We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed one night and wished we'd stayed longer!

We haven’t stayed in a B&B since about 1994, just never thought about it. My husband had a “Fresh Weekends” voucher which entitled 2 people to a night on a farm. Windy Arbour was his choice and what a choice! It’s accessed up a dirt track with wonderful views of the countryside. It’s simply charming, spotlessly clean in a peaceful location.

The owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome.

We stayed in the Japanese room in the main building. Our en-suite bathroom was across the landing, not a problem but a little embarrassing when after my shower, I bumped into a stranger on the landing wrapped only my towel!

The amazing breakfast was served in the conservatory. It was a lovely setting overlooking the spectacular garden.

If you're looking for somewhere to eat/drink during your stay, then the Tavern is a must. It's about a short drive/15-20 minute walk away and their steaks are the best ever!!!

Windy Arbour is very close to Alton Towers, ideal for anyone looking for an overnight add-on.

We would 100% recommend Windy Arbour to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in a lovely location with great hosts.

Thank you Gill and Dave we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife and daughter, while she attended her last few days at Keele Uni. What a find! Beautifully quiet location (we live in the countryside, but nowhere near as quiet as Windy Arbour). The hosts, Jill and Dave, are very friendly but not imposing. Our accommodation had a double room and sofa beds in the kitchen/diner. All very clean and well looked after. The only downside for us was the beds, being softer than we are used to; but that is personal taste! I would recommend Windy Arbour to anybody looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful, friendly location. 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JethroBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed for the Sunday night over the bank holiday weekend for a trip to Uttoxeter.This B&B was the best part of the weekend.It was up a dirt track in the middle of a field all by itself high up over looking the countryside.We stayed in the main building and stayed in the Japanese room.Which was very uniquely decorated overlooking the most beautiful garden where we sat and ate our own packed lunch.Our ensuite bathroom which was across the landing also had the same theme again with views over the countryside.The hosts were very accommodating,friendly and gave us lots of local information.The B&B had a snug which was for guests which was full of books,games,magazines and DVDs,as there were DVD players in the bedrooms.
Breakfast was served in the large beautiful conservatory overlooking the garden.There was plenty of choice and very tastey
We had seen all the good reviews and there is nothing we can fault with this beautiful peaceful unique B&B
We would gladly stay agan and highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

fantastic spotlessley clean, option of a great breakfast which is a treat when staying in a cottage. .owners couldnt be more helpfull loads of space in peacock cottage with two adults and three teenagers, wifi available will return just a lovely break thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michele t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights to accommodate a visit to Alton Towers. We found the property easily using the directions provided. We were made made very welcome by the hosts who provided the most delicious breakfast including the gorgeous Staffordshire oatcakes. We had the Japanese room, which was a little too warm on the first night. The views from the room were great, it was just a shame about the weather. We had a separate bathroom which was spotlessly clean and had both a shower and a bath. The bath being very welcome after lots of walking. Will definately visit again especially to explore the garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadoxhurst, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My Daughter and I stayed at this B&B for two nights and had a lovely stay. The room was very comfortable and clean with a great power shower in the en-suite bathroom.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked and freshly ground coffee served with a choice of orange and apple juice.

The Farm is situated at the end of a dead end road, set in the middle of picturesque countryside.

Very friendly and relaxed atmostphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
238 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

3rd time at the Windy Arbour. Stayed here again as close to family for a birthday bash. 3 nights in the Gothic themed room. I must say that its not my favorite as a bit over the top and the bed squeaks when you move so can be disturbing when you move. Gill and Dave are still very welcoming hosts and they make the best breakfast in the world!! Amazing. I look forward to going to see them each time and have the most filling breakfast every morning. See you next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
2.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 11 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bank House
Bank House
#2 of 11 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Property: Windy Arbour Farm
Address: Windy Arbour Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter
Windy Arbour Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing