We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and lovely owners”
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Windy Arbour many times due to being close to my Grandparents I thought I'd better write a review. Windy Arbour is a lovely place to stay with everything you could possibly need including wifi! The location is excellent for Alton Towers, local attractions and towns with really pretty views for photographers and star gazers. The cottages are brilliant with all the facilities you would expect and little toiletries and drinks n biscuits for a late night cuppa. The owners Gill and David are lovely and go out of their way to accommodate us. Look forward to staying there again in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at Windy arbour B and B for 1 night earlier this month, this was a present and we didn't really know what to expect, however, I have to say we really enjoyed it. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We had arrange to go out for dinner and organised a taxi for both journeys, however the owner offered to take us to our resturant and collect us which we felt was very thoughtful. The gardens although not at their best due to it being winter still looked lovely and I would love to see them in the summer. We didn't explore the area as we would have liked but are hoping to return nest spring or summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winniesgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We arrived slightly early so I was worried about us not being able to check in - but this seemed to be no problem at all to the owner- We didn't venture out in to the nearby areas but we found the room comfortable, we stayed in the Japanese room...which was fantastic..we watched a dvd or two and sipped hot chocolate (provided by Windy Arbour) The next morning, we were served hot breakfast, quickly with a selecion of fruit juices ...all in all a fantastic quiet break away... Thank you Windy Arbour

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I was overwhelmed by the warm welcome and friendliness that I received - including being collected from the Railway Station at Uttoxeter, and given a lift to the pub in the evening. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast excellent, and the price remarkably reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BulawayoZimtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October 2012. Lovely place, lovely people, lovely breakfast. We were looking for peace and quiet and a good walk and we found all three, with a lovely walk along a disused railway line. Our hosts were very accommodating and even drove us to the station on our departure. We shall certainly return!

Peter and Kathy

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed for one night on the 26th October after we had visited Alton Towers. As the rides were open until 9pm the owners were very accomodating in letting us check in later. We stayed in the English room - it was really nicely decorated and felt very homely. You can also sit in the snug area or borrow DVD's to take up to your room which I thought was a anice touch. They really do think of every detail. The breakfast was superb. You got plently to eat and it was all freshly made. You could even help yoursefl to cereals, fruit and yogurt! A choice or apple and orange juice was already waiting on the table. Although the B&B was fully booked up we was the only ones in the dinning room which was in the conservatory. It is in a lovely setting and my only complaint was that we didn't have enough time to explore the area! I would highly recommend this B&B especially if you are going to Alton Towers as it's only a 10 minute drive. Hopefully we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloughy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Well all we can say is SUPERB. Lovely location away from it all. We stayed in the gothic room which was an interesting experience with its different decor. They have thought of everything, with tea, coffee and hot chocolate in your room.You can even borrow dvds to watch if you want to. The gardens are just perfect and I did try to get them to come and do mine!! The owners were so cheery it made you feel the same. Round each twist and turn in the cottage there was another surprise waiting, not least Dave`s wall in trubute to the wonderful Bob Marley. Breakfast was FANTASTIC, we werent hurried or rushed. The food was freshly cooked to order and the portions were fab!! The staffordshire oatcake was a lovely touch. Nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely having both orange and apple juice and fresh water served too!! All we can say is THANK YOU SO MUCH. You made our cycling trip GREAT.

Room Tip: Lovely quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tigras55ues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
2.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.7 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quixhill Denstone-Exmoor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Address: Windy Arbour Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter
Windy Arbour Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing