We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal, great atmosphere, and definitely value for money.”

Auberge De La Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cazals
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb meal, great atmosphere, and definitely value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a morning walking the streets of Rocamadour we were definitely ready for a bite to eat, preferring to try this restaurant we had spotted when visiting Cazals on Sunday, for the market. It was full of Frenchmen and a party of Dutch singers who provided the entertainment during the afternoon service. I don't think the owner of the Auberge had booked them.
We sat on a table in the square while the waitress walk back and forth across the road to the kitchens. Service was friendly and efficient. The food we ordered was simply superb. The duck was delicious and perfectly cooked, and accompanied by a pile of chips. (first of the week and most welcomed!!) My wife had the veritable salad. We were eating out in the evening so did not have the pudding although the ones that passed our table looked very tempting.
The jolly atmosphere reflected the contentment of all diners. This is an unassuming restaurant with no pretentious artwork on plates. Instead you get here great food, well cooked at very sensible prices. Definitely try this place for lunch, unless you are dazzled by the dreaded Michelin star.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Historyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely village restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited this restaurant with friends who live in France, excellent starter of ravioli,
mains Lamb steak with Pear tart to follow. Everything was cooked to perfection.
My friends tell me they visit regularly and always have a good meal.
You can also eat outside where they have a dining area across the road.
Would definitely eat here again if I return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sister-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This family run auberge is consistently reliable. We have recently used it a lot as we were without a kitchen in our house. Where else canyou have a 4 course diner with wine for 2 where total cost is 25 euros. We have been eating here for over 20 years, it is unchanged but delightful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cary000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclera, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value & great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lovely lunch menu with great service. Just what was needed on a grey November day in the Lot!
Very good value menu with a good choice of desserts!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedros1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“OK but hasn't made it onto our favourite list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have had a house nearby for about 7 years so know the area's restaurants quite well but tried this for the first time a few weeks ago on a flying visit. The staff were nice enough although when we walked in, the entire place fell silent as everyone turned to look at us (it was out of season which might have made us stand out as we normally blend in pretty well!). The food was typical prix fixe fare (soup, a tinned vegetable mayonnaise, turkey escalope with garlicky potatoes, dessert or cheese and a 1/4 pichet of wine). Actually, the desserts were really good for the type of menu and it was nice to get a choice of colour of wine in an area that only really makes red wine. I would go back, maybe on a Sunday when the market is on, but it hasn't knocked anyone off our 'top 5' list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge De La Place also viewed

 

Been to Auberge De La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing