We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines Delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham

The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$77
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valentines Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Must have eaten in a different restaurant to the previous reviews!
My husband and I were warmly welcomed and the food was amazing. You could tell by the taste and textures of the dishes that it was passionately prepared and cooked.
The singer Dean Anger has a wonderful voice and repertoire.
The single red rose for each lady was a beautiful and thoughtful touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    130
    60
    42
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't justify the prices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our first evening out at The Bull for a Valentines night Frank Sinatra tribute. We had eaten here during the summer and found everything less than brilliant with a basic lunch that couldn't justify the price of the food. The pub itself is nice with good facilities and decor, unfortunately the rest doesn't quite live up to the standards. Service wasn't too bad, however the food was not great. A starter of the prawns was fairly bland, and main course of the lamb tasteless with poor accompaniments. The entertainment was extremely sub-standard. The singer seemed to flit between different rooms and was not the best in any shape or form. All in all very disappointing. A real shame as the venue could be great, however doesn't quite live up to the promise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Louall06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I thought I was being taken to the cinema .......but what a wonderful surprise! I was wined and dined in style at my favourite restaurant. Despite being a busy Valentines night we were made to feel special on arrival and offered a tempting choice on the menu. The lamb was succulent and my husbands choice,the sea bass, was tasty. Not only were we treated to a delightful meal, but were serenaded by Dean Ager, a Rat Pack tribute act. What a fantastic way to spend valentines night! I was even given a red rose ... Every detail thought of to make a perfect evening. Thank you to all on the team at the Bull for another special night .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Valentines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Completely disagree with the review below! Not our first visit to the bull but our best. The food was wonderful, and great to have a wide and varied choice on a busy valentines night. Dean Ager doing his rat pack show was a perfect accompaniment to the evening and made it that much more special! We will definitely be back, thankyou

Helpful?
Thank Essexrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Unfortunately the evening felt like we were bring ripped off. I don't mind paying the price if you are getting value by way of quality food, service and entertainment. However the Bull came up very short of average in all respects. Shame just goes to prove you don't always get what you pay for - sometimes you get significantly less.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Thommo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Owner at The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us with your very large rugby parents group on Valentines night, the evening was as you will read from my other clients reviews a great success.

I was working on Friday night and would have been pleased to have discussed your issues with you, at that time i am sure i would have been able to deal with them if only you had mentioned them which regrettably you did not on the night for some reason.

If you would like to discuss the evening please do call me

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham also viewed

 
Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing