We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, homely & friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at lovely Broekhaven. It's location is perfectly out of the bad smell zone of rotorua yet close enough to all the activities. The hosts including pets were all very welcoming and were too happy to help us with anything we needed. This is a great place to stay for relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Broekhaven early this year. Our three boys (5, nearly 3 and 18 months) loved it. They were in their element feeding the chickens and rabbits and holding the baby hedgehogs Debbie was caring for. Our 5 year old stated on arrival "this must be a dream...it's too good to be true" and our nearly 3 year old asked repeatedly throughout each day if we were going back to the cottage that night, then cried for the first half hour of the drive out of Rotorua because he wanted to live in the cottage forever! Our hosts were very welcoming, the cottage had everything we needed and it was lovely to retreat to the peaceful surrounds each afternoon/evening. It was a convenient location for all the tourist attractions in Rotorua, but lovely to be a bit removed from the city. We would definitely head back to Broekhaven on our next trip to Rotorua!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in this friendly cottage only for 2 days!!! Thank you- Debby&Ed ! Your hospitality unforgettable! We want to return once again! Amazing cottage among sheep, lambs, chickens and dogs is unbelievable place.

Room Tip: Thank you - Debby&Ed!!! Your hospitality unforgettable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphire452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period and we didn't want to leave. Every morning our 2 year old loved feeding Tessa the lamb, chickens and rabbits. Only a 15 minute drive into town and away from all the noise and street lights. Thank you Debbie for the yummy bread and crossings/muffins. They were perfect for the road. Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeJones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly,good looking and sweaty Ed (who authenticated the "farm' experience mowing the lawn). By then,we knew we're going to experience a wonderful time as we entered our place of stay; a very complete house which we think we could live there forever. Grazing sheeps completed the picture postcard.
We have a confession to make Debbie! Your exquisite croissants and bread did not live to see the next morning's breakfast. They were consumed quite immediately after you sent them. Not that we were hungry, but the temptation was too great.
The location of Broekhaven Cottage and proximity to touristic places around Rotorua bodes well for tourists who search for 'living in the farm' . Debbie and Ed are very accomodating and friendly. Perfect hosts. We left the place with fond memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aine2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Immaculate country cottage which sheep and lambs grazing in the paddock around the cottage. Very peaceful, great views of the surrounding countryside and Lake Rotorua in the distance. Well stocked cottage with everything you might need. Lovely fresh bread and pastries every day. Great recommendations from Debbie of things to do and see. Our 2 year old daughter loved feeding the animals and enjoyed the visits by the three dogs and the cats.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Very attractive cottage with every comfort. Good breakfast left ready every morning..you could even collect your own eggs. Pretty situation over the other side of the lake from the less attractive centre of Rotorua and so lovely scenery and no real sulphur smells from the geysers! Close enough though to the wonderful and fascinating major tourist attractions of the area. Particularly appreciated suggestions for walks and off the tourist track experiences.Lovely hosts.
Julia,Roger,Olivia and Jess.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Address: 44 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range: £104 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering farmstay only 500m from the lake. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with special touches to make your holiday memorable. Savour the freshly baked bread, pastries, free range eggs and fresh fruit that you can enjoy at a time that suits you. Enjoy panoramic views over surrounding countryside and the lake from the privacy of your own cottage. Only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities include a full kitchen with dishwasher, flat screen TV, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, DVD, iPod Dock, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, chickens, ducks, rabbits and the goats. We sometimes have other small animals that we are helping recover their full health before returning them to their natural habitat. We really listen to our guest's Trip Advisor comments and have installed a new comfy double sofabed and upgraded our Wifi for a better guest experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing