We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boatload of Fun”
Review of Rotorua Rafting

Rotorua Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.57*
and up
Kaituna River White Water Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rotorua Rafting is a whitewater rafting company that rafts the highest commercially rafted waterfall in the world, found in beautiful Rotorua, New Zealand on the incredible Kaituna River!
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boatload of Fun”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took this rafting trip as part of an "Adventure Combo" day in Rotorua, and this was easily the highlight of the day. While it's a short trip, it's packed with thrills, including a 20+ foot waterfall and a float down a rapid. They had a helmet with a GoPro mount and I caught it all, including the times I was briefly underwater. We had the one and only Sam Sutton as our guide, he's so much fun it's worth the trip just for the laughs. The kids were thrilled, the wife a bit horrified with the waterfalls but when we were done they wanted to do it again. Great fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanedomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever! Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Amy was our raft guide and she was AWESOME!! Sam was on another raft with us and we happened to go with a touring Canaidan Cricket Team. It was a blast and I would recommend it to anyone. There was few older people there (late 60's/70's) and they were absolutely fearless and had a blast too!

Sam has created the best business and has the best people running it. I highly recommend it and can't wait to get back to NZ to do it again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SammyD441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Extreme fun”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We chose this rafting trip basically because it was the cheapest, and it was worth more than the $170 we spent (for two people). Amy, our rafting guide, was really funny and guided us through the river as a king! No experience needed, go for it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tord-André K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Awesome rafting trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Sam was our guide, and we definitely lucked out having him. For some reason, we were the only ones he had that morning, so we were really fortunate to have a private rafting trip. The next day we were told by someone else in town that we had rafted with Sam Sutton. We didn't realize how significant that was until we were told he is one of the best kayakers in the world. This was like getting to skateboard with Tony Hawk! He was incredibly humble, knowledgeable, and welcoming. I was very much out of my comfort zone, as I have only whitewater rafted a few times before. But I never once felt unsafe or in danger. If you have the chance, definitely do this tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There was so many companies to chose from to do the Kaituna rafting trip but ultimately we chose Rotorua Rafting because it was the cheapest. So glad we did it was fantastic value and so much fun. We were a group of six from NZ, Germany and America and all of us were buzzing afterwards. There was a lot of variety on the trip and our guide Amy definitely made sure we didn't get bored while still managing to teach us a bit about the river and make sure we got to take in the scenery (which is so beautiful). At the end you can buy a set of photos on a disc which are actually really good value, glad we got them, the looks on our faces are priceless!

Overall highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmmcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Rafting also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
 
Tikitere, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Rotorua Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing