We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We should have planned to stay longer. We had a lovely, peaceful, stay in this tranquil setting. Our hosts greeted us with just out of the oven homemade bread delivered to our cottage door. We felt their welcome from the start. Deb gave us a tour of our accommodations nestled in the hills with sheep & chickens relaxing near by. Everything was first class. A wonderful host family and every thing you needed & help if you couldn't find it. A beautiful location to get to anywhere easily. As I said our only regret was we did not stay longer, much longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We travelled just over a week ago in early Dec and stayed for 4 nights. Wonderful wonderful place and the hosts were very friendly and warm. The kids especially loved the animals and my son would faithfully wake up at 745am every morning to feed the sheep, goats, and the chickens and collect eggs with Debbie. The cottage is kept in tip top condition. Very clean and everything is well thought through by the hosts, from the variety of food and beverages stocked up in the fridge, the toys available for the kids, as well as the wonderful and yummy bread baked by Debbie every day. The croissants are just so lovely. It's lovely waking up in the morning and hearing the sheep bleat right outside the cottage. My son loves roaming outside the cottage and playing with all the different animals. My son cried so badly when he left the cottage because he missed the animals. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephie1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a great time here. The accommodation is of a high standard and the friendly animals and owners ensured that the kids had a wonderful time. It is situated about 15 minutes from Rotorua which makes it convenient when you want to have a meal in town. The bread and pastries every day were much appreciated. There are laundry and cooking facilities so everything is catered for.

I have only one small complaint - the sofa bed in the lounge is really uncomfortable as a sofa and as a bed! Other than that, I would recommend Broekhaven happily to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OffwithaYoHoHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlelamb_7, Owner at Broekhaven Country Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are always on the look out for a better more comfortable sofa bed , this was the best we could find in NZ. It will never be as comfortable as a real bed, but it does help families with several children enjoy a stay in Rotorua that us reasonably priced.
We are pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This accommodation is perfect for someone who would like to experience staying in the countryside, feed farm animals and enjoy the tranquility of this location. Being close to all the tourist sights of Rotorua, it offers a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city life and the privacy of the self-contained cottage.
Come and meet their pets and animals: chickens, ducks, sheep, cats and puppies. Everybody is as friendly as the owners. Feel spoiled by free-range eggs (which you can pick up yourselves if you are lucky!), home made bread and pastry, fruit and jams provided by the owners.
This is definitely one of the best places we've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We used Broekhaven as a base for visiting nearby attractions in Rotorua in July 2011. The self-contained cottage, while not an old-fashioned farmhouse, was spacious, clean and very well equipped with modern appliances and stocked with ample breakfast items and snacks. Debbie, the host, as what everyone else has mentioned, bakes the most delicious croissants, bread and pastries. She leaves a leaflet for you to indicate your choices for breakfast the next morning and bakes them to order!

A highlight here for the kids would definitely be the farm animals right in front of the cottage. Debbie brought them to feed the goats, sheep, chicken and the most ginormous pair of rabbits we've ever seen! They really had an exciting hands-on experience, not to mention, running around the field with sheep noses poking at them! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susantiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

From start to finish we had a wonderful time at Broekhaven. Every little thing has been thought of from children's toys to delicious bread and pastries. My eldest daughter loved feeding the animals and still talks about Emma the lamb! A great location and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The warmth of the hosts and freshly baked loaves will warm your heart. On top of the humanly experience, there is also a host if friendly animals that will welcome you throughout your stay! If you don't mind to pay a little more for a comfortable stay, Broekhaven is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Address: 16 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range: £140 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently Broekhaven is closed and we are only offering accommodation in our beautiful Lakehaven Apartment. Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering apartment only 160m from the lake, set beneath the owners main house. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities in this fully self contained apartment include a kitchenette with microwave, double stove top element, electric frypan as well as all utensils, flat screen TV, fridge, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet, full bathroom with all linen and toiletries supplied and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, alpacas and our resident goose. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing