We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful stay at the Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotoiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakes Lodge Okataina
Reviewed 4 January 2014

While traveling to New Zealand, a local friend recommended the Lakes Lodge as he had been with a corporate event. We decided we needed a peaceful spot away from it all as we were tired of fighting all the holiday traffic everywhere we went. Scott at the Lodge was by far one of the best managers we have encountered. He personally made sure we liked our room with a wonderful view, and brand new King Size bed. The Lodge sits on beautiful Lake Okataina - one of the most pristine lakes in the country. We went hiking, fishing on the lodge boat, and even got a personalized glow worm walk-tour. The birds and wildlife here are some of New Zealand's finest. One night the Lodge made wonderful pizzas on their wood fired grill. So very peaceful, beautiful and refreshing! We had only intended on staying one night, but extended our stay after falling in love with the lodge. Its a rustic lodge but that is exactly what you want in a beautiful spot like this.

Room Tip: Book a lakeview room on the bottom floor for the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

We recently had our wedding at lakes lodge and would highly recommend it as a wedding venue. Great service, helpful friendly staff, best buffet meal we''ve ever had plus we have the must amazing wedding photos thanks to a stunning location all at a very reasonable price. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We love Lake Okataina so thought we'd book a night there on the long Weekend in a Lodge Room, not a Hotel Room. We were happy to pay the $10 surcharge for Public Holiday as we wanted to stay close to this Lake and take in the beauty of it again. However on entering the self-
contained unit we saw that it was out-of-date and was probably used in the old days mainly for
fishermen coming to the area. The wall heating could only be turned up so far and not to it's full
capacity as in the notes so it was so cold that we tried to contact Hotel staff but it was closed up and no-one was available. We had to shift the bed out from wall so that one of us could get in it that side. The surroundings outside seemed dark, wet and cold and with no life in the place. Perhaps it was just the wrong time of the year.

Room Tip: I suggest to anyone that you stay in the Lake Lodge Hotel where you will also have a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week while visiting Rotorua and i will definitely be coming back :) The lake and scenery were beautiful! The accomodation was really great, and the hosts very friendly. Going for a trip on the lodge boat was great and also being not too far from Rotorua town centre meant we could still complete all the other tourist attractions :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for a week, used it as a base for our holiday. Lovely scenery and walks around the lake, nice clean lake and awesome hosts :) Great accommodation and not far from Rotorua township for all the attractions we went on. Great trip around the lake in the lodge boat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hi there we have just gotten home from the lodge where we had my girlfriends wedding. What an awesome location, perfect for a large gathering specially weddings.

We had the best time I was the matron of honor and the contact person on the day, the staff were fanastic particularly Tama & Doug. Thank you for a great weekend! Recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed here twice now and thouroughly recommend this lodge to travellers. It is a magic place so serene and peaceful, on the shore of beautiful Lake Okataina.
Hosts Nick and Richelle were very welcoming and the meals were outstanding. An awesum place to recharge as no T.V or cell phone coverage Bliss !!!
Lodge is currently having some renovation with new kitchens fitted etc. Would recommend as a great place for families.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lake front. Lodge rooms are larger and some have bush views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakes Lodge Okataina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge Okataina

Address: 692 Lake Okataina Road, Rotoiti 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotoiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rotoiti
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge Okataina is the largest privately owned Lodge in Rotorua. It sits right on the edge of Lake Okataina, surrounded by 4,500 hectars of native NZ bush. Lakes Lodge is the perfect tranquil getaway destination. Please note that we are an event based venue. This means that our Lakeview Restaurant is open mainly during events. Please contact our friendly team for more information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing