We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not relish Relish!”
Review of Relish Cafe - CLOSED

Relish Cafe
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rotorua’s best café by serving the highest quality food,matching it with our own designer brand of coffee and the finest NZ wines. We endeavour to personalize our serviceto help make every customer’s visit with us enjoyable and relaxing.”
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We did not relish Relish!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We walked Food Street deciding where to have lunch and decided on wood fired pizza at Relish. Bad choice. The service was slow & inefficient. We ordered a mix leaf, walnut, pear & parmesan salad only to receive a salad full of tomato & carrot with no hint of parmesan. It was very soggy - probably from being left to sit for too long after it was made, before we received it. The pizza was OK - but took an hour in a very quiet café. Other patrons waited for an hour for a salad. Relish is doomed to fail in a busy, competitive street if they don't up their service. We do not recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    4
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too Slow. No Idea”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here. It was not busy. We watched as every table waited a long time. The food was ok. They did not seem to take on our feedback. Would not return or recommend. The pear and Parmesan salad had no Parmesan!
Too long a wait for ok food.


Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn_Wadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful Overpriced Food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Out as a small group we were stuck for choice, and ended up here without wanting to walk back through town, what a mistake. [We found out why the restaurant was empty!]

We bought their "woodfired pizzas" and how disappointing they were...

They were not fresh, obviously pre-made (supermarket) pizza bases; they were poor and extremely disappointing. The pizzas had pathetic toppings, were overpriced and tasted worse than my attempts at pizza making as a 14 yo.

I would say they were adventurous with their names and the BBQ sauce (to try to make up for the lack of flavour), but really give it a miss, there are much better places in Rotorua, this isn't an italian or a restaurant - stay away!

(menumania has some revealing reviews)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyalan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Addictive Noodle Soup”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

On Thursday nights I always buy Relishes Noodle Soup at the night market. This is made the slow way with long simmered bones and flavoured with asian spices. It is super delicious, healthy, reviving and addictive. Now they are selling it in their cafe too. Only $6.50! I could eat this every day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAVDBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

They make the most perfect iced chocolate, and I had pancakes with banana and maple syrup for brunch. It was perfect, could not find fault, took half of it home as it was so filling but was to nice to leave behind. Service was excellent - could not find fault with this meal :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxxRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Relish Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing