We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Wedding Day Venue!”

The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$80
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Wedding Day Venue!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my Wife celebrated our Wedding day in The Willow Room at The Bull. We had the most amazing day that we could of imagined, David is an absolute Old School Gentleman, the best host that you will come across, very proud and passionate about his Establishment and so he should be. The food was 1st Class, everything about our day could not have been better, our guests absolutely loved the venue, food, staff, landscaped gardens backing on to fields (with horses as a backdrop) We hired the adjoining 4 room cottage for Bride and Bridesmaids for 2 nights and this just added to the enjoyment and whole experience of using this amazing venue. My advice would be to ignore any review on here with less than a 5 rating. Thank you David and staff, myself and lots of my family and friends will be back very soon.

Helpful?
Thank CPH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    136
    64
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Countryside Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited on late Saturday afternoon on a Travelzoo/Groupon Deal with family, have visited before and grabbed the opportunity to return.
Sat outside with a drink prior to meal watching the Local Cricket Team on the Village Green playing opposite the pub was quite entertaining.
Pub has a really nice feel to it, and staff very warm and helpful.
The food was really amazing, all four of us enjoyed our three courses, with a great selection of choices available from the Menu.
This pub also offers a full entertainment package (Brochure was on the table) with various Theme Nights and offers B&B accommodation in adjacent cottage.
Already waiting for the offer to repeat, for a third visit to North Essex.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited here last night with my husbands brother and wife as we wanted to thank them for regularly dog sitting for us and what a fantastic choice it was. We have never been to the restaurant before and only 'found' it because of a groupon offer, but we are so glad we did. The ambience and surroundings are opulent making you feel good as soon as you walk in. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive and the food was exemplary with plenty of choice and is worth every penny. We are already planning another visit. FANTASTIC

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Witchada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My friends celebrated their wedding reception at the Bull and I could not fault a single thing about the whole day. The venue is beautiful and perfect for photographs outside by the fields. David and his team couldn't have done enough for their guests and put the bride and groom at ease all day. The food served for dinner was also excellent. We will definitely be back for dinner soon. Thanks to everyone involved.

Helpful?
Thank braz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing birthday treat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were initially attracted by a great looking menu with some unusual dishes, however the reality was a total disappointment.
The smoked duck breast was barely smoked and unseasoned.
The rabbit rillettes was really a potted meat (insufficiently shredded to merit the term rillettes) and was also very bland.
The pork tenderloin was barely hot and also unseasoned, the watercress garnish was more yellow than green (but the pig cheek was excellent)
The John Dory lacked seasoning and was rather greasy and not hot enough.
The bowl of boiled mixed veg was uninspiring.

In all - poor execution let down an innovative menu in an excellent surrounding with pleasant service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham also viewed

 
Wickham Bishops, Witham
 

Been to The Bull and Willow Room at Great Totham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing