We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotoiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakes Lodge Okataina
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a nice short stay at this lodge. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and warm enough (in January), and reminded me of former cabin/lodge stays. The only complaint I have is with the Rotorua Tourism company who booked us. They told us breakfast was included, which it is not, and did not give us any helpful information, such as the distance of the lodge from the city and the remoteness of the Lodge. This information would have helped us greatly with planning as the drive there is gorgeous but a bit stressful for those drivers new to NZ roads and you need to bring food. I would also check on the hours of operation of the lodge because this seemed to vary. Overall, I would return to this place for the views, remote setting and tranquility.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLWROkataina, Sales & Marketing Manager at Lakes Lodge Okataina, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Hi Laura H,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. I'm glad you found your stay here peaceful and relaxing.

Since your review, I have arranged for the Rotorua Visitor Centre reservations team to visit our property and to develop an understanding of how we operate our business. I have also kept in regular contact with them to ensure all new employees are fully informed of our location, venue, operating hours as well as services.

I hope to host you again in the not too distant future.

Melissa Tyndall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
10
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

While traveling to New Zealand, a local friend recommended the Lakes Lodge as he had been with a corporate event. We decided we needed a peaceful spot away from it all as we were tired of fighting all the holiday traffic everywhere we went. Scott at the Lodge was by far one of the best managers we have encountered. He personally made sure we liked our room with a wonderful view, and brand new King Size bed. The Lodge sits on beautiful Lake Okataina - one of the most pristine lakes in the country. We went hiking, fishing on the lodge boat, and even got a personalized glow worm walk-tour. The birds and wildlife here are some of New Zealand's finest. One night the Lodge made wonderful pizzas on their wood fired grill. So very peaceful, beautiful and refreshing! We had only intended on staying one night, but extended our stay after falling in love with the lodge. Its a rustic lodge but that is exactly what you want in a beautiful spot like this.

Room Tip: Book a lakeview room on the bottom floor for the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We recently had our wedding at lakes lodge and would highly recommend it as a wedding venue. Great service, helpful friendly staff, best buffet meal we''ve ever had plus we have the must amazing wedding photos thanks to a stunning location all at a very reasonable price. Thanks guys

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We love Lake Okataina so thought we'd book a night there on the long Weekend in a Lodge Room, not a Hotel Room. We were happy to pay the $10 surcharge for Public Holiday as we wanted to stay close to this Lake and take in the beauty of it again. However on entering the self-
contained unit we saw that it was out-of-date and was probably used in the old days mainly for
fishermen coming to the area. The wall heating could only be turned up so far and not to it's full
capacity as in the notes so it was so cold that we tried to contact Hotel staff but it was closed up and no-one was available. We had to shift the bed out from wall so that one of us could get in it that side. The surroundings outside seemed dark, wet and cold and with no life in the place. Perhaps it was just the wrong time of the year.

Room Tip: I suggest to anyone that you stay in the Lake Lodge Hotel where you will also have a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week while visiting Rotorua and i will definitely be coming back :) The lake and scenery were beautiful! The accomodation was really great, and the hosts very friendly. Going for a trip on the lodge boat was great and also being not too far from Rotorua town centre meant we could still complete all the other tourist attractions :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for a week, used it as a base for our holiday. Lovely scenery and walks around the lake, nice clean lake and awesome hosts :) Great accommodation and not far from Rotorua township for all the attractions we went on. Great trip around the lake in the lodge boat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hi there we have just gotten home from the lodge where we had my girlfriends wedding. What an awesome location, perfect for a large gathering specially weddings.

We had the best time I was the matron of honor and the contact person on the day, the staff were fanastic particularly Tama & Doug. Thank you for a great weekend! Recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakes Lodge Okataina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge Okataina

Property: Lakes Lodge Okataina
Address: 692 Lake Okataina Road, Rotoiti 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotoiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rotoiti
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge Okataina is the largest privately owned Lodge in Rotorua. It sits right on the edge of Lake Okataina, surrounded by 4,500 hectars of native NZ bush. Lakes Lodge is the perfect tranquil getaway destination. Please note that we are an event based venue. This means that our Lakeview Restaurant is open mainly during events. Please contact our friendly team for more information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing