us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing