We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, especially with Groupon”

The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$79
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially with Groupon”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went there on a Groupon offer, which has been running for some time. The offer included 3 course from the ala carte menu plus a glass of wine for £17.50 a head. We had fried calamari and rack of lamb - both very good and served promptly. One pays a reasonable supplement for steak.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    131
    60
    42
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rod Stuart Night”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been to many of these tribune nights and once again we were not disappointed. We had a table for 8 and I have to say the food and service was second to none (fantastic).
Rod Stuart was amazing and I can't see why anybody did not enjoy themselves ? Our guests were very impressed and for some it was a first visit. I would like to thank all the staff who worked so hard to make our evening a totally enjoyable one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have been to The Bull before (In the Gastro) but last Saturday was treated by friends for my Birthday to the Rod Stewart tribute night.
We all have a fantactic time. With fine wines, food and attentive staff. Set in the beautifully decorated Willow Room.
'Rod Stewart' was Amazing....(Grace) too.
Will difinitely book another Tribute night.
Great value at a great place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“**Date Night**”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My partner and myself visited the Bull on a Thursday evening for our weekly meal out together. Having been to the Bull a number of times before and last year the whole family had lunch on Christmas day in the willow room and we have always had an amazing time and once again wasn't disappointed.

We had booked a table late in the day and although very busy the staff had found us a great table at the time we wanted. We arrived early and was taken to our table, although the Bull was almost full the service wasn't suffering and we was seen to throughout our evening as you would expect.

The wait for food was more than acceptable and when it arrived was 1st class. Both my mixed grill and my partners steak were amazing. Being in the catering and hospitality industry myself I get to eat at allot of restaurants and hotels and the quality and presentation compare to some much more expensive establishments .

All in all we had a lovely evening. The Bull is relaxed and not pretentious whilst keeping a great level of quality and service.

We look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Rod Stewart Great, Food Poor”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited this restaurant on the Rod Stewart tribute night. It was a set menu with chilli soup to start which was very nice. It all went downhill from there, some awful watery crab dish was served up, followed by the smallest portion of lamb with crush potatoes. Desert was meant to be Key Lime Pie but was changed to an apricot sponge which was tasteless. People around us were commenting on how awful the food was, for £40 per head it was terrible value for money.
The waitress also served new cutlery holding the opposite end of the handle, not very professional although the waiters and waitresses were all very attentive.
Rod Stewart was great but the evening was let down by the food.Will try again but not on a tribute night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham also viewed

 
Great Totham, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing