We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!!! Perfect place to stay.”
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just got back from a Bank Holiday weekend staying in Bouquet Cottage. What a treat!!! For the same price as a travel lodge you get this small self catering cottage set in beautiful gardens and surrounding countryside. Perfect for Alton Towers & splash landings is a 10 min drive away.

The kids loved sleeping in the Arbour and climbing the ladder to get there. The place has been very thoughtfully set out with everything you could need as well as the lovely tea/coffee/hot chocolate and yummy biscuits usually only given in posh hotels!!

Shower gel and toiletries too!

The gardens were full of ripe plum/pear and apple trees and the field of cows behind were charming.

Plenty of dvd's/cd's and a great book of info for resturants/ takeaways and local attractions to help you make the most of your stay, that with welcoming & friendly hosts you really could ask for no more.

A really fantastic place for any family to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Windy Arbour Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Peacock Cottage which was fantastic for the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children). The boys loved the Wren loft room. The cottage has everything you need, great for self catering and Dave & Gill are very friendly. The gardens surrounding the 3 cottages are lovely, it was a sunny evening when we arrived after a long drive from Scotland and it was lovely looking out at the views over the fields and gardens. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lisagreen789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked to stay here for a family trip to Alton Towers and it was perfect only about 10 minute drive away. It was a lovely location, the children loved seeing the cows in the field behind. We stayed in bouquet cottage and it was great, had everything we needed, will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children) have just spent 5 wonderful nights staying in Peacock Cottage at Windy Arbour. Gill and Dave were very welcoming and ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay from use of the internet to helping get clothes dry.
The cottage was very well set up and was actually larger than it appeared in photos. The two older children particularly loved being able to sleep up in the Wren's Nest mezzanine area. Denstone is a beautiful part of the country and it was lovely to spend some time staying out in the English countryside whilst also being close to Alton Towers and some lovely walks in the local area. The Tavern pub and Denstone Farms are very close and are great options for feeding a family.
We would highly recommend Windy Arbour to any other families looking for accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here last month with the Family for the opening weekend of Alton, and what a great wee place. When we arrived on the Friday around 5pm was made very welcome indeed & the kids was offered to borrow DVDs for the evening after a long day traveling from Scotland.
Inside the lodge there was plenty of information for things to do around the local area and a very good choice of restaurants, Also takeaway shops delivery which was also good for the first night.

We are already planning another long weekend with friends later this year and will definitely be coming back.

A big thanks to the Host Dave & Gill

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our group of 13 spent a couple of nights at Windy Arbour and had a fantastic stay. We rented all three of the cottages so could come and go without disturbing any other guests. The two nights worked out at about £35 a head which is excellent value when you consider the surroundings compared to say a Holiday Inn or Travel Lodge. The layout is impressive on arrival, the courtyard and gardens are immaculate and the surrounding views are stunning.

The cottages are set up perfectly to cater for families with younger children but our group of 13 adults (5 couples and 3 singles) all had adequate enough space and privacy when required.

The location is perfect if you’re visiting Alton Towers (about 5/10 mins in the car), there’s even a wee farm shop on route for a pre-rollercoaster bacon rolls. It’s about a 10 minute drive to Uttoxeter too, where you’ll find all the necessary amenities, Tescos etc…

We took a stroll to the village pub a short walk down the road. On another night we might have eaten but they were fully booked. A nice spot for a quiet pint or two though.

The cottages themselves were clean, quirky in their layout and generally very nice with a great sound system in the Main Cottage. One very small suggestion - It’s not a B&B so if eating in you are expected to self-cater; a small supply of dry goods available in the cupboards (nothing fancy, bag of rice, dry herbs and spices etc) and a pint of milk in the fridge upon arrival would go a long way – It would have come in handy for us anyway.

All in all, a great stay and the landlady was very nice. I would recommend it highly and would definitely go back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R138D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have been staying here with the best hosts in the world, Dave and Gill from when they first opened. It really is home from home, all the accommodation is outstanding, the location stunning but what makes it special are the hosts Dave and Gill. From the first time we met them it felt like we had known them for years.

All I can say is stay and you will come back wanting to return we have again and again.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are a joy to stay in
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
2.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.7 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
436 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Address: Windy Arbour Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter
Windy Arbour Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing