We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay & 10 minutes from Alton Towers”
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here last month with the Family for the opening weekend of Alton, and what a great wee place. When we arrived on the Friday around 5pm was made very welcome indeed & the kids was offered to borrow DVDs for the evening after a long day traveling from Scotland.
Inside the lodge there was plenty of information for things to do around the local area and a very good choice of restaurants, Also takeaway shops delivery which was also good for the first night.

We are already planning another long weekend with friends later this year and will definitely be coming back.

A big thanks to the Host Dave & Gill

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our group of 13 spent a couple of nights at Windy Arbour and had a fantastic stay. We rented all three of the cottages so could come and go without disturbing any other guests. The two nights worked out at about £35 a head which is excellent value when you consider the surroundings compared to say a Holiday Inn or Travel Lodge. The layout is impressive on arrival, the courtyard and gardens are immaculate and the surrounding views are stunning.

The cottages are set up perfectly to cater for families with younger children but our group of 13 adults (5 couples and 3 singles) all had adequate enough space and privacy when required.

The location is perfect if you’re visiting Alton Towers (about 5/10 mins in the car), there’s even a wee farm shop on route for a pre-rollercoaster bacon rolls. It’s about a 10 minute drive to Uttoxeter too, where you’ll find all the necessary amenities, Tescos etc…

We took a stroll to the village pub a short walk down the road. On another night we might have eaten but they were fully booked. A nice spot for a quiet pint or two though.

The cottages themselves were clean, quirky in their layout and generally very nice with a great sound system in the Main Cottage. One very small suggestion - It’s not a B&B so if eating in you are expected to self-cater; a small supply of dry goods available in the cupboards (nothing fancy, bag of rice, dry herbs and spices etc) and a pint of milk in the fridge upon arrival would go a long way – It would have come in handy for us anyway.

All in all, a great stay and the landlady was very nice. I would recommend it highly and would definitely go back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R138D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have been staying here with the best hosts in the world, Dave and Gill from when they first opened. It really is home from home, all the accommodation is outstanding, the location stunning but what makes it special are the hosts Dave and Gill. From the first time we met them it felt like we had known them for years.

All I can say is stay and you will come back wanting to return we have again and again.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are a joy to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My son and I stayed at the Dove Cottage of Windy Arbour for four nights in August 2013.
Situated in a very good location close to Denstone College and Alton Towers.

It had everything to make ones stay comfortable

An array of books and DVD to choose from.

The area has lots of walking trails if you are into running and walking like me.

The owners are hospitality personified, Dave picked from the station, dropped us at Alton Towers, picked us again, and dropped us at the station at the end of our stay.

A highly recommended place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeLagosNigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My partner and I stayed in Dove Cottage at Windy Arbour in June 2013.
It is a beautiful cottage and very comfortable with everything you need. And the garden is lovely and pleasant to sit and relax. The owners are very friendly, make you feel welcome and very helpful if you need anything. We highly recommend Windy Arbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Windy Arbour many times due to being close to my Grandparents I thought I'd better write a review. Windy Arbour is a lovely place to stay with everything you could possibly need including wifi! The location is excellent for Alton Towers, local attractions and towns with really pretty views for photographers and star gazers. The cottages are brilliant with all the facilities you would expect and little toiletries and drinks n biscuits for a late night cuppa. The owners Gill and David are lovely and go out of their way to accommodate us. Look forward to staying there again in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at Windy arbour B and B for 1 night earlier this month, this was a present and we didn't really know what to expect, however, I have to say we really enjoyed it. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We had arrange to go out for dinner and organised a taxi for both journeys, however the owner offered to take us to our resturant and collect us which we felt was very thoughtful. The gardens although not at their best due to it being winter still looked lovely and I would love to see them in the summer. We didn't explore the area as we would have liked but are hoping to return nest spring or summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winniesgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
2.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.7 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quixhill Denstone-Exmoor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Address: Windy Arbour Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter
Windy Arbour Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing