We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broekhaven Country Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broekhaven Country Cottage
1 review
“Fantastic hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Fresh eggs from the chicken coops, homemade bread and tasty croissants. Lovely and warm host - we all had fun feeding and playing with the friendly animals. Newly renovated and modern house. Good heating as well. Very accessible to attractions in rotorua.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucindamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It was a stay of 3 days 2 nights but should have been more. Children of all ages would love the farm animals and the feeding opportunities.

The cottage makes you feel that you are an extension of the family. Freshly baked bread (there's a variety to choose from) comes with butter/jam and eggs from the free range hens. There's milk, canned food and Danish pastries that arrived during one of the afternoons which may save a trip to the supermarket.

A B&B with no commercial feel at all! More like a home away from home!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here recently for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was fantastic with home made bread, fresh eggs and delicious pastries. The cottage itself is cosy and well appointed, and absolutely spotless. The kids loved feeding the animals with Debbie each morning and afternoon. It is a very tranquil setting yet still handy to Rotorua's attractions. We left feeling relaxed and refreshed and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachynkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I am so glad we spent three nights here in our two week trip round NZ. It made our possibly once in a lifetime trip truly memorable. We loved the freshly home baked bread (my wife recommends the rosemary and olive), the just laid eggs, the spacious and luxurious cottage with everything you could want (washing machine, iron etc. - a godsend on a long trip), the animals. Our daughter gave the internet connection her seal of approval. Rotorua is so interesting. I would recommend the walk to the local spring, a swim in the Blue Lake and walk round it and a trip to Waimangu. It is also a central base to see so much else within easy driving distance. Deservedly an award winning B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My 13 year old daughter and I just spent 2 nights at Broekhaven. We loved the setting, the tranquility, the yummy bread and of course the animals. There are chickens, goats, sheep, dogs and cats to enjoy and give you a taste of farm life. We were lucky enough to be there when 8 yellow baby chicks and their mum arrived - so adorable! We particularly loved Benson the cat and Flake the goat. Thanks to Debbie for her hospitality. We would definitely return given the opportunity. I must also mention that it is nice and handy to the heart of Rotorua and very close to the lake.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JamieMcCulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed at the Broekhaven in December 2013 fr two nights. It is a fantastic place, very neat and tidy. Debbie is an outstanding warm hostess who has thought through exactly what are all the things people would need and made them generously available. When we landed the 1st evening there was a tray of warm croissants, fresh bread out of the oven and grape jam waiting for us. Her farm animals are adorable and my kids had a great time accompanying Debbie around the farm to collect eggs and feed those guys twice a day. Make sure u pay a visit to the Hamunara springs - 10 minute walk from the Broekhaven and the Rotorua Lake front, also very close. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jyothipriyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna Mills, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We should have planned to stay longer. We had a lovely, peaceful, stay in this tranquil setting. Our hosts greeted us with just out of the oven homemade bread delivered to our cottage door. We felt their welcome from the start. Deb gave us a tour of our accommodations nestled in the hills with sheep & chickens relaxing near by. Everything was first class. A wonderful host family and every thing you needed & help if you couldn't find it. A beautiful location to get to anywhere easily. As I said our only regret was we did not stay longer, much longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamurana
7.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#15 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Panoramic Country Homestay
6.8 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broekhaven Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broekhaven Country Cottage

Property: Broekhaven Country Cottage
Address: 44 Kaska Road | Rotorua, Hamurana 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Hamurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamurana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to birdsong in this peaceful and tranquil self catering farmstay only 500m from the lake. You will feel welcome as soon as you arrive with special touches to make your holiday memorable. Savour the freshly baked bread, pastries, free range eggs and fresh fruit that you can enjoy at a time that suits you. Enjoy panoramic views over surrounding countryside and the lake from the privacy of your own cottage. Only a short walk to Lake Rotorua, trout fishing at Hamurana Springs, or a game of golf at Hamurana Golf Course. Conveniently situated to many of Rotorua's major tourist attractions including Agrodome, Zorb, Skyline Skyrides & Hells Gate. Amenities include a full kitchen with dishwasher, flat screen TV, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, DVD, iPod Dock, linen, towels, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless internet and BBQ. We have dogs and cats as well as assorted friendly farm animals, so you are welcome to hand feed sheep, chickens, ducks, rabbits and the goats. We sometimes have other small animals that we are helping recover their full health before returning them to their natural habitat. We really listen to our guest's Trip Advisor comments and have installed a new comfy double sofabed and upgraded our Wifi for a better guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Broekhaven Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing