We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like part of the family”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed in Manor House Farm for approximately a month where I was met by two absolutely fantastic hosts in Margaret and Chris. They could not have done more for me for the period I was there and they were always willing to help and/or lend assistance where I needed it. The breakfasts are really nice and there is a good range of options to choose from. Manor House Farm is a B&B I'll not be forgetting in a hurry and wouldn't have two thoughts about going back to. Thanks again Margaret and Chris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.It is always great to get a five star review but even more so when it comes from a Hygiene Inspector.It has been a great pleasure to have you stay with us while you looked for an apartment in the area.
Good luck for your job and especially for Aston Villa in their fight to stay in the Premiership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

We booked bed & breakfast for a couple of days break to get away from it all. The accommodation was clean and tidy, well looked after and full of personality and charm. The room lacked nothing and we were really impressed by the little touches where Margaret made sure that the little things we often forget to pack were available. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like this was our own home. Very friendly and warm. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Sorry for the delay in replying to your review but that does not detract from how important we feel your review is.Since we have been involved with Trip Advisor we have never ceased to be very pleased with the very kind words and helpful comments we have received..Thank you very much indeed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Manor House Farm is a great place to stay if you enjoy old world charm.
Chris and Margaret are lovely warm and friendly people who can't do enYough to make your stay pleasant and make you very much at home.
We stayed two nights and tried both rooms.
The Red Room was with the most amazing four poster bed that swallowed you up and would not let you switch off the alarm!!
Lots of nice little touches,big fluffy towels, nice wine glasses, coffee bags, Dutch hot chocolate,biscuits to mention a few also juice and fresh milk in a mini fridge.
View was the garden and considering the stone building and age of it was nice and warm.
The other room again four poster had a single bed also and view of the barns. Again pleasant and felt lighter and more airy than the more opulent romantic Red Room but it's really down to preference.
Breakfast was served in the dining room on a huge medeival style long table with nice juices, cereals and fruit. Toast and a wonderful cooked breakfast or whatever you fancied, nothing was too much trouble. Bacon was marvellous, say no more!
What has to be mentioned is the lounge area where you can warm yourself with a nice drink by a fantastic log fire and antique pieces. Cosy and snug, obviously more apparent in winter (

however gardens must be wonderful in summer) and even a concealed tv, books magazines.....
Wi-fi well connected.
Perfect getaway for Alton Towers, or maybe National Trust properties etc.
Highly recommended!!
So thank you Christ and Margaret for a great two days and for sharing your wonderful home,
Ruth and John.

Room Tip: Manor House Farm is a great place to stay if you enjoy old world charm. Chris and Margaret are love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

It was very pleasing to get a review from some one so clearly used to submitting reviews,and thank you very much for your kind and constructive comments..It was also pleasing to find you enjoyed our tip of visiting the National Trust property of Wightwick Manor near Wolverhampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Keeper's Cottage (self-catering accommodation at Manor House Farm) is a perfect bolt hole. Chris and Margaret could not have been more friendly and accommodating, and the cottage lacks nothing. Beautiful setting, roaring fire, cosy, comfortable and the most wonderful bedroom I've ever come across. Absolutely spot on for a romantic break away from the real world. Could have happily moved in (and considered changing the locks and kidnapping a spaniel).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyViv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thank you very much for your very kind words.It is extremely pleasing to get any reviews but especially so for our self catering cottage,where we are less involved.I am also very pleased to see that our spaniels are doing a their job in making sure our guests get the welcome they deserve.We have told them that to be kidnapped would considered a complement !!!
Thanks again Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a short holiday in the summer and it was the most charming and beautiful place we’ve ever stayed at. The house oozes character and the surrounding land is stunning. Chris and Margaret made us feel incredibly welcome, and were very accommodating from suggesting places to visit, to cooking us a lovely breakfast each morning. For us, we had 3 lovely days of country walks, horse riding, classic pub dinners and a trip to Alton towers to end with, which is a short drive away. I would recommend this B&B to anyone! I plan to treat my parents for a surprise stay soon ;)
Thank you Chris & Margaret, see you again soon!
Fran & Paddy :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Fran and Paddy
Please accept my apologises for the delay in responding to your review.It is always very valuable to hear from our guests and it helps us to keep up to scratch with what we are doing.So thank you so much for your more than kind words and we look forward to seeing either you or your family and friends in the future.Best wishes Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This b&b is set in a beautiful Jacobean manor and offers a delightful stay at an incredibly resonable price. The house is full of character and Chris has collected many antiques and curios that make for an interesting browse. Both Chris and Margaret are delightful and make caring, friendly but unfussy hosts.
Breakfast is excellent with home produced bacon and sausages. We wanted to stay again but they were fully booked so we recommend early booking to secure your room. A really worthwhile and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others. Discuss with the owners before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review and sorry that we were unable to accommodate you on your next trip to the area.We certainly enjoyed your stay and value your opinions. I was also pleased that you thought we were very reasonably priced and we look forward to seeing you both on your return next year
Yours Chris and Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Thank you Chris and Margaret for a lovely stay. Can second everything that people have said about this place. It is a little gem. Very charming & cosy. Lovely place to relax away from the chaos of Alton Towers. Very reasonably priced & nice extras in the room (sweets, wine glasses, robes etc). Breakfast is lovely & nothing is too much trouble. Chris and Margaret have lovely dogs of their own but my favourite has to be their neighbour Dylan who has to be the biggest Labrador in the world!....Just one suggestion maybe...Is it possible that your website can have 'Directions from Alton Towers' added ? Thanks again, Gill & Mark Entwistle

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzycozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Manager at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.It was a great pleasure to have you both stay with us and i have passed on your kind words to Dylan.You are quite right he is enormous .He was extremely pleased with your comments as Ted and Fletch tend to get most of the write up`s
Also thank you for the suggestion of putting directions from Alton Towers on the web site.That is a very good idea and i will get it done.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing