We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but worth the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The warmth of the hosts and freshly baked loaves will warm your heart. On top of the humanly experience, there is also a host if friendly animals that will welcome you throughout your stay! If you don't mind to pay a little more for a comfortable stay, Broekhaven is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family of four (hubby, me, g8, b3) stayed with Debbie and Ed on 8-9 June 2013. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by home made croissants, milk, juice and other supplies in the fridge. The apartment was clean and cosy with many warmers, which was really helpful for the beginning of winter. The boxes of toys came in really handy and my kids were thrilled!
Debbie gave us a list of bread to choose from, and the loaves always arrived piping hot! It was the most delicious bread I had eaten. It was unforgettable!
My family and I had a wonderful time with the farm animals despite the rain (hello snow and flake- the goats!) It was great to feed the sheep, chickens and ducks too. My girl was so excited to pick up freshly laid eggs from the hens!
Thank you Debbie and Ed for the memorable stay!

Room Tip: The cottage is away from town. Groceries and supplies can be purchased from a nearby town or Rotorau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adawong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had four nights at Broekhaven in May/June. Debbie, Ed and family were very pleasant and the homemade bread, pastries along with fruit and other conveniences were appreciated every day. Our girls brought in more eggs from the chickens than we could eat. It was wonderful to be able to just let the girls wander outdoors with the animals which they did dawn til after dusk and not worry about their safety. Needless to say they loved their "chores" and tried to make sure we wrapped up our days' activities to be back and repeat them in the afternoon. The hike to the nearby spring is not to be missed, a great walk with beautiful color along the way. Okere Falls is not far beyond and we would recommend that as well. We wanted for nothing except maybe a stronger internet signal but we could get it when needed, otherwise it encouraged us to put down the electronics! It was very much what we were hoping for and we were very happy with our decision to stay at Broekhaven.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlelamb_7, Owner at Broekhaven Country Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time for making lovely comments and a suggestion for improvement, we have now improved the WiFi strength so the signal works better with iPads. and phones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Broekhaven for two nights at the end of a cold and frosty May. Debbie was an amazing host - when we arrived, we had freshly baked bread and croissants with home made jam ready and waiting for us, and the house was already warm and toasty. We travelled with our 2.5 year old toddler and our 7 month old baby, and everything was all set up for them - a bed and a cot in our room all made up and ready to go.

On both mornings, our toddler went with Debbie to feed the sheep, chickens, goats, and lions (although the lions may have been in our son's imagination) - we even had fresh eggs from the chickens, which were delicious - what a wonderful memory for him to have of his first New Zealand holiday.

We'll come back again for sure the next time we head down near Rotorua, as it's perfectly positioned as a launching pad for the nearby attractions and hot springs.

Love it - thanks or having us, we're sorry to be going home so soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickMackesonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at lovely Broekhaven. It's location is perfectly out of the bad smell zone of rotorua yet close enough to all the activities. The hosts including pets were all very welcoming and were too happy to help us with anything we needed. This is a great place to stay for relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Broekhaven early this year. Our three boys (5, nearly 3 and 18 months) loved it. They were in their element feeding the chickens and rabbits and holding the baby hedgehogs Debbie was caring for. Our 5 year old stated on arrival "this must be a dream...it's too good to be true" and our nearly 3 year old asked repeatedly throughout each day if we were going back to the cottage that night, then cried for the first half hour of the drive out of Rotorua because he wanted to live in the cottage forever! Our hosts were very welcoming, the cottage had everything we needed and it was lovely to retreat to the peaceful surrounds each afternoon/evening. It was a convenient location for all the tourist attractions in Rotorua, but lovely to be a bit removed from the city. We would definitely head back to Broekhaven on our next trip to Rotorua!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in this friendly cottage only for 2 days!!! Thank you- Debby&Ed ! Your hospitality unforgettable! We want to return once again! Amazing cottage among sheep, lambs, chickens and dogs is unbelievable place.

Room Tip: Thank you - Debby&Ed!!! Your hospitality unforgettable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphire452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamurana
1.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#14 of 52 in Rotorua
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
A Panoramic Country Homestay
0.8 mi away
Springwaters Lodge
Springwaters Lodge
#9 of 58 in Rotorua
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Address: 44 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range: £116 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering farmstay only 500m from the lake. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with special touches to make your holiday memorable. Savour the freshly baked bread, pastries, free range eggs and fresh fruit that you can enjoy at a time that suits you. Enjoy panoramic views over surrounding countryside and the lake from the privacy of your own cottage. Only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities include a full kitchen with dishwasher, flat screen TV, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, DVD, iPod Dock, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, chickens, ducks, rabbits and the goats. We sometimes have other small animals that we are helping recover their full health before returning them to their natural habitat. We really listen to our guest's Trip Advisor comments and have installed a new comfy double sofabed and upgraded our Wifi for a better guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Broekhaven Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing