We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome :D”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotoiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakes Lodge Okataina
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week while visiting Rotorua and i will definitely be coming back :) The lake and scenery were beautiful! The accomodation was really great, and the hosts very friendly. Going for a trip on the lodge boat was great and also being not too far from Rotorua town centre meant we could still complete all the other tourist attractions :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for a week, used it as a base for our holiday. Lovely scenery and walks around the lake, nice clean lake and awesome hosts :) Great accommodation and not far from Rotorua township for all the attractions we went on. Great trip around the lake in the lodge boat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hi there we have just gotten home from the lodge where we had my girlfriends wedding. What an awesome location, perfect for a large gathering specially weddings.

We had the best time I was the matron of honor and the contact person on the day, the staff were fanastic particularly Tama & Doug. Thank you for a great weekend! Recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed here twice now and thouroughly recommend this lodge to travellers. It is a magic place so serene and peaceful, on the shore of beautiful Lake Okataina.
Hosts Nick and Richelle were very welcoming and the meals were outstanding. An awesum place to recharge as no T.V or cell phone coverage Bliss !!!
Lodge is currently having some renovation with new kitchens fitted etc. Would recommend as a great place for families.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lake front. Lodge rooms are larger and some have bush views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Approx. 30 minutes from rotorua, 10-15 mins windy, narrow forest road, get to the end by Lake Okataina. The Lodge looks nice from the outside, very nice setting. The time our family was here is was raining and cold, our rooms were very cold - would have been nice for the heating to have been on. Opening the door into our accomodation was like a step back in time 30-40 years. Carpets were worn, and decor and kitchen appear original, lots of mould on curtains, otherwise it was clean and tidy. We hade primary school age children, first thing they notice was no TV!! Very lacking in wet weather entertainment for families. Due to location, would have thought meals available when rooms booked. Value for money - No. Kids enjoyed it - No.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuntingorFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We booked through Rotorua visitor's centre and stayed here as there wasn't much left in town. The drive to Okataina lodge is a good half hour from town. We found the drive a bit daunting as the road narrows considerably however you are in some remote NZ forest which is absolutely beautiful at the same time.

The hotel didn't have any dinner that night so we ended up driving back to Rotorua for food and a hot spa, this suited us well. They do have dinner & bar on some nights, worth checking with reception before you arrive. The room was fairly basic, but had some great views of the lake.

In the morning we did a forest walk through native forest, following the lake around to the left where we found a nice place for an early morning swim. The lake is absolutely beautiful, crystal clear pebbled water with no one around. Lake Okataina has a magical feeling about it and we will be back here some day, hopefully to stay for a few days and take it all in. This place stays long in the memory after you have left it - I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint-Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakes Lodge Okataina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge Okataina

Address: 692 Lake Okataina Road, Rotoiti 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotoiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rotoiti
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge Okataina is the largest privately owned Lodge in Rotorua. It sits right on the edge of Lake Okataina, surrounded by 4,500 hectars of native NZ bush. Lakes Lodge is the perfect tranquil getaway destination. Please note that we are an event based venue. This means that our Lakeview Restaurant is open mainly during events. Please contact our friendly team for more information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing